We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, good value food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Solar da Ajuda

Solar da Ajuda
Reserve with
Solar da Ajuda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 606 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: In Solar da Ajuda you will find the perfect harmony between our delicious food and a luxurious environment. Here everything was thought to please our guests. We are sure that you will feel very comfortable here with us. We pride ourselves to have an experienced and well trained team that will grant you the best of services. Visiting us is to take on the adventure of having new delicious flavours in your month, try our incomparable Steak on Stone or our delicious Mexican Fajitas. If that does not seduce you we have a incredible range of international and Regional Cousine.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great service, good value food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely staff. Very quick and attentive service. The sirloin steak cooked on the stone was almost like fillet, so tender. Very filling and tasty. The staff remembered us from a previous visit and made us feel very welcome. A good place to eat at reasonable cost and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboo059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    265
    65
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food & Nice Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our first meal here was so good that we went back a further 2 times. The first time my daughter had the 'steak on a stone', she chose the small portion of fillet steak (but it really wasn't small) and it was lovely n juicy and tender. She isn't really a steak person but wanted to go back as it was just so good. We had fish which was good too and all had the steak option on our last night. All thought it was great. Couldn't find room for a 'pudding' so can't comment on that. Beer and wine reasonably priced, wouldn't hesitate to recommend, the staff were friendly too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wokingham berkshire uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our 5th stay in Funchal, and we decided to visit the Solar da Ajuda again. It did not let us down this time either. They allowed me to order half portions off of the menu and only charged me half the menu prices. We celebrated my husbands 60th while out there this year and the staff sang 'Happy Birthday' to him (giving him a red face as was shy). It remains as popular as ever and it is best to book in advance if you want assurance of a table. Enjoyed so much that we ended up going 3 times over the two weeks we were there on holiday this past August.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stcrispins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I been eating in the original for about 20 years - since Martin Holidays were around. Good food, but very busy and noisy - MUST book - not much chance of a table if you just turn up. The new restaurant further out is fresher and more young 'native' Maderians eat here, I've been eating there for the last few years rather than the original.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizf4619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good for a bit of variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

After steak on a stone and picanha in other restaurants we all wanted something different and the wide options worked really well. Wife went for fajitas, sister in law went veggie pizza, father in law went lamb, I went chicken and bacon. Also does the beef dishes but we valued the other options.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solar da Ajuda also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Solar da Ajuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing