We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient at the Lido”

La Tricolore Pizzeria Ristorante
Ranked #171 of 606 Restaurants in Funchal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
maldon essex
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Convenient at the Lido”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Conveniently situated at the Lido area to the west of Funchal near our hotel.

Great service and freshly cooked food plus a free glass of Madeira wine when you pay the bill.

Sister restaurant next door was a grill where the tables were a bit more upmarket, but we chose to sit outside in the fresh are and watch the passers by at the Lido roundabout.

Prices were very reasonable and the staff friendly and attentive.

Great place for a tasty bite.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darkangel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    95
    51
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and good service”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

On our last trip we ate there almost every other day for 2 weeks. The food is excellent and the menu is extensive. The staff is top notch and the prices are more than fair. Seafood is especially
good there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alden38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Reasonable Italian fare in central hotel district location”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

If I could score out of ten not five this restaurant would rate seven.
Clean and prompt, pleasant service. All the usual Italian suspects cooked to a good standard.
Reasonable value for money and with a bit of 'polish' could be 'Good',

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top Quality”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We ate here one evening and were very impressed.
The decor was clean and tasteful and the service was excellent. My partner had the pasta in tomato and garlic which was her favorite vegetarian dish of the holiday (no a hard task given the lack of choices) I had the steak on a scewer and was very impressed. I ask for it medium and out it came, 5 big chunks of freshly cooked beef, beautifuly browned and when taken off the scewer and slice a mouthwatering pink in the middle. The looks weren't deceiving, it was tastey tender and juicey and every mouthful was a treat. The deserts were fairly run of the mill but the the steak on a skewer worth the visit alone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gary3007s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best pizzeria in Funchal?”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

During our holidy in Funchal we had the greatest pleasure in eating at La Tricolore restaurant.we were so impressed that we decided to return every other day as we knew we could rely on the service and food. The pizza and pasta was absolutely wonderfulwith the pizza being on a thin crispy base that we've not seen before and they were scrummy! The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. But it was the small things that topped it all off - before the main was served we were given (gratis) a garlic bread or other nibble. If the main didn't arrive by the time we'd finished that we were also presented with warmed nuts to keep us going. And finally on paying the bill they gave us complimentary glass of Madeira. Apart from pizza and pasta they also did a wide variety of high quality food and my wife enjoyed both salmon and chicken on other occassions. A real treat - don't miss it!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vic397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tricolore Pizzeria Ristorante also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to La Tricolore Pizzeria Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing