We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, friendly management.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pensao Residencial Mirasol
Ranked #16 of 35 Funchal B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Pensao Residencial Mirasol is located just on the edge of the edge of the Old Town and is a perfect location for exploring Funchal on foot and by bus. The famous Cable Car is just a a few minutes walk. The family who manage the property are wonderfully friendly and helpful. A simple breakfast is offered that makes a very nice start to the day. All in all, a fantastic place to get a good nights sleep and a perfect base from which to explore the City and beyond. We will be returning to the Pensao Residencial Mirasol!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonecarbooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 111 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were a group of 8 friends. We had the house across the road where we made history have the whole house to ourselves. We were treated really well they couldn't do enough for us. Although breakfast was the same each day, you could eat as much as you liked, the rolls just keep on coming. Location is great, just 5 mins walk from the old town. We hired a taxi between us and had a brilliant day out for just €15 each. Would visit madeira again and stay at the mirasol and it was brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

From our initial inquiry and booking to our 'farewells' at the end of our 7 night stay the Horta family and staff gave 100%. We (a party of friends - 3 couples and 2 singles) were accommodated in their spacious detached house opposite to this small hotel. This family excel in welcoming all nationalities, they are keen and helpful to make your stay in Funchal as enjoyable as possible. Attentive service, good breakfasts and clean rooms, the Mirasol is excellent value for money.
The location is perfect. Within 5/10 minutes' walk there is a good choice of tourist or local restaurants and shops.The promenade with places to sit and watch the liners, the bus station and cable car is 10/15 minutes down the hill through small interesting streets. We highly recommend the Mirasol.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jewelsNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

As a couple of advancing years we were looking for a small hotel in Funchal near the centre of town as I no longer drive. Based on Tripadvisor reviews we chose Mirasol and were very pleased with the choice.
Run by a very friendly family, the accommodation was good and the location excellent. A great choice of restaurants within 5-10 mins walk and the town centre not much further on.
Humberto, the son of the owner, made two trips to the airport to collect us, as, because of a severe delay in our flight leaving Heathrow, we missed our connection in Lisbon and were transferred to a later flight. Unfortunately our phone call to let them know did not reach him so he did not charge us for the extra trip.
He also arranged a couple of excellent minibus tours of the island with FloraTravel which we very much enjoyed.
If this is the sort of thing that you are looking for then we would certainly recommend Pensao Residencial Mirasol
Max & Anne Potter

Room Tip: Room 24 on the top floor had wonderful views over the sea and town despite the concern of the owners...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I chose this place as I imagined it would be a kind of pousada we know from Brazil: small, comfortable, with more personal attitude than in big hotels. And pensao Mirasol was all I expected.
We came late at night but mr Joao had informed me earlier in his e-mail about the person on duty who would let us in. Next morning we met Joao and his son Humberto, both very kind and hospitable.
We had the room with the best view, on the 2nd floor. Small and basic, but enough for us.
Location was also perfect, very close to city center, attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brasilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Tripadvisor should have a rating possibility "good" There is a huge difference between "average" and "very good". Having said that, I think that the Pensao Residencial Mirasol is a good accomodation. First, yes the owner is very friendly as is his son. They help you with everything you need including a place to park. We used their private parking for 2 nights. It wasn't a problem at all. There is a small parking at the end of the street behind the pensao. You need to pay though between 8am-8pm on weekdays and weekend till 2pm. sunday it is free of charge.
don't worry if you don't pay. I got a fine of Euro 2,30.
The Pensao is a normal, outdated building with rooms that cater for your needs. Sleep, shower and toilet. That is it! Don't expect fancy couch, fancy bed or a fancy bathroom. It all does what it needs to do. The bed was a bit funny, as they had sheets with sort of plastic attached to it facing the matras. probably for people who pee in bed. We stayed a week there but we didn't sleep well as the bed was really uncomfortable. Hard and narrow. It is smaller then a queensize bed.
Breakfast is most possibly included in your rate. Nothing fancy here. You will get choices between rolls and toast. Between eggs and cheese and ham. I always got 2 slides of cheese and one ham. And that for 2 big rolls. When i asked for more cheese I got one slide. I think they are not eager to give out more.

For Euro 35,- a night it is a great deal. If you want more luxury, go somewhere else.
I rated the accomodation as very good because it is a very good for the price/quality or value for money.

Room Tip: The owners told us upon arrival that we could have a room with a view when it is January. So, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was in Funchal for a couple of days with my family on our way to Porto Santo. we found this Pensao on the net and decided to try it . It was a happy choice. the hotel is family run, the personnel are very friendly and helpful, the location is excellent, in fact we could walk to the centre for dinner and along the harbour. the rooms are a bit small and basic but very clean.So is the bathroom. The price was very reasonable: we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viviana754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#62 of 88 in Funchal
89 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Residencial Pina
Residencial Pina
#48 of 88 in Funchal
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 88 in Funchal
1,915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vitorina Corte Guesthouse
1.0 mi away
Casa Caseiro
Casa Caseiro
#8 of 35 in Funchal
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Residencial Mirasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Mirasol

Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 67, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range: $40 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensao Residencial Mirasol 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pensao Residencial Mirasol is a traditional Madeiran guest house set in the Old Town of Funchal and is situated near almost everything. Each room is well furnished and consists of private bathroom, cable television, telephone and balcony with sea and mountain view. Whether you come to Madeira for the spectacular flowers, the famous levada walks or simply to relax strolling around in the sun - the Pensao Residencial Mirasol is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pensao Residencial Mirasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Mirasol Hotel Funchal
Pensao Residencial Mirasol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing