We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment, amazing views over Funchal”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lena's Place

Your private pool...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your private pool...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Your private pool...
Your private bathroom.
The bed available for your child.
Of course ther's wi-fi and Cable TV
A fully equipped kitchen for you to cook your family meals
Your cooker is an induction plate, modern and easy to clean.
Fancy and relaxing...you can have both!
A nice balcony with a bench so that you enjoy the beautiful view over Funchal
If requested you can use the barbecue
Your way in and out of Lena's Place
Way in and out of Lena's Place
what a benefit to swim in your private pool by the moonlight!
Beautiful sightseeing  of Funchal  bay from Lena's Place!
For the third time, Madeira Islands were elected by the 'World Travel Awards” organization as Europe
Sightseeing from Lena's Place
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gary W
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely apartment, amazing views over Funchal”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our host, Lena, was extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. The apartment was clean, spacious and well equipped, both inside and out. The pool was small but very handy in the heat.
Beautiful views over Funchal and the surrounding hills.
About 20 minutes to walk down to the town centre and 5 Euro taxi ride back up.
Funchal a lovely town with a wide choice of shops, bars and restaurants.People very friendly.
Lots of places to visit. Highly recommended.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank You so much for your review! You were such nice guests at it was a pleasure to welcome you. I'll be glad to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too much to mention.
Liked least: We had absolutely nothing to complain about.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2016
Thank You dear Elaine for your precious time on this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you both...such a polite, discrete and still nice and communicative couple. Sincerely hope to welcome you again anytime you want. Wish You all the Best! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stuyz
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment, great location, Amazing!”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What a great week me and my partner have just had staying at Lena's place. Just 20 mins drive from the airport, set in the hills above Funchal. Helena was a great host, meeting us on arrival and explaining everything to us.
The apartment is excellently equipped with everything you need for your stay. More than enough room for a couple and even 2 children.
We felt as if it was completely our own space, completely at home. Helena leaves you to it but if you ever need anything, advice on the area, things to do and see, she is only a call or text away ( a mobile is provided to call or text her and to call cabs).
The pool is amazing and has stunning views down into Funchal and over the harbour. It's around a 15 minute walk into town down a steep hill but not too bad. We even walked back up it one night, which was hard but taxis are around €5-8 euro.
All in all a great place and would definitely recommend however would prefer to keep it a secret so we can go more often. Will definitely be back and thanks again Helena for letting us stay at the beautiful Lena's place.

Louise and Stuart

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Thank Your dear Louise for the precious time you took to do this full and so complete review. It was and it will always be a pleasure meeting and hosting nice, polite and discrete people like you. Wishing to welcome you back as soon as possible!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place to Unwind!”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lena's Place is a very equipped studio apartment situated about 15 minute walk from Funchal. Helena the owner was very welcoming when we arrived, showed us how to work the appliances in the apartment and she provided us with a mobile, so that if we ever needed to contact her, we just had to call or text and she would reply very swiftly. I myself have travelled to Maderia a couple of times so knew our way around well, but Helena gave us information on places to visit and was always there to offer help in anyway she could. Lots of leaflets on places of interest and recommended tours were left in the apartment.

I travelled with my two teenage daughters (14 & 15) and had a wonderful week here. The studio apartment boasts the most stunning views overlooking Funchal and the sea! Outside we had our own private pool, loungers to relax, a exercise bike if your feeling energetic! and a outside shower. Inside the apartment was very well equipped with a double bed and sofa, with additional sofa bed which pulled out to accomodate 2 children. Plenty of storage space and additional bedding (if required). There is free wi-fi in the studio which is great and the TV has plenty of english channels. There is a small mini mart at the end of road where you can pick up most things. They are a couple of cafe bars a short walk down from Lena's Place which is lovely, as well as a couple more small corner shops. They have a large supermarket in Funchal called "La Vie" where we did our weekly food shop.

I would highly recommend Lena's Place i myself have just re-booked to stay for 1 week in December. So looking forward to seeing Helena again and those gorgeous views!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal service provided by owner Helena and not forgetting the stunning views!
Liked least: The property is situated on a very steep hill although there is a excellent bus service.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2016
Thank You Dear Sophie and lovely daughters for taking some of your precious time doing such a complete review. It was and it will always be a pleasure to welcome you and your beautiful family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Océane S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
Merci cher Océnane, pour votre avis. C'était un grand plaisir de vous accueillir tous les deux. J'espère vraiment vous accueillir dès que possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing