We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good location, great staff”

Restaurante O Tapassol Terrace
Ranked #50 of 637 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good food, good location, great staff”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We initially spent a very pleasant lunch time here sitting on the covered terrace. We had salads which were excellent and the wine was perfectly adequate. As others have mentioned the banter with the staff adds another enjoyable dimension. We were in Madeira for two weeks so we had further lunch at O Tapassol and then a fine evening meal. When we revisit Madeira I expect that this will be one of our first restaurants to return to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 8100bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    197
    60
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We ate here twice with friends and found the food to be excellent and the staf friendly in the extreme. Great banter with the waiters and some very good wines to boot.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JGD1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Ate here with my very choosy friend and we both enjoyed it very much. The service is very good indeed, and we were made to feel special. Ate upstairs with a sea view by the window. Tried the limpets to start, my friend thought they needed more garlic as they had a slight aftertaste - not sure if they are supposed to! We then both had beef on a skewer medium rare which was beautifully cooked. The vegetables were overlooked but this seems to be the case everywhere in Funchal! I had home made chocolate mousse for dessert, which was delicious. Excellent value and would visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadameJoJoJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I am never let down in Madeira. The service, food and price was great as always.

If you visit the old town there is a multitude of restaurants to choose from. I find this particular restaurant and the next 2 restaurants, which belong to same company, offer excellent service and value for money.

The waiters are polite, speak excellent english and entertaining in their mannerisms.

You quite often get a free liquor at the start and end of meal.

I am not saying it is 5★ but well cooked and tasty food. Espetada and Espada is lovely. Fish is a must have and the meat is so tasty and tender.

Happy Days!

Helpful?
Thank jose18071964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to go for a meal”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We really enjoyed our meal here and would definitely visit again should we find ourselves in Madeira. The service was friendly and efficient, the food was really tasty (with a special mention for the fish dishes which were beautifully cooked) and the wine was good too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TSLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Tapassol Terrace also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurante O Tapassol Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing