We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rabbit, rabbit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante O Tapassol Terrace

Restaurante O Tapassol Terrace
Ranked #48 of 598 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rabbit, rabbit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I admit to being somewhat biased as we have been on many occasions to Madeira and often to this restaurant, We keep coming back as it has such friendly staff, nice tables upstairs and the menu still has one of my favourite dishes, rabbit. We were not disappointed in any way on this visit - enjoyed it enormously.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    181
    55
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Friendly faces”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We ate here on a regular basis while holidaying in Funchal. The food is consistently good and all the waiters are friendly and chatty.
Each time had a lovely terrace view overlooking the sea.
Preferred the Scabbard fish -delicious. Came with a fine Portuguese white wine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank girlie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eating out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Food was very good but service was a bit hectic, seemed they were getting numbers through. Space between tables upstairs tight.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food & very entertaining greeter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Aifonso, the greeter, had us in stitches with his jokes and impressions. Steak on skewer excellent. Great atmosphere and not bad spot to people watch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank janeella229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We ate here 4 times and the food was always good and reasonable. The service was excellent even when they were busy. After the first time we booked a table on the terrace and the ambience was very good. I note a previous reviewer said they were disappointed in being served chips with their meal but we were offered chips or potatoes and when we asked if we could have saute potatoes it was not a problem. Recommend the rabbit. Watch out for 006!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Corkeration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Tapassol Terrace also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurante O Tapassol Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing