We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's hard to find such good quality cooking at these prices”
Review of Armazem do Sal

Armazem do Sal
Reserve with
Armazem do Sal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 628 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“It's hard to find such good quality cooking at these prices”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant may be housed in a 200 year old former salt warehouse but there's nothing old-fashioned about the food here as while the three-course menu offers an array of Madeira classics they all come with a distinctly modern twist. We loved it. The flavours are bold & well-matched, the service slick & efficient and the overall experience a delight. I started with the scallops with pea, fennel & cauliflower purée and then had a lovely herb-crushed tuna steak with a thyme risotto for my main. In both cases the seafood was cooked to perfection, with my medium-rare tuna just as I like it. For dessert I had pannacote, which was also good. My wife had an interesting starter of tuna & mackerel sashimi with teriyaki sauce, braved the octopus for her main and finished with an excellent chocolate fondant pudding. Everything she had was equally as impressive. But perhaps the best thing is the price - three courses plus an aperitif and coffees for €30. Or why not go the whole hog & pay €39 as we did to get three generous glasses of wine - each matched carefully to your menu choices - included too. It's hard to find such good quality cooking at these prices so do yourself a favour and book a table today.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,070
    522
    158
    58
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Having been to this restaurant in previous years we returned last week and everything was as good as before. So much so that we have been back with friends this week and have booked to go again on Saturday. The food is great but the service and friendliness of the staff cannot be beaten. The guitarist who played each time was excellent. This is well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotting_Tilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent service and great food as usual...”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned again from our regular visit to Maderia and we were delighted to eat here again in fact we continued to enjoy it so much we went 3 times while we were there!! The fixed meal deal for 39 euro per person including drinks is great value especially when you consider the quality of the food and excellent service. Suggest a booking is advisable as always seems popular, for obvious reasons. Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dayo691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value for the meal deal”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This restaurant offered a 39 euro deal which included all wine. The food was very good and the wine complemented the meal well - with top class wines from Portugal on offer. The ambiance was very in keeping with the history and we loved the music. I do appreciate that it was on the jazz side with lots of classic tunes from Brazil but that is not surprising given the guitarist was from Brazil. He was extremely accomplished and it really enhanced our whole positive experience of the venue. We will go back as it was one of our favourite spots this visit to Madeira.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Up to date Dining”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

The 39€ set meal option (30€ without the wine pairing) is very good value. Amazing choices for the set meal - hot and cold starters, pasta dishes, soups, seafood and meat. Chefs specials for 8€ extra. Everything we ate was fresh, cooked to perfection and served beautifully garnished and decorated. Decent portions too! The wine pairing was nicely done and includes both local and international wines. Service is excellent - not intrusive but always on hand. Live music seems to be a daily treat - ours was a guitarist who enhanced the atmosphere without spoiling the chance to chat. The setting is contemporary and spacious.

Helpful?
1 Thank saint_lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armazem do Sal also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Armazem do Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing