We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this restaurant”
Review of Armazem do Sal

Armazem do Sal
Reserve with
Armazem do Sal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 638 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I've been to this restuarant three times now. Once last year, twice this year (visit Portugal every year to see family). The food has been consistently excellent. Very well cooked and brilliantly presented, which makes the set menu a very good offer. Can't fault the service. Like the live music, although this can be a little loud if you're sat right near him. You'll definately need to book, unless you turn up early.

My only comment is that this year it was very hot inside - I don't know whether they've had air conditioning problems, but it was almost unpleasent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armazemdosal, Manager at Armazem do Sal, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant. It’s a great honor to receive such encouraging compliments that encourage us to keep striving to serve you better! Unfortunately we had a malfunctioning in our air conditioning system that has been promptly repaired. It's working properly now.
Once again many thanks for your preference. We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,

The Manager at Armazém do Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,119
    536
    162
    58
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madeira
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent night”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Visited just over a week ago with family who were visiting us on holiday and had a really nice dinner.

We opted for the 37.00 euros with the wine included and everything we had including the wine was excellent - as was the service.

The only problem was it was the last weekend of the families stay so we could not make a repeat visit!

We will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bristol1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth searching out”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked this due to reviews here. It's hidden slightly down a small street but well worth searching it out. We didn't opt for the fixed menu; it worked out about the same anyway. We had trio of salmon with cream cheese and caviar and sardines the sal way (salted) both very good. We had a Tuna steak main and Salted Cod Risotto, beautiful. Desserts were Orange Brûlée with Chocolate Ice Cream and Chocolate Volcano with Vanilla Ice Cream both were perfect. I had a glass of Cabernet with a large bottle of water and coffee and tea to finish for €66; 75 including tip. Excellent, we will gladly return next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprising Restaurant in Funchal”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Restaurant is located in the old comercial quarter of Funchal .
The cuisine is Mediterranean and sophisticated and the decor is very cosy and intimist .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanaMFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Geoff & Joanne”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant a couple of times last year and enjoyed. This year, the food is definitely not of the same quality as 12 months ago, and you feel they are trying to hide this by the amount of wine they pour into your glass.

Wont be returning this year,!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Huddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armazemdosal, Manager at Armazem do Sal, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Many thanks for your feedback. We were disheartened to know that we couldn't meet your expectations on this occasion as we did last year.
We would personally welcome the opportunity to correct this experience on any future visit. You have my personal commitment to making sure your next visit is worthy of hard earned reputation.

Best regards,

The Manager at Armazém do Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armazem do Sal also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Armazem do Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing