We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shouldn't be missed!!”
Review of Armazem do Sal

Armazem do Sal
Reserve with
Armazem do Sal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 615 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Shouldn't be missed!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I booked a table via email from the UK prior to our arrival in Madeira to celebrate my husbands birthday. Everything was perfect, the table was as requested, fantastic service, the food and the wine second to none.
We then decided to make a few more reservations during our stay and we couldn't fault anything during any of our visits. This in our opinion is still the No 1 restaurant in Madeira!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ladylee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,001
    510
    154
    56
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“our best restaurant experience in Funchal”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Although I need to start my review with the overall remark that ALL our dining experiences on Madeira were great, the best one was for sure in this restaurant. Amazing starters, fantastic main dishes and delicious deserts. As we're still on the island while writing this review, there is a big chance we'll go back before the end of our holiday!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“This was a treat”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my first visit to this restaurant but it will not be my last. My wife and I found the whole experience very enjoyable, the night we dined there was live music ( a solo guitarist) which was nice in the background. We had the wine pairing menu and our waiter asked us which type of wine we preferred (dry/fruity, soft/full bodied) for each course, wether we wanted still or carbonated water, he couldn't have been more attentive and to cap it all the food looked and tasted wonderful.
For anyone wanting a special night out I think this is just right. I would advise booking ahead to be sure of a table and ask to be seated inside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harf_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alysonpet
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, wine and value”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Seventh visit - simply excellent.
Had the set menu, aperitif, three courses and wine for 37 euro. Fantastic value for money.
Had a young lady playing, and singing live music. She was very good and the music did not drowned out conversation.
You need to book a table, especially or the weekend.
Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alysonpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“still no 1 in funchal”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you dont eat at any other restaurants in funchal you must eat here.We have eaten here numerous times before and were not going to miss out on this trip.the food is stunning ,the service wonderful and it is certainly better value than other so called "up market" establishments in funchal.Dont miss out!

Helpful?
Thank lovemadeira56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armazem do Sal also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Armazem do Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing