We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for what you pay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residencial Parque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residencial Parque
Ranked #61 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Birmingham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value for what you pay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

My friends and I stayed here last week as we were over in Madeira to see out football team play. So it was 4 lads staying, so this has probably influenced my review a little as I do think it is a cood location and hotel for singles or people not wanting to spend much time in their rooms. If I was with my wife it would have probably been a little different.

The hotel is about a five mins walk to the sea front, on arrival we were greeted by the owner who had our keys ready and told us where our rooms were. So up to the rooms we went. I was suprised by the good size of each room, we had a fair sized bedroom, small bathroom with shower and a little patio area to sit and gaze up at the cable cars going above our heads! There was also a TV with a good selection of channels. The rooms were clean, and we had clean towels every day.

Due to the size of the bathroom and heat I would advise anyone choosing to stay here to take a bug spray or plug, as we had little midgies (flies) in ours, but nothing to worry us, just something to be aware of.

So we dumped our bags and as stated it was a lads break so we wanted to lock away our passports and get a drink. Again asking the owner about a safe he provided us one free of charge for the 4 days we were there... Great!!

There is a bar/ cafe on site which does cakes, snacks, chocs and more importantly beer! so we each had a large local beer (Coral) at 1 euro 80 each!! We then went off for a night out. To be honest we knew that the location was quiet and not very toristy... so if you are looking for night life this isn't for you. For us it was fine as we were over there with 1000 other Birmingham fans so we bumped in to lots of others in local bars etc... 1 decent bar was the Hole in One, all the others were mainly small taverns which again was fine!

Breakfast in the morning is as many cobs, jam and coffe as you want, so nothing to write home about, but more than enough for the price we paid!

The staff were always pleasant and happy to help. If I was going away for a short tip or sight seeing then I would stay here again, but if I wanted sun bathing and lounging by a pool then this hotel or resort would not be the choice!

Like I said in the title its good value for the price, we paid 12 euro a night, whilst a lot of other hotels had bumped up their prices as they knew an extra 1000 brummies were looking for some where to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jassyblue80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
34
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is a well run place. No frills, no luxury but really friendly with English-speaking staff. It's located approximately 5 minutes walk from the main places you’ll need: historic city centre, bars, restaurants, shops, post office, bank, harbour, bus station and every other convenient you can think of. Our double room was spacious and clean. We’re given room 31, which was absolutely fabulous. We had a balcony with table + 2 chairs. Handy for a glass of wine early evening. Cable TV offered 20 to 30 channels in various languages: Portuguese, Italian, French, English, Spanish etc. Continental breakfast was OK and bar had a good range of beer, wine and soft drinks at very reasonable prices. Free wi-fi on the ground floor. Madeira itself is a very safe place, therefore we never had any issues returning to the hotel late at night… taking the usual precautions, of course. Travelling from the Airport to the hotel was not a problem either: we took the Aerobus (€7.50 for a return journey), told the driver where we’re going to stay and he dropped us off 50 yards from the hotel. We stayed there on the last week of June and, visiting Funchal again, we’ll definitely go back. It’s amazing how friendly, helpful and genuine all the staff is. Entirely recommend the place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor have balconies with 1 table and 2 chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoseGaglioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

Having been to Funchal a few times we knew the Hotel's location and wanted a quick week away on a budget this hotel gave us that. We found the hotel to be exactly as described in other reviews on various web sites. Do not expect luxury, its old, its basic, its cheap but its very friendly and in a very good location within a few minutes walk of the sea, the old town and the market. Yes there is a little road noise but not a problem. Our room was a double on the top floor with an open balcony, the best rooms are on the top floor from which there are good views over the park and to the harbour to the side and the cable car passes overhead. Plenty of storage room in the room and an adequate bathroom. Breakfast was the same every day two fresh custy rolls with cheese and jam, coffee and fruit juice. The owners and staff were very friendly and chatty, the bar was well stocked and very reasonable coffee 70 cents and a bottle of beer 90 cents. There were a number of bars/cafes all around the hotel and all reasonably prices making eating out on a budget easy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rhodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

I really can't add much to what the above reviewer has put.

It's a basic no frills place which is great as a base for exploration.

downsides: I would have liked a kettle in the bedroom so I could make a coffee!; the main drag out of town is'nt that far away so you do get a bit of traffic noise - but thises gripes are minor, I'd certainly use it again

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hogan-go-iawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

We booked this hotel as a central location, halfway between the Old Town and the museums and parks of the newer part. We thought the hotel was surprisingly good for an economy price. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the lift worked well, there was a lovely bar which served snacks and drinks with plenty of tables. The staff are very helpful and attentive. Breakfast is as many rolls and as much coffee as you like - basic but quite enough to start the day. Being centrally located there are fabulous walks around Funchal in every direction and if you prefer to ride there is a taxi-rank outside the front door. We had lovely views from our window, overlooking a park and with the chair-lift going overhead. This is not a fancy hotel, such as The Riu Palace Madeira where we have enjoyed many stays, but we didn't expect it to be. We got just what it said on the can and we enjoyed it. Clean, centrally located and friendly. The locals come in for breakfast on their way to work - I think that says enough. We have been to Madeira several times before, but felt this time we had really experienced Madeira with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkillyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#57 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residencial Colombo
Residencial Colombo
#79 of 87 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#52 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Parque

Property: Residencial Parque
Address: Rua Campo da Barca 15, Funchal, Madeira 9060-040, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Residencial Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Parque Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing