We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PortoBay Serra Golf
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$162
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
$181
$123
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$499
$481
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suite Hotel Eden Mar(Funchal)
$164
$151
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$70
$60
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveler rating
255
109
18
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
109
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking holidayserra golfsmall hotelhalf boardplay golfsmall indoor poolshort stayshort drivecentral heatingnearby villagethree nightslow cloudpeaceful locationlovely hotellocal barenjoyable stayeasy access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 389 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Family with one and half year old child. Although not being able to profit the hiking possibilities, due to a very young child, I recognize the good location for this kind of sport. Also great location for golf enthusiasts. Small size hotel (like we like), confortable, with evident taste on ambiance, indoor swiming pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank XPTOPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor you holiday experience at Porto Bay Serra Golf and happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us

It will be for sure rewarding to welcome you soon,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After the change in management I was back with wife and kids. The addition of the indoor swimming pool and sauna are a big plus, and the renewed gym and relax room were also a good surprise. Rooms kept their comfort with new tv and dvd, excelent for the kids. there's also an ipod dock station.
Dinner at Avó Micas Restaurant was good as always and breakfast is fantastic. Didn't miss the 5'O clock tea, which kept the delicious scones and home made jams. the one downside was the living room which lost a bit of comfort as extra Restaurant tables were put there. also a big plus wifi all over the place!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent stay at Porto Bay Serra Golf. I am happy to learn that overall you had a positive experience.
About the living room please take good note that the tables were there as we were nearly fully booked during some days and we were needing some more seats for dinner.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future to Santo da Serra

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of March. The hotel is everything others have reported, large comfortable bedrooms with modern fittings in a new extension. Nice indoor swimming pool. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast with the full range one would expect. If I have one small criticism it is that the evening meals, although perfectly good and wholesome, lack an element of sophistication in their preparation one would expect in a four star hotel. There's a lack of subtlety of flavour and presentation, we found them rather bland. However overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmblingRambler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Porto Bay Serra Golf. We will promise good attention on the food issue.

Anything you might need for a future visit to our property I will be most pleased to assist you.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Serra Golf is, as the name suggests, close to one of the major golf courses in Madeira and it is obviously a great hotel for golfers but we found it an ideal spot for walkers. The village is over 600 meters above sea level on a volcanic plateau so there are walks close at hand either directly from the hotel or a short taxi ride away. The hotel keeps a file of suggested walks and walkers are generous in sharing their experiences.
The Sera Golf is a small (22rooms) recently refurbished hotel with good well appointed rooms, a lounge and small indoor pool. We used the suite which opens directly onto the gaden but other rooms have small balconies for a quiet read after an active day. The garden is quite small but we found that this meant that guests talked to each other. This was also the case in the restaurant which was friendly, light and comfortable.
The staff at Serra Golf were also friendly and helpful. Because the hotel is small they share the jobs that need to be done which means we felt we got to know them because they were serving at table, helping with directions, switching on the sauna, or booking a taxi or dealing with any problem.
If you want a quiet hotel in the country in Madeira we recommend Serra Golf and if you must have the shops it is not that far to Funchal!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are good and quiet but the Superior Rooms in the old part of the hotel are more interesting.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonMiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you fo4 the lovely feedback about the hotel the staff and facilities we are leased to know that you had such a pleasant stay and sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to our island.


Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were surprised and delighted when we arrived at Porto Bay Serra Golf by foot after a 14k Levada walk. We had walked through the town of Santo do Serra, which frankly has little to offer (other than on Sunday,we were told by a local,when there is a market) so our expectations of the hotel weren't high as it seemed a strange location. On arrival the building was pleasing, unusual in design and looked exceptionally well maintained. We got a warm welcome from reception and our bags were already in our room when we were shown to it. The room was fabulous, plenty space, light and airy, patio doors with small outdoor seating area and lovely modern bathroom with both shower and bath - essential after a long walk. Beverages, Wi-Fi, safe (small charge €1.50) and TV were all available as was plenty hanging space. There was an indoor swimming pool, sauna and gym within metres of our bedroom, all well equipped. Spa treatment was available on request. There was also a quiet lounge with TV on the ground floor. As the hotel only has 22 rooms it was pretty relaxed and quiet all the time we were there
We arrived in the afternoon and although we did not have the full afternoon tea offer, it was available and looked good. We just relaxed with a drink in the lounge area adjacent to the restaurant and peacefully read.
We were on half board and dinner gave the choice of a set 3 course menu inclusive in our price, or,if we wished, we could eat off the a la carte and the €21 set menu allowance was offset against the a la carte cost. It probably cost €5-8 more to eat a la carte, so not excessive. There was a good wine list and the Porto Bay wine choice, house wine, was excellent value. Food was excellent, good varied choice,well presented, good portions and well cooked. The waitress was very efficient and pleasant too.
Breakfast was a good hot and cold 'eat what you like' buffet and again good. Attentiveness wasn't quite as good in the morning with the waitress more interested in chatting than clearing plates away, you could hear her from the restaurant, but non the less pretty good.
Beyond the hotel there isn't much to do in the town, the Botanical Garden was underwhelming, more a park with a few ducks etc, the bars,shops ( no bread left t noon) and cafes pretty limited, although there did seem to be an interesting butchers shop that (entirely) men seemed to frequent to eat a skewer of meat and drink a tumbler of wine t lunchtime. We weren't adventurous as nobody spoke English nor were very friendly but maybe a braver adventurer could try it and write a review?Buses from the village are infrequent so check the timetable at the bus stop. If you are a golfer, there is a course 10 minutes up the road, if you are a walker there are a few walks to do.
Overall enjoyed the stay in his small, friendly and good valued hotel and would certainly come again

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Alfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

What a “relaxing” feedback about your holiday experience at Porto Bay Serra Golf.
I am really happy to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience in our property.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews