We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only one in town”
Review of Hotel O Colmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel O Colmo
Ranked #105 of 154 Hotels in Madeira
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Santana is on the northern coast tourist route, mainly because of the examples of ancient traditional Madeiran houses to be found there. Como hotel is large and modern with ample parking and we had a comfortable room for our one-night stay. It's not only the sole hotel but also the sole restaurant, although there are three fast foodies, including a pizzeria. The restaurant is themed rustic farmhouse style, and well done. The food and wine were excellent and reasonably priced. Santana is pleasant, but not a place to linger in, but if on tour, as we were, this is a stopover I can recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeJay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Need urgent attention on building....
but good value for price and very calm,
clean is disappointed, perfect place to stay and relax, near the best views and levadas for walking,
i´ve got lucky, was the weekend feast when we stayed in Santana.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It must have been this hotel where two of our family-members got ill. In the hall on the way to our room there was a disgusting smell, irritating the nostrils. The rooms were sort of oke, not cosy anyway. Didn't get the feeling we were quite welcome too. Think I would search a little further..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has been booked for us as our last accomodation on Madeira of a one week vacation. Hotel O Colmo is a bit hard to find, there are no signs, but after asking around we finally got to it. The rooms are huge in size, with beautiful wooden floors, a seperate guest room, where you can watch television. The balcony is a bit awkward, there is solid wall around it, so you can only enjoy the view standing. The key system is also outdated: a card for the electricity and a strange key that is hard to use, notvery handy closing your door in the dark. The only option is to detach them or use a spare (credit) card for the lighting. Any way we had a pleasant stay for two nights. The breakfast buffet is average, with nice Portugese pies. We had dinner once on the restaurant, but cannot recommend the menu, especially for vegetarians the food was tastless. Early birds, who want to catch there flight also have a challenge. The reception opens at 8.00 am, breakfast also at 8.00 till 10.00, if you are lucky at 7.45h. Be prepared. This hotel as great potention, but the staff is not very eager to serve and please their guests. The rooms can be very big, when you sleep and your eyes are closed, the size of the room does not matter, only the size of the bed. Sorry to tell you that the size of the twin beds are rather small in Hotel O Colmo.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dgoedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is located about 5 min walk from the village center, adjacent to a large restaurant that appears to be a popular stopover on day trips from Funchal. Rooms are quite nice, with wooden floors, a balcony with a view over the village and the sea, and comfortable beds. The rooms have a TV, but no fan/airconditioning (it's quite cool here at night), no internet access (there is in the lobby) and no fridge/minibar. The rooms are clean (judging by the smell after the cleaning lady has visited, she cleans the place with pure chlorine), though -and this is a big problem of this hotel- the remnants and stains of squashed mosquitoes are everywhere, including on places where they could have easily been removed. They mosquitoes really are a nuisance at this place and you'll probably add a couple of dead mosquitoes to the collection if you decide to stay here. Breakfast was mediocre: all tables were dirty when we came, orange juice had run out, spoons were gone, etc. Certainly a point that can be improved. We had dinner here one of the two nights we spent here and it was OK; nothing really special, with a very standard menu. Staff are helpful and speak english: when we left for an early-morning hike (before breakfast started), they made us a little breakfast-to-go and when looking for a taxi, they pointed us to somebody who could help. Unfortunately they did/could not book the taxi for us, which I find strange and certainly not appropriate for a 4* hotel, where I'm sure these requests are made often. We did not try the swimming pool. Ample parking spaces are provided on a private parking lot next to the entrance. Overall an OK place to stay, but some improvements can definitely be made.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed here two nights as part of walking holiday.
The hotel is rather isolated in a small sprawling village in the north of the island but would be OK for a coup;e of nights if touring by car.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Bedrooms were average, clean and comfortable but cold in February!
There is a small indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi - good to relax in. Also a sauna which I didn't use.
There is a small cosy bar attached to the dining rooms which are large but well set out with a fire in the evening. The serving staff were very friendly and the portions of good food massive. Breakfast was less exciting but adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Two nights here. On arriving the reception staff were a little abrupt and surly. Room adequate. Pool okay. Breakfast is buffet style and a little "sad". The coffee machine is awful, and produces the worst coffee on the island.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madeira hotels
3.7 mi away
Cabanas de Sao Jorge Village
5.3 mi away
Solar de Boaventura
Solar de Boaventura
#1 of 1 in Boaventura
78 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Encumeada
Hotel Encumeada
#2 of 5 in Ribeira Brava
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rural Sanroque
Rural Sanroque
#2 of 3 in Santana
14 reviews
8.5 mi away
Solar Da Bica
Solar Da Bica
#1 of 5 in Sao Vicente
139 reviews
6.7 mi away
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel O Colmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O Colmo

Address: Avenida Manuel Marques Trindade 42 | Sitio do Serrado - Santana, Madeira 9230-116, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 154 Hotels in Madeira
Price Range: $55 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel O Colmo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel O Colmo, rural hotel situated in the center of Santana, the northern coast of Madeira Island, known for its typical thatched houses. Hotel consists of 50 rooms all tastefully decorated, comfortable for a beautiful stay in the middle of nature. In the leisure area for guests the hotel has a heated water pool and jacuzzi. For a good meal ,typical Madeiran, try our Restaurant with good food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Otel, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel O Colmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Colmo Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing