We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location must be tried if visiting Madeira”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jardim Atlantico
Ranked #66 of 152 Hotels in Madeira
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location must be tried if visiting Madeira”
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Great to stay in the West of the island. A very good alternative to Funchal giving you more of an idea of island life. Stayed at the same time as EagleDK in two of the studios in the main building and found them to be very well furnished and equipped and not in need of refurbishment. Soundproofing excellent, food great and staff very helpful....one of us had need of a dentist while we were there and they couldn't have been more helpful! Our only criticism is that given there is a nudist terrace on the 4th floor there is still nudity in both the indoor swimming pool and the sauna, but then we are British so we probably would criticise that!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MissPickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    82
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
36
138
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Large hotel, mainly for mass tourism. Good location and friendly front desk staff but a somewhat impersonal place lacking atmosphere. We stayed in a T1 apartment which is large and with a good sea view but appears worn and definitely needs refurbishing and modernising. Equipment basic but ok.

Pool and spa areas ok but proportions not convincing as the indoor pool is very small and only one small sauna. Must be crowded during season. Jacuzzi was out of order.

Breakfast was not interesting, a fairly small selection. Dinner (buffet): Large selection and good quality but not very inspiring. Restaurant staff seems unengaged and without attendance. On the second day we dropped the buffet and visited Chico, a small cosy restaurant near the church in Prazeres. Cheap, good an plenty food, friendly service and local atmosphere - highly recommended!

On a rainy day we tried the small and steep path to the sea at Paul do Mar. It started as an exciting experience with stunning views, even though stones were slippery, but half way down we were forced to return as the path had been washed away by a large fresh mud flow which had also taken the thin wire separating us from the gorge. After our reporting at the hotel this private path was closed but obviously no current inspection is carried out so be careful in wet weather!

According to all the certificates exhibited in the foyer the hotel is very proud of its status as first class ecological. However, it is difficult to see how this place differs from any other hotel in this sense. There may be some low energy bulbs and waste sorting in the apartments but nothing else indicates an environmental practice or seems to justify the ecological label. Also we were very surprised that the hotel since mid 90's has been continually awarded as one of the best holiday hotels in the world (!) by the guests of a German travel company. But tastes differ..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed for four days at this stunning hotel and thought that this must be as near to nature that you can get. The food was fantastic, freshly prepared and I believe, locally sourced. The staff were excellent and the apartment was large and well equiped. We loved sitting on the balcony, sipping a glass of wine at sunset, overlooking the Atlantic osean. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HandMSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

stayed here for two weeks and can safely say this is the best hotel we have stayed in. food, facilities ,and staff were all superb. Our studio room was large and the view to die for. The large balcony was great for afternoon sunbathing. No holiday rep comes there but they are not required as the reception staff are so helpful. There is a shuttle bus to small villages and some of the walks. Anything else can be arranged. Yes, the hotel is a bit isolated and don't expect fabulous nightlife but that suited us. The bar round the corner run by Maria and Paul was also excellent for a taste of the village gossip!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Don't get me wrong with that screaming title. The hotel services are excellent for the 4 stars they deserve. Great staff, great facilities, and great food. But the down side of this place is that you fee you are in Germany, due to too much of german tourists choosing to be there. People greet you in German, the menus are in German and even th T.V. has 5 German channels to 2 local channels. Great place to stay, but get out and get going to find any Maderia or Portugese you wanna see or experience. Renting a car is amust if you wanna see more.
the walk down to Paúl do Mar is tempting, but do not do it the first day..... you might end up mending your muscles the rest of your stay.
i fully recommend the natural foot therapy/massage on their gardens... excellent experience.
if you get tired of the buffet, try the restaurant by the roundabout to the hotel.... great food and great Maderian feel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thebloodyforeigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

The Hotel is located at the top of a cliff on the South West Coast of Madeira. If you want a beach holiday then Madeira is not for you and this particular location is about 500m above sea level so a tough walk down a steep path to the local coastal villages.
The Hotel however has loads to do (pool, tennis courts etc) and is a good base for many coastal walks and Levada walks. The food was a buffet format and had loads of choice but don't expect typical English fare (chips...).
I cannot fault the Hotel staff who were all really helpful and efficient. All the reception staff and manageress were really helpful in relation to activities.
Our room had a kitchen area which was useful for basic cooking and making cups of tea.
The Hotel guests were mainly German, only a handful were English but that didn't detract from the Holiday in any way, everyone was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bakerps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

When you're looking for a quiet en very well organized hotel, friendly staff, great kitchen, spacious rooms and a perfect startingpoint for some incredible hikes, walks & sightseeing tours this hotel is a rare find. You won't find a better place to enjoy the sunset anywhere. Hospitality at it's best!

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank harhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madeira hotels
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
#1 of 1 in Paul do Mar
209 reviews
3.7 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 7 in Calheta
1,179 reviews
8.5 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
488 reviews
8.3 mi away
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
518 reviews
23.5 mi away
PortoBay Serra Golf
PortoBay Serra Golf
#26 of 152 in Madeira
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardim Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardim Atlantico

Property: Hotel Jardim Atlantico
Address: Caminho Do Lombo Da Rocha | Prazeres, Madeira 9370-605, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Madeira
#61 Luxury Hotel in Madeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jardim Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jardim Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardim Atlantico Madeira
Jardim Atlantico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing