We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find”

The George & Dragon
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Chacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub, in a idyllic surrounding. Set in the peaceful village of Chacombe, the George and Dragon is only 1 mile from junction 11 of the M40. The George and dragon is the perfect place for all occasions, whether it be for entertaining corporate lunches during the day, cosy dinners, family get togethers or a drink with your friends. The pub dates back to the 17th century and still has original beams and fire places. During an extension 20 years ago a hidden well was discovered, which has long become a big attraction of the pub, along with the unique brass bar. There is a large patio area which can seat up to 40 people during the long and thirsty summer months.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

We were looking for lunch on a long drive from Manchester to London. Only a few minutes from the M40 but a world away from motorway fare this was a real treat.
Charming service, delicious food from an extensive menu and a picture perfect village.
We’ll be making it a regular stopping off point .

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank JennyP620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 316 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

This is a lovely old pub in a quaint village. They have a nice restaurant which serves a good selection of better than normal pub favourites. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Henchelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Ate here for lunch with a friend. The food was nice and I had a ciabatta which was good but the main reason I would return was the service. The helpful lady behind the bar and the wait staff are incredible. Will definitely return

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Skeen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

Never heard of Chacombe, but was looking for a pub halfway between Warwick and Milton Keynes. Location fitted the bill, so we met at the George & Dragon. And we were so glad that we did. Yes, it's off the beaten track but just outside Banbury and easy to find once you know it is there. We had the warmest of welcomes from Helen who looked after us in such a friendly and professional manner. Excellent menu, great pub grub and something for everyone. Food cooked just as ordered, and delicious. Had a really great time and can't wait to return.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Great staff - very welcoming and friendly. Food just lovely! A gorgeous pub in a lovely village. Went with our very elderly friend and we were looked after very well.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 194Lorraine_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George & Dragon also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Culworth, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing