We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little taste and poor service”

The George and Dragon
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Chacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional country pub, in a idyllic surrounding. Set in the peaceful village of Chacombe, the George and Dragon is only 1 mile from junction 11 of the M40. The George and dragon is the perfect place for all occasions, whether it be for entertaining corporate lunches during the day, cosy dinners, family get togethers or a drink with your friends. The pub dates back to the 17th century and still has original beams and fire places. During an extension 20 years ago a hidden well was discovered, which has long become a big attraction of the pub, along with the unique brass bar. There is a large patio area which can seat up to 40 people during the long and thirsty summer months.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Little taste and poor service”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

It was a group Xmas meal, the service was slow and the food generally had little taste. The group was crowded into a small room. Would not recommend for a group function.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikePexRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    80
    10
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband, mother in law and myself visited for Sunday lunch. The setting is lovely and the pub itself, charming. Although the car park is gravel, which is not ideal for a wheelchair and the disabled parking spot a little small for a wheelchair user, the pub itself has good access and a fully accessible toilet. It does have a dreaded Radar key, but the key was left in the lock, so no having to suffer embarrassment by asking for it so you can use the loo.

The service was friendly and attentive, and very efficient. We were well looked after. We had roast beef or roast pork and both meals were very good, the roast potatoes were a little disappointing, but the rest made up for it. Lovely meat, very well cooked. The deserts were fabulous - I had a sublime sticky toffee pudding.

Lovely place and I'll have no hesitation in going back again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ripples1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A very welcoming staff. Lovely atmosphere and an imaginative menu. Only downside - no lighting in car park which was rather potholed and a bit of a problem for older customers

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaMo406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Curate's Egg”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. The main courses were a good try, and the results were tasty.
However...... the puddings should be avoided. Most had very different ingredients from those shown on the menu, and some were old and stale.
Enjoy the friendly Mains, but leave the afters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I wish this was my local!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were travelling North from London and found this place on a tripadvisor forum whilst looking for a pub near to the M40 as an alternative to a service station. This is a journey we make several times a year and I'm pretty sure we will be stopping by the George & Dragon each time from now on. It's not far from the motorway and easy to navigate to, yet you find yourself in a really lovely, peaceful, rural setting surrounded by thatched cottages. The staff were very friendly and happy to help out. We each had a burger off the extensive and exciting gourmet burger menu (I can personally recommend the Italian Job) which whilst a little pricier than a Roadchef meal, was obviously more than worth it (joking aside, I think £10 for burger and some lovely chunky Maris Piper chips is reasonable and quite standard for pub fare). The rest of the menu looked interesting and I look forward to exploring it further. As we were on a long journey we were very pleased with the quick service, but we never felt rushed and could have quite happily spent the evening there, indeed I wanted to move into the village! As an after thought, I bet the seats in the inglenook by the wood burner are much sought after in winter, they looked lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LIZ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George and Dragon also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing