We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa do Valle
Ranked #2 of 46 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 13, 2010

I stayed at Quinta do Valle at the first weekend of December, for three nights and the place was fantastic. Very peacefull, good views , clean, comfortable, with liitle and delightfull details ljke candels in the rooms, a wood stove, fantastic breakfast in your own room ... it makes you feel as in your second home.
Hospitality of the owners (Virty and Manuel) was lovely.
I will always remember this weekend in the magical Sintra, and it could not have happen without Quinta do Valle.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iacobea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 576 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

Most positive aspects:
-Very cozy rooms
-Breakfast in the room at your wished hour
-Countryside familiar and romantic place
-Excellent price/quality relation

Most negative aspects:
-If you want TV at the room you have to ask for it

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We are staying one more day than planned at Casa do Valle because my husband was ill. Vipri, the proprietor, helped greatly in arranging a tax to take us to a clinic. My husband will be fine, but he will rest today and we will go to our next destination tomorrow. It is a pleasure to stay one more day here (we've been here 6 days). The inn is lovely, the breakfasts are very good, and the staff is very friendly. This was definitely the right choice for a stay in Sintra!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Sintra has always been regarded as one of the most beautiful towns in Europe - staying there has proved difficult with overpriced hotels being the most common solution. Casa Do Valle offers the perfect alternative - excellent value (e75.00 per night ) and facilities to dream of - excellent views -gazing out towards Quinta de Regaleria while having a dip in the pool, watching the clouds engulf the Moorish Castle at night with the moon providing ghostly light, drinking coffee in the morning and watching the sun rise above Pena Palace- there's no need to go anywhere else !
Virpi and her team work hard to make your stay everything you want it to be - we were there for 11 days and watched many other travellers begging to stay rather than move on to their next destination ! With Lisbon 40 mins aways by regular train and quiet beaches even closer Sintra offers not only it's huge charms but variety too ! We travelled everywhere we wanted by public transport without a problem, so why hire a car ??
Bedrooms are a good size with a reasonable size fridge to store your essentials. The cleaning is faultless and every day the room was so tidy for us coming back. As you may have seen elsewhere there is a lovely pool, cute little internet hut and beautiful, spacious gardens. Everything about our stay was faultless (although the gradients in Sintra are difficult, one of the things that make it so beautiful !?) and i would be happy to recommend Casa Do Valle to the world!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank goldenpendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We had a great time at Casa do Valle. We stayed for three nights. Casa do Valle is in a great location - close to the National Palace, just up the hill. Casa do Valle has great views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace.

The price was right and Virpi and Manuel are great. The directions to the Casa do Valle were excellent. I even had the taxi driver from the airport use their directions. The taxi came to 38 euros, with a little bit of traffic.

I highly recommend staying at a B&B, rather than a hotel in Sintra. Virpi was helpful in accommodating me with my gluten free dietary needs. She was great in taking us to get some GF food at a local store so that I had food for my trip. I really appreciated it!

The room was a good size. The room also had water, tea, coffee, biscuits, and a hair dryer (a must for me). The breakfast was great too - continental breakfast. The breakfast was a great way to start our day. I also used the computer in the "little" house to write home to the parents and friends.

We also loved Virpi’s restaurant suggestions: Talhus Restaurant (great food and interesting history of the restaurant!), Dom Pipas (very good, where the locals go), Tavera (touristy, we picked it for lunch) and Xica (trendy place, solid food, and it has live music during the Summer). We also had Port wine at Café Paris (OK place, very touristy, we picked it, of course..). We heard that the Tacho Real is outstanding, but we did not go there due to a large group of people attending the restaurant that night.

In Sintra, we visited the National Palace, Pena Palace, Moorish Castle, Seteais Palace, Regaleira Palace, Monserrate Palace (a must if you have time), Cabo da Roca (Western most part of W. Europe; we took the scenic route to get there, up the hill), and visited the toy museum (OK, if you have time).

We liked staying in Sintra because after the bus tours and day trippers left for the day, we had Sintra to ourselves. We also loved going in the off season (end of Sept / early October). Great time to miss the crowds!

We will return to Sintra and we will stay at the Casa do Valle again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I can' t add much to the previous reviews. They are true, i's a splendid place to stay.
There was the spatious room on the top floor, with a beautiful view on the hill and the castle, the nice garden with the swimming pool and the perfect service of Virpi and her perfect English speaking daughter.
When we asked for harder pillows, we got them immediately (the tempur pillow was a revelation). She gave us driving and parking instructions for Lisbon and represented the perfect combination of privacy and contact with the guests.

If you stay there, we' ll give you three restaurant tips:

Don' t try Café Paris, I got a food poisonning because of their their sardines
Do try the Tulhas restaurant, it's good and cosy, not expensive, but don't forget to refuse the cheese, ham, olives and bread the moment they put it on the table if you don't want it (and you don't want to pay for it).
Do try Tasca do Chico, great fish of the day (with a lot of grilled vegetables), a pleasant atmosphere (image the cast of a Portuguese version of Friens serving you dinner), sitting outside in the historical centre and some evenings enjoy the great guitar player playing jazz standards. We had some wonderful evenings there!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borisGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

You can not go wrong staying here. The room was delightful and well furnished. A great breakfast in your room is available and I wished I had told her I was gluten free as she can accomodate.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyodhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Address: Rua da Paderna N. 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range: $91 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing