We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic, Peaceful and Romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa do Valle
Ranked #2 of 38 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cascais, Portugal
1 review
“Scenic, Peaceful and Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Casa do Valle in Sintra lies in the shadow of Moorish Castles, Princely Mansions and Royal Palaces. The rooms are warm, cozy, well-equipped, clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. The reception we got made us feel at home yet pampered with VIP perks. My wife and I spent my 50th birthday enjoying the hospitality and we do not hesitate recommending this exquisite guest house to travelers looking for a wonderful place to stay in romantic Sintra.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiejfernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Eddie,
Glad you enjoyed your stay here at Casa do Valle, we were happy to have you! Not to disappoint you, but have to say that actually the view is always great, the rooms comfortable and the reception of our guests warm - not just for your birthday. We are thrilled that it made you feel like VIP - that is our aim indeed. We welcome you again, whenever you feel like you need to be pampered with comfort and peaceful scenery, or when you need a romantic break with your wife.
Best regards,
Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    103
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
112
290
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Sintra is a lovely place and Casa do Valle has a wonderful view and warm welcome.
The rooms are very nice and we are given some welcome drinks and snacks! In the morning they bring you breakfast in the room at the exact time you have chosen!
In summer it must be great to be in the pool with such a view.
We have a dog and it's really nice that they accept animals. There is in fact a part of the land that is fenced and wher you can have him walk free (under our surveilance, of course).
Really nice. We will come back when possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofiaa_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello Sofia! Thank you for choosing us and reviewing us. So glad you enjoyed your stay and our accomodation. You enjoyed our warm wlecome in the winter, and as you suggested, the summer scene with the pool is also quite nice. Sintra is great in all seasons, and we do our utmost to show the best of it to our guests all year round. Do come and visit us again and see for yourself.
Kind regards,
Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

A wonderful villa at the footstep of Portugal's most magical mountain. We were very well received and provided with a room featuring a wood heater, wide views of the valley, castle and palace at the top of the mountain. Lovely breakfast served in the room. A perfect winter stay, especially if you get the room with the wood heater. Thanks to everyone at Casa do Valle for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for a nice review - and for choosing us for your winter break. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our accomodation. Breakfast in the room is nice indeed when it's cold outside and you can enjoy it by the fire, with the nice views. Do come again!

Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for a few days in December and couldn't have received a warmer welcome from the owner, Virpi, and her staff. She helped us make alternate travel arrangements when our original plans fell through, and also helped arrange activities for us in the area. She even personally drove us to the bike rental shop, as the downtown location was closed for the season. The rooms are cozy, comfortable, and very clean. We had a wood burning fireplace, balcony, excellent views of the Moorish castle, two complimentary bottles of port and fresh walnuts. Well located within a short walking distance of the downtown shops and restaurants and the bus pickup points for the sights in Sintra. Excellent value. What a wonderful find.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello,

As you know this was a very severe winter. It was nice that you were lucky enough to be able to take the bikes for the day. Glad you enjoyed your stay! We love those wood-burning firesplaces, they give such a nice feeling to a room. And the port and the nuts are nice to warm you up inside when it''s cold outside. The views have been spectacular this winter with the mist on the mountain, it makes everything so mystical!

Thank you for reviewing us, and for choosing us as your accomodation in Sintra!

Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Casa do Valle. We were originally booked to stay at another location. upon arrival it turned out that they were having renovation delays and asked if we minded going to stay at Casa do Valle. we were very happy for the change. our room was private, had a great view of the valley. the breakfast was excellent, the staff was very accommodating with my Gluten Allergy and provided excellent Gluten free bread in the morning. We look forward to going back to stay at Casa do valle. Thank you to Virpi and her staff for providing us with a wonderful stay and experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello,

I am glad you did not mind being 'transferred' to our accomodation, we enjoyed having you here! As food allergies are becoming increasingly common we do have gluten free and lactose free options as well, and are always glad when they are enjoyed by our guests,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We came for an extended weekend and had a wonderful time. Great views, a cozy room with a small fireplace, and the nicest possible service by Virpi made our stay a quite enjoyable one. Casa do Valle comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMPimentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us!

Glad you enjoyed the small fireplace - in a winter like this we are so happy we installed them as they keep the air not only warm but dry as well. Like you said, it makes the room cozy!

Hope to see you here again, Best regards,
Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dardago, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here in Feb and had a wonderful one day/night experience. Virpi is truly what is still great about traveling this world. She was so kind and invited us on an early morning hike. We enjoyed learning about the area, history and recommendations for further travel. The Casa do Valle has amazing views and the rooms are just awesome. We absolutely loved our stay and experience even during a heavy rain storm it was such a fantastic place to stay. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast in our room while Viripi so kindly offered to dry off our clothes from the Forrest Shower hike.
Do your self a favor and book a room at the Casa do Valle---you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello Michael,

Thank you for your review! What a month you chose to come and visit us! It has been the rainiest winter in over 70 years. I am so glad it did not stop you though, and you still were enjoying the best that Sintra has to offer: nature and culture and history. Drying your clothes after the hike is the least I could do for the great company you were!
Hope to see you here again - even if you were to come in the middle of the summer, you would still find our nature green and lush.

Best regards to you both in Italy,

Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
0.4 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Property: Casa do Valle
Address: Rua da Paderna N. 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing