We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa do Valle
Ranked #2 of 44 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here in Feb and had a wonderful one day/night experience. Virpi is truly what is still great about traveling this world. She was so kind and invited us on an early morning hike. We enjoyed learning about the area, history and recommendations for further travel. The Casa do Valle has amazing views and the rooms are just awesome. We absolutely loved our stay and experience even during a heavy rain storm it was such a fantastic place to stay. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast in our room while Viripi so kindly offered to dry off our clothes from the Forrest Shower hike.
Do your self a favor and book a room at the Casa do Valle---you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Hello Michael,

Thank you for your review! What a month you chose to come and visit us! It has been the rainiest winter in over 70 years. I am so glad it did not stop you though, and you still were enjoying the best that Sintra has to offer: nature and culture and history. Drying your clothes after the hike is the least I could do for the great company you were!
Hope to see you here again - even if you were to come in the middle of the summer, you would still find our nature green and lush.

Best regards to you both in Italy,

Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 572 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

I think everyone is exaggerating at most.
Yes - the views and the place are lovely, But..

* We came in february, it was raining and there are a lot of stairs so it was very hard to take our luggage with us
* The rooms were -cold- at night, and the small radiator kindly provided did not quite help
* Bathroom wasn't clean enough, and had quite a few small spiders on the wall.
* Mattress was really uncomfortable.

So - Again, nothing spectacular. The host was very nice.

Room Tip: Garden room was so-so
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhisperEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hello and thank you for your review.

I hope that your trip to the Algarve went well and you are getting days without rain, which, I understood, was your objective. This February has been exceptionally rainy, to the point that water just sits on the lawn and flowerbeds and is not being absorbed.

I am sorry that you were not so happy with your accomodation - quite a different review from what you said to us personally. In any case, I am sorry that you found that the room was not warm enough, It is true that we do not keep all of the rooms heated all the time in the low season, and when we get reservations like yours for the same day, maybe there was not enough time for the heater to warm up the walls. For this I apologize.

It was also a shame that the mattress was not to your liking. We actually get many comments very different from yours about the beds, people wanting to find out where to buy these mattrases for home, as they slept so well. But that is ofcourse a very personal matter,

Maybe you should indeed come again in the summer like you were suggesting, to see Sintra without the rain and with temperatures that you are more used to.

Best regards,

Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

A long overdue review. We stayed at Casa do Valle in the offseason (November) and it couldn't have been better. Virpi was AWESOME and had great recommendations for sights, wine, and places to eat. The location if the B&B was perfect, a short walk to the main square and many of the amazing places to visit. Virpi always restocked our wood supply and had a roaring fire going in our wood burning stove when we returned, which was so nice. We loved sitting on our porch and looking at the foggy Sintra countryside while having wine and cheese on our porch; it really was like a fairy tale.

As an aside, we both thought visiting in the offseason was perfect because there were hardly any crowds at the different castles and sights = epic photos. We ended up extending our stay and staying longer because everything was so perfect. We still talk about this vacation and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vudores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Manager at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hello - and thank you for reviewing us! I am glad that you were happy with your trip and choice of season. Winter is a bit tricky here - can be gorgeous and can be rainy, As long as you come prepared for either, you are fine - like you seemed to be.

We acquired a few of those woodburning stoves you had in your room this year, and I must say that they have been great! Thye heat the room quickly and get rid of any trace of humidity, Glad you liked them. One never knows!

Pleased to know that your trip to SIntra now is a fond memory. You should definately come another time too to see the difference!

Best regards,
Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed at Casa do Valle for a week during October 2013, along with a big group of family and friends. The view and grounds at Casa do Valle are amazing, you get a whole view of the valley and castles (on a clear day), and the terrace is such a beautiful place to relax and enjoy breakfast. Virpi and Patricia were fantastic hosts, and couldn't do enough for us and our guests. We had our wedding in Sintra during that week, and Virpi and Patrica helped with arranging steaming, nail appointments, taxis, massages, ironing, restaurant bookings, sightseeing, even Yoga! Virpi arranged for the group of us to do a Yoga class outside on the lawn at Casa do Valle on the morning on my wedding - I couldn't have asked for a more perfect start to a perfect day. When taxi's were late arriving to pick up our guests, Virpi even drove our guests to our wedding and made sure that everyone arrived safely and on time!
The grounds at Casa do Valle are so relaxing, it was great being able to laze by the pool (they have a sauna now too) and enjoy the view. Breakfast was delicious, with a selection of homemade jams, fresh fruit, bread, ham, cheese & coffee and tea. Wifi was also great quality, with a connection in your room. The whole experience was way beyond our imagination - if you are getting married in Sintra or are travelling as a group, or even just looking for a relaxing and quiet spot close to town to enjoy Sintra, then this is definitely the place for you. We are counting down the days when we can go back to Casa do Valle and experience the magic of Sintra again.

Room Tip: Casa da Vista rooms have access to the terrace, whereas case do valle rooms are closer to the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardoamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Eduardo,
Thank you for reviewing us! It was our pleasure to host you and your family and friends. To see a group of friends prepare for the big day was wonderful, and being able to help with the small details such as nails, hair, transportation, ironing... all made it so much more exciting for us as well. We look forward to having you visit us again, who knows, maybe to celebrate your anniversary!
All the best, Virpi and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed for one night at this B&B, located 10 mins from the city centre, steep climb but that is unavoidable in Sintra. Great view on the palaces from your room. We received a very friendly welcome by the owners and staff, made us feel at home. When we arrived there were complementary small bottles of Port and some nuts in our room. The room was rather small but big enough with a brand new wood stove, bathroom was a bit chilly and dark but clean. Wi-Fi, internet room, books and games available. TV in your room only on request. Breakfast is ok, not too many choices but good. You can only have it in your room so you can choose: eat on your terrace, at your table in the room... or stay in bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hello, and thank you for reviewing us at Casa do Valle. We are happy that you enjoyed your room, the location and the views to the palaces. We are happy that you also liked the woodburning stove and the wine and nuts - all there to make you feel cozy and warm when it's cold outside.

Best regards, Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We are a couple in out sixties. We participated in a week-long hikingtrip in October, in the beautiful old centre of Sintra and its surroundings. We stayed at Casa do Valle, which is situated near the centre of Sintra. Due to its location and facilities (spacious and comfortable rooms, terraces, swimmingpool and a sauna) it suited our needs perfectly. The staff and hostess Virpi were able to meet all our needs for a week of hiking. Their dogs Pandora and Viiri also befriended us. As we returned to Finland a though kept recurring - this is a place we want to return to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

A warm greeting to both of you from a cool but sunny and beautiful Sintra!
Thank you for your nice review and for choosing to come to Casa do Valle on your hiking trip. We are glad that our services and surroundings were pleasing to you. A thought keeps reocurring to me too - I do think that you should return to Sintra and Casa do Valle!
Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I spent a week at the Casa do Valle in Sintra at the beginning of November 2013 and I will say that this place was perfect. I received a warm wellcome from Patricia and Virpi. Casa do Valle is close to the town. The room was very comfortable with really great views of the castle and place. Patricia and Virpi were exceptionally helpful with good advice about Sintra and walks in the area near the town. It was fantastic to have good breakfast outside at the pool every morning. I will really recommend this place in Sintra.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Reijo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you Reijo! Glad you liked the breakfast and the breakfast arrangement by the pool. Not having a restaurant is always a challenge, and we were happy to serve the breakfast by the pool for you. Even in late October you were lucky with the weather - that is usually the best of times for walking: not too hot and the days are often clear and cool.
I will give your greetings to Patricia!
Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Address: Rua da Paderna N. 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range: $81 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing