We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommend++”
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa do Valle
Ranked #2 of 42 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I don't usually take the time to review, but Casa do Valle is worth a visit. Great views from our room and every day we had a leisurely breakfast on the deck. We would have made more use of the pool if we had not been so busy. It's a good place to relax, gardens and pool are well maintained, staff very helpful for any arrangements you needed. I would definitely stay here again.
It is a 10 minute walk uphill (max) to the centre of Sintra
DW Dublin

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Hello! Greetings from the place with the view - so glad you it and the house and the deck as well! I am a bit like you now, too busy to enjoy it all with many places to see and things to do. But it is all here in the winter, too, when the life is less busy! You should come again then to relax - too cold for the pool , but the weather is great for walking then, and normally the temperatures in the daytime are 10-18º, and about 4-10º at night.

Maybe we will see you then?!

Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Casa do Valle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 554 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

i will start by saying i have stayed in many beautiful hotels all around the world and i have thought about writing great reviews but never stopped to take the time!!!
However this very simply all you could possibly want and more hotel Casa do Valle quickly changed that!!!
In the perfect location just a short walking distance from the heart of Sintra, this beuatiful house with not too many guests, yet a fun athmosphere for all ages, with the most helpful staff and fresh home made strawberry ice tea by the pool each evening ... is situated! The views are also out of this world.
I didn't have any meals there because as i was away with such a large group we had dinner plans else where everyday, but we did however eat in 3 restaurants suggested by the staff in Casa do valle and each was delightful as they had said!
At a very reasonable price and after visiting many other hotels in Sintra as my friends and family were staying all around, I would strongly suggest that you stay here, and if i ever return i will do the same!! enjoy ur holiday!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hello - So very glad that you enjoyed it here in Sintra and at Casa do Valle!

Sintra has many nice restaurants and we happily recommend the ones we know are of good quality. Normally, our guests also enjoy them - and I am glad that you did too!
And I am extremely glad that you enjoyed our house, the views, the staff and the service.

Thank you for reviewing us - I am pleased that you did take the time, for the benefit of other travelers!

All the best to you in Dublin - maybe we will see you again another time?

Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay late June into August 2013. Patricia was wonderful helping with any and all requests.
Sintra is a stunning place and EVERY visitor to Portugal should go there. Casa do Valle is the perfect place to take it all in and create memories of a lifetime,
l thoroughly recommend both Sintra and this beautiful place to stay. The hill is not a big walk and the town is gorgeous....the views from Casa do Valle are outstanding. We stayed downstairs in the older part. lt was a great room, internet access and the pool just a minutes walk outside the door.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hello Andrea - we definately agree with you about Sintra being so wonderful that everyone should visit here! You can do so many things here - or nothing at all and relax!

Patricia will be very happy about your comments, and I as the owner am too! Our team of collaboraters works quite well together. We all try to do our best so that our guests will have a wonderful stay.

Thank you again for choosing us and thank you for a nice review.

Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been in Casa do Valle at the beginning of June. It was really an amazing stay! That's a pity only we were not very lucky with weather and could not enjoy the swimming pool with the magnificient view. But the view from our room was as well incredible-even not going out from the bad we could see the custles of Sintra! The hostess Patricia was wery welcoming and she made everything to make our stay in this hotel unforgettable! ) The room was even better trhan at the picture-very clean, romantic and light, with a nice terrace were we could take our breakfast. The is everything that you need and more in this hotel. When we are back to Sintra we'll stay only in Casa do Valle)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nata L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing us! We are very glad that your stay was agreeable dispite the weather. But Sintra is in fact charming in any weather.

It is good that you found Patricia welcoming and efficient, I will be sure to let her know that. Also I am pleased that the rooms were better to you than in the site - a nice surprise is always good!

Best regards to you to Paris,

Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in Casa da Vistas for just one night on our trip to Sintra. As it was high season the Casa was fully booked and only the Suite was available. For a B&B 120 EUR is quite expensive and usually the breakfast would have been 12 EUR extra, but Virpi included the brekkie for us, which was a nice move. Check-in was good, Virpi showed us around her property and explained everything well. A nice touch is the internet barn, where you find a book 'from guest 2 guest' with tipps for Sintra, what to visit and where to eat. Great idea.
Breakfast is served in the morning directly to your room in a basket - great service.
The rooms are modern but 100% Ikea designed (e.g. typical ikea mattress, not very comfy) therefore missing a bit of personality.
Overall we would recommend to stay, but expected a bit more for the price paid.

Room Tip: The Casa da Vista rooms are more modern and privat. The extra cost of the suite does not pay of. Onl...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2WorldtravellersSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Hello,

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa do Valle. The guest to guest book has indeed come in handy as many prefer getting recommendations for restaurants rather than just trying one out and hoping it will be good.

You stayed in the suite, which, as you mentioned, was not exactly what you were looking for. As you mentioned, it does make sense though for when the sofa-bed is needed - or the kitchenette, like for longer than your one-night stay or with families with smaller chidren. Or those who prefer selfcatering, even for breakfast. Glad that the breakfast offer was appreciated!

On another note, I am sorry that you did not like the bed! We have had many guests asking us for the specifications of the mattrasses afterwards especially because they have slept so well in them. Sorry this was not your case!

Best regards,

Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were in Sintra for only two nights for a friend's wedding - the venue was only in walking distance from the B&B.

It was a quiet tucked away place - which we like and our room was simply lovely. Amazing views and yummy simple breakfast served in your room. Room was a great size, bathroom clean and everything you needed.

Staff really helpful and nothing too much.

We will definitely return - it was a flying trip, but memorable place to stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenn_Steve_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Hi there - and thank you for your nice review! It seems to capture everything we strive for - clean, simple but nice accomodation, good service and tasty breakfast. The closeness to the Historical Center is a plus - walking distance or a cheap taxi drive away to most everywhere.

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Please do come again, this time with more time to explore the surroundings.

Best regards,

Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Quiet place, people were really nice to us even though I was travelling with kids. Would definitively recommend and stay there again. Excellent breakfast. Excellent location. Would love to have had a tv although it was not something we terribly missed.

Room Tip: No children or fitmess centre
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernaka f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Hello - we are glad that you and your chikdren stayed with us at Casa do Valle, and also that you enjoyed our place and our breakfast.

Regarding the TV: We actually do have a central antena and TVs for all the rooms available, with around 80 national and international channels. The TVs are not permanently in the rooms, as many of our guests prefer not to even see them. Many say that if they see a TV in the room, they automatically turn it on, which takes from the relaxation and break from the everyday routines that they come to loók for at Casa do Valle. The possibility of asking for the TV is mentioned in the guest information book which is in all the rooms. Your comment has made it obvious though that many of guests do not notice it, so from now on, we will make sure that this information is clear to all guests. Thank you for pointing it out to us!

Best regards,

Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#7 of 42 in Sintra
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Address: Rua da Paderna N. 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range: $82 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing