We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing and so welcoming”
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa do Valle
Ranked #3 of 42 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing and so welcoming”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to Caso de valle and again we had a wonderful time . We stayed in the garden room which was peaceful and comfortable . Vipri was so welcoming, fun and helpful . We had a week of sunshine , were able to enjoy the pool and the beautiful garden . We hope to return !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyra186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for staying with us already a second time - we are glad you had enjoyed it so much that you wanted to come back! It gets us very happy when someone feels that our place is great for relaxation. And you were so lucky with the weather, after a very rainy winter. Hopefully we will see you yet another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    109
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
115
302
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vigo, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Casa da Vista with our two children for four days at the end of March. We loved everyhting about it. The suite was very comfy, clean and perfect for our family. It opened onto a large terrace / deck with a fabulous view of the mountain and the castles. The place is very peaceful and relaxing and it's only a 5-minute walk to Sintra's historic centre. In my opinion, a much nicer location to stay at than the very centre, rather too busy with its load of coaches. The kids loved playing around the large garden with its lovely nooks and crannies. We enjoyed the healthy and yet delicious breakfasts with fresh strawberries, melon, grapes and yummy bread). On Easter Sunday we got an excellent surprise : We were offered Easter bunnies and eggs in the breakfast basket.
Virpi and her staff are very pleasant, helpful and will give you good tips if you ask.

Don't just stay one or two nights because you will be sad to leave so soon. Sintra is worth staying a little longer : there are plenty of magnificents sights to see, walks in the parks or the forest, beautiful photos to take everywhere.
Virpi the owner writes a very interesting blog on Sintra and the surroundings, what to do and see.
We've decided to go back to Casa da Vista very soon ! Perfect place !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainousMumuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Mountainous Mom! Glad you and your family enjoyed your visit here! I so agree with you about the amount of days needed to visit SIntra. If you only have 1 or 2 days, as there is so much to see, you have to do a lot of choosing what to see. Of course, then there is that 'I have to come back' it, but so often people do not have the chance to do that.

Hope that there is still a lot for you and the boys to see when you come back - do keep checking the blog, I will be adding summer venues soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were looking for a place for a quiet place, just to rest and relax and enjoy the nature. And we sure found it. The room was very comfortable, warm and beautiful, Virpi is very nice and helpful, and we were able to rest, sleep a lot and do a little bit of exploring around Sintra. We recomend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virpideoliveira, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Google Translation
Olá Marta!

Obrigada pela sua visita - ainda bem que gostou da sua visita em Sintra e Casa do Valle! Ficamos contentes que conseguiu aqui relaxar, uma coisa que hoje em dia cada vez é mais importante. Esteja atenta para os nossos novos pacotes que brevemente vamos anunciar, que ajudam os nossos convidados cada vez mais desfrutarem da natureza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed the room very much. In particular, the shower. We never had such a fantastic shower. Never the less, because of the wheather condition we couldn`t enjoy the garden and the swimmingpool. And we had a wondeful view from our room. We could see the Moorse caste and I believe Monserate palace. It took us about 10 minutes to clime to the historical centre of Sintra.
For us it was not so important, but a breakfast included the price would have been nice!
But we will certainly recommend the location!

Room Tip: I don`t know, but think all the rooms are nice, we stayed uin the new part of Case do Valle
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Quiny - The view of Casa da Vista is great from the rooms in fact! Glad you enjoyed it. You can see the Moorish Castle, the Pena Palace and Quinta da Regaleira, as well as the lights of Seteais Palace from the terrace. And of course the sheep across the valley, and the kiwi plantation, too!

The breakfast is not included in the room price, as there are many people who prefer not having any - and therefore prefer not paying for it. Sintra is full of great pastry shops, and many Sintra visitors already come planning to go to one of them for breakfast - so you can rent the room with or without breakfast. We try to make it clear when poeople make the reservation, so that there is no surprise about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I just stayed at Casa da Vista with my two adult children. We thought the room was spacious, very clean and the beds were comfortable. Bathroom was modern and we were supplied well with big towels. Our room had a fridge, coffee maker...all the amenities we needed. Unfortunately it was raining so we didn't get to try the pool....but it looked nice. However, even in the rain, the view from our deck was spectacular. We could see three castles (which we visited the next day) and the landscape was nothing short of dreamy. Sintra has a lot to offer in history and charm and we had a wonderful time. Our hosts were extremely helpful in every way and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Bring your hiking shoes - lots of hills and cobblestone, but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello - and thank you for visiting us! It was indeed a rainy time - but it seems we had an unfortunately rainy winter all together. Yet, I am glad you enjoyed your room and views. There is something misterious about the mountain right after the rain when the mist rises and forms a small cloud that sits on the mountain for a shile. The colors are enhanced and the fresh scent of the pine, eucalyptus and pithosporum now in the spring are great!

Believe or not, people have already been swimming in the pool - no, it is not heated, but it was too inviting looking for some brave North European tourists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in the suite for three nights and were quite pleased with the accommodations. The suite had a bedroom and small kitchen/living room. Both rooms opened up to the deck. We were there during a big rain storm the first night and we were the only guests for the three nights we were there. January is the rainy season in Portugal. The view from the deck is outstanding and the B&B is only a short walk to the center of Sintra. There is also a computer with internet access in a giant doll house on the property.

The only down side (besides the weather) was that there is really no place to park. We parked on the street outside, but it is so narrow that we were concerned that our car might be damaged. However, this side street is rarely used so we were OK.

Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello,

You did indeed experience nature at its wildest when you were here! We have had an unusual wet and windy winter and still now in April it is not as warm as it should be. However, it is comfortable in the rooms, even when its raining.

Regarding the parking - the road is quite safe but it is narrow, and for those people who are not used to narrow conditions, it can be worrying. My car is always parked in the street - it is a jeep and has never had any incidents while parked out there. In any case, we have just started little works to allow for parking inside the property as well. Though not as close to the rooms as the road parking, if you would rather not park in the street, it will be an option in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I spent a long weekend (3 nights) at Casa da Vista in the suite and fell in love with it. There is a spacious nicely decorated room with a separate living room, fully equipped kitchenette (with quality items), a cozy bathroom where you can even light up candles! Everything is thought of. There is cable tv, two internet connections and a view. Open the curtains and the view on the valley and Pena Palace are breathtaking. It is silent, comfortable and all details taken care of. Something you need? The owner is there, always happy to exceed your expectations. Ours were, as usual, as we've been loyal guests for many years now since Casa do Valle opened :) We can't wait to go back. And as we were there in February, we could not believe how great the weather was. It's the perfect place when you want to escape a winter weekend!

Room Tip: Book in advance as this place is becoming very popular. All rooms are great, and you can also rent f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello Roberta,

Thank you for a lovely review - glad that you enjoyed Casa da Vista after your Casa do Valle experiences. The view is indeed a relaxing one, and you can keep up with 'the real world' through Tv and Wifi.

Hope we can host you yet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#7 of 42 in Sintra
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Property: Casa do Valle
Address: Rua da Paderna N. 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing