We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable”
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa do Valle
Ranked #2 of 41 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were looking for a place for a quiet place, just to rest and relax and enjoy the nature. And we sure found it. The room was very comfortable, warm and beautiful, Virpi is very nice and helpful, and we were able to rest, sleep a lot and do a little bit of exploring around Sintra. We recomend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virpideoliveira, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Google Translation
Olá Marta!

Obrigada pela sua visita - ainda bem que gostou da sua visita em Sintra e Casa do Valle! Ficamos contentes que conseguiu aqui relaxar, uma coisa que hoje em dia cada vez é mais importante. Esteja atenta para os nossos novos pacotes que brevemente vamos anunciar, que ajudam os nossos convidados cada vez mais desfrutarem da natureza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    109
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
115
302
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed the room very much. In particular, the shower. We never had such a fantastic shower. Never the less, because of the wheather condition we couldn`t enjoy the garden and the swimmingpool. And we had a wondeful view from our room. We could see the Moorse caste and I believe Monserate palace. It took us about 10 minutes to clime to the historical centre of Sintra.
For us it was not so important, but a breakfast included the price would have been nice!
But we will certainly recommend the location!

Room Tip: I don`t know, but think all the rooms are nice, we stayed uin the new part of Case do Valle
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Quiny - The view of Casa da Vista is great from the rooms in fact! Glad you enjoyed it. You can see the Moorish Castle, the Pena Palace and Quinta da Regaleira, as well as the lights of Seteais Palace from the terrace. And of course the sheep across the valley, and the kiwi plantation, too!

The breakfast is not included in the room price, as there are many people who prefer not having any - and therefore prefer not paying for it. Sintra is full of great pastry shops, and many Sintra visitors already come planning to go to one of them for breakfast - so you can rent the room with or without breakfast. We try to make it clear when poeople make the reservation, so that there is no surprise about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I just stayed at Casa da Vista with my two adult children. We thought the room was spacious, very clean and the beds were comfortable. Bathroom was modern and we were supplied well with big towels. Our room had a fridge, coffee maker...all the amenities we needed. Unfortunately it was raining so we didn't get to try the pool....but it looked nice. However, even in the rain, the view from our deck was spectacular. We could see three castles (which we visited the next day) and the landscape was nothing short of dreamy. Sintra has a lot to offer in history and charm and we had a wonderful time. Our hosts were extremely helpful in every way and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Bring your hiking shoes - lots of hills and cobblestone, but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello - and thank you for visiting us! It was indeed a rainy time - but it seems we had an unfortunately rainy winter all together. Yet, I am glad you enjoyed your room and views. There is something misterious about the mountain right after the rain when the mist rises and forms a small cloud that sits on the mountain for a shile. The colors are enhanced and the fresh scent of the pine, eucalyptus and pithosporum now in the spring are great!

Believe or not, people have already been swimming in the pool - no, it is not heated, but it was too inviting looking for some brave North European tourists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in the suite for three nights and were quite pleased with the accommodations. The suite had a bedroom and small kitchen/living room. Both rooms opened up to the deck. We were there during a big rain storm the first night and we were the only guests for the three nights we were there. January is the rainy season in Portugal. The view from the deck is outstanding and the B&B is only a short walk to the center of Sintra. There is also a computer with internet access in a giant doll house on the property.

The only down side (besides the weather) was that there is really no place to park. We parked on the street outside, but it is so narrow that we were concerned that our car might be damaged. However, this side street is rarely used so we were OK.

Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello,

You did indeed experience nature at its wildest when you were here! We have had an unusual wet and windy winter and still now in April it is not as warm as it should be. However, it is comfortable in the rooms, even when its raining.

Regarding the parking - the road is quite safe but it is narrow, and for those people who are not used to narrow conditions, it can be worrying. My car is always parked in the street - it is a jeep and has never had any incidents while parked out there. In any case, we have just started little works to allow for parking inside the property as well. Though not as close to the rooms as the road parking, if you would rather not park in the street, it will be an option in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I spent a long weekend (3 nights) at Casa da Vista in the suite and fell in love with it. There is a spacious nicely decorated room with a separate living room, fully equipped kitchenette (with quality items), a cozy bathroom where you can even light up candles! Everything is thought of. There is cable tv, two internet connections and a view. Open the curtains and the view on the valley and Pena Palace are breathtaking. It is silent, comfortable and all details taken care of. Something you need? The owner is there, always happy to exceed your expectations. Ours were, as usual, as we've been loyal guests for many years now since Casa do Valle opened :) We can't wait to go back. And as we were there in February, we could not believe how great the weather was. It's the perfect place when you want to escape a winter weekend!

Room Tip: Book in advance as this place is becoming very popular. All rooms are great, and you can also rent f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello Roberta,

Thank you for a lovely review - glad that you enjoyed Casa da Vista after your Casa do Valle experiences. The view is indeed a relaxing one, and you can keep up with 'the real world' through Tv and Wifi.

Hope we can host you yet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our 4-day stay in Sintra was a great way to end our month's travel in Europe. We didn't know much about Sintra but family highly recommended it, and now we know why!! It is a gem of a place! Very beautiful, and rich in history. But Casa do Valle is also a real gem. It is a very comfortable and well maintained B&B, in a great location. And Vipri is an outstanding, gracious hostess. Her passion for Sintra and hospitality is very evident; she is extremely helpful in giving tourist advice and making one's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We would love to return during warmer weather (visited in January) to enjoy the pool, garden and terrace. Martha

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Martha,

Thank you for reviewing us. I am really glad that you enjoyed Sintra and your stay with us! You might also enjoy summer, like you said - it is quite different here in the summer. It is true that you can then enjoy the pool and the terrace in a different way. Though the city and attractions are full of people, it is always calm here at Casa do Valle. Maybe we will see you again, then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Highlights - Virpi's helpful recommendation for a hike through the beautiful wooded mountains up to the Cruz Alta above Pena Palace was one highlight of our Portugal trip. The secluded view from the porch up to the misty Sintra hillsides was also memorable.
Some tips: Casa da Vista adjoins Casa de Valle (same owner, separate websites) and you should walk up the hill to Casa de Valle to check in if your taxi driver delivers you to Casa da Vista. Though the website implies that walking from the train station is not difficult, we were glad we opted for a taxi, and we're mobile, avid hikers. There are few sidewalks and in places it is hard to escape with your luggage from fast cars. We purchased a good breakfast from Virpi that was delivered to our room, but missed the opportunity we enjoyed in other places across Portugal (even in the off season) to share a generous included breakfast with other travelers. Finally, our room was large and comfortable, but somewhat IKEA stark - you could not tell you were in Portugal. And we make these minor complaints only because of the contrast with the other places we stayed in Portugal. With these minor comments, we do recommend Casa da Vista, particularly as a place for families or groups that need several rooms (and a pool).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcccward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello - Thank you so much for reviewing us! It seems you had a good time with us in Sintra, and that is good.
Sintra is an old town half way up the mountain. Luckily it has remained very close to what it used to be - this means colorful close-together buildings in the center, cobblestone streets - and narrow, winding, curvy roads. That is why we suggest on our site that if you come by train you take a taxi to Casa do Valle (When travelling with luggage it is easiest to catch a taxi from the station. In fact, there is a taxi stop right on front of the station'). The sidewalks are narrow and sometimes non-existent, and the terraine is indeed hilly.
The choice of not using typically Portuguese furniture is conscious. The standard Portuguese bed width for 2 people is 140cms. We wish our clients, mainly non-portuguese people, to have a goodnight sleep in a wider bed - for which reason we opted having beds that are larger, and consequently not standard Portuguese. We also feel that the traditional dark and very worked wood would not go so well with the tall ceilings and light, wooden floors. Our furniture is bought from Ikea, as you suggested, but also from Zara Home and Gato Preto.
We do not have a restaurant at Casa do Valle / Casa da Vista - yet we do serve breakfast. Thus the option of taking the breakfast to the rooms. We have found that most people enjoy not having to look at their best at breakfast time and having a leisurely, long breakfast as they plan their day and get prepared in their rooms. It is true that it does not give a good chance at the same time to meet with other guests. This is one of the reasons why the pool-area becomes very popular in the afternoons, as people gather and exchange information as they relax - and why we encourage this exchange by, in the summer months, serving complementary tea and cakes by the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#8 of 41 in Sintra
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Property: Casa do Valle
Address: Rua da Paderna N. 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing