We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa do Valle
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$109
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Lisboa Sintra(Sintra)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pestana Sintra Golf(Sintra)(Great Value!)
$112
$100
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$322
$293
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$612
$573
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Nova Sintra(Sintra)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveler rating
438
118
24
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
118
24
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgreat danesgarden roommoorish castlepena palaceswimming poolsteep walkowners and staffeach morningwalk into townbeautiful viewlovely poolthoroughly enjoyed our staybeautiful place to staybeautiful sintrahistoric centerfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 585 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We spent 8 nights with our 12-year old boy in Casa Da Vista suite in June/july 2012.The suite was clean, nice and the kitchnette was very useful. It was very relaxing sitting on the deck with so beautiful view and enjoying tasty breakfast or cool wine in the evening after visiting Sintra's great sightseeing spots. We arrived late in the evening and knew that there is not a restaurant in this B&B, so we ordered beforehand Virpi's delicious cheese and ham plate with a bottle of wine. A perfect way to start a holiday ! We also had massage in the room during wellness week and had a tour on the coast with JP´s convertible BMW at a reasonably price (arranged by Virpi).

We had all in all marvellous time in Sintra and Casa da Vista and will recommend this B&B to everyone - except maybe to those with bad legs... to those Casa do Valle (a beautiful house in the same yard, same owners) would suit better.

We wish a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to Virpi and her family and to all visitors of Casa da Vista !

Pirjo, Jussi and Mikko from Finland

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PirjoLahti_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Happy New Year to all of you, too! We started ours on the deck you were talking about, sipping a sparklling green wine!
The wellness theme will continue next summer as well - it was so well received, just like the portuguese tastes. The massages can be had all year around though, not just during the theme periods,
Glad you enjoyed the visit of SIntra and surroundings with JP - we have several options to choose from if you wish to explore the area accompanied.

Best wishes from Sintra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately our trip to Sintra was only one night, but Casa do Valle was a comfortable place to base ourselves.

The room was comfortable with an amazing shower, the wifi was reliable and the owner made us feel at home.

It's a little far from the station to walk with bags, so you might want to get a cab. The cabs are cheap, so it should only cost a few euro.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Hello - it is a shame indeed that you only had one night- there is plenty to do and see here in Sintra.
Glad you enjoyed the shower, a nice warm shower after a day of exploring does wonders. And the WiFi is really important to stay in touch. We try to make sure the signal is strong everywhere.
Regarding the taxis- from the station to here is a bit less than euros in fact, so no, it is not too costly.
Thank you again for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you have never been to Sintra, don't hesitate because its a wonderfull place to be specially in the autumn but CASA DO VALLE is definitely the place to stay in Sintra, for its wonderfull view from this wonderfull and beautifully located house, beautifully and tastefully decorated and set up, with all the comfort and equipments and ... above all, a wonderfull land lady who is so helpfull and nice you will never forget about all she does to make your holiday as memorable as it could be. She knows all good restaurants and cafe's but also where and how you should walk or take a bus and everything helpfull you can imagine a hostess can do for you! Excellllent place! Viva CASA DE !

Room Tip: Depends on you but we enjoyed the garden room we had choosen.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Hello - and thank you for such a nice comment. We are happy that you liked it here in Sintra. Our winter is like your autumn, for sure! It is my pleasure to show the best of my home town to our guests, and as I do walk alot, I always find the new routes on the mountain. It does make a difference when you know which way to go.

Also it is always important that our guest-to-guest book is updated. That is truly the best way to see what restaurants are recommended and not!
Hope to see you again here with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here largely based on the positive TA reviews and were not disappointed. We had one of the rooms right off the main entrance, and it was large, with a nice garden view and very private. Bedding was comfortable so we got deep, much needed sleep after trekking around to the castles etc (by the way, Sintra is not to be missed for thoses coming to Portugal). The pool and the grounds seemed nice, but we had zero time to enjoy as were so busy exploring,so cannot comment about them as other guests have done. We enjoyed our stay in town, and in this property.

Now for the advice. Come with a good local map and study it carefully. We had a GPS during our trip, and despite that we had difficulty finding this hotel. I believe the hills might have been interfering with the GPS signal. In any case, the roads are very steep, very narrow, and very windy around the property, and there are no street names for the most part. We finally did find the Casa.

When we checked in, only the maid was there. We wanted to walk into town, but since the maid does not speak English, she could not really help us. She pointed in the direction, and armed with our hand held GPS, off we went. We walked up and down several steep hills for about 30 minutes before hitting the town. Later, when we spoke to the owner, she gave us clearer directions that made it a ver simple 5 minute uphill walk!! (Perhaps the owner can print out a simple map with walking directions to town that the maid can give to guests during he owner's absence?).

Anyway, if you come better prepared than us, you will thoroughly enjoy this charming town and charming B&B.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Hi there! Thank you for your review. One must indeed be prepared for Sintra's gorgeous but mountainous terrain. New hiking trails are being opened monthly and there is a lot to see both in nature and in monuments. The street names are usually on a non-traditional placards made of tiles - and many do not realize what they are.

We are a small B&B, with check-out until 11 am and check-in after 2 pm. During the 3 hours that are there in between the two, I the owner, go shopping, to the bank, city hall, tourism office... Unfortunately not all of our maids are fluent in English - so if you happen to arrive before the normal check-in time, during the time I am not here, it is unfortunate, but you may catch a non-English-speaking maid. We are working on it, and our maids do have English training. Just sorry that it caused you inconvenience. We do have printed Sintra maps available in various languages. I will make it a point that our maids offer one, with our localization marked on them, to every visitor, even if they don't have a common language. Thank you so much for your comment, it will help the next guests for sure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a lovely place .. beautiful Sintra filled with charming old streets lovely gardens and fairytale castles! I was made to feel so welcome at Casa do Valle, and having my delicious breakfast sitting on my balcony listening to the birds singing and watching the castles emerge from the morning mist was truly magical. Vipri was so kind and her big friendly dog was so sweet, it was one of the nicest experiences of my Portugal trip. I will certainly recommend this place to my friends and anyone visiting Portugal

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

I am glad that you felt welcomed! It is indeed important to us that our guests feel comfortable here. The morning mist that you mentioned is one of my favourite things about Sintra - it makes the mountain magical and unique when the mist rises and the colours get stronger - especially now in the autumn. Also glad you enjoyed your breakfast; most people do enjoy the freshly baked breads and freshly brewed coffee, fresh fruits and locally made jams. Pandora and I are sending you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews