We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel home here and you will miss it!”
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa do Valle
Ranked #2 of 42 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you have never been to Sintra, don't hesitate because its a wonderfull place to be specially in the autumn but CASA DO VALLE is definitely the place to stay in Sintra, for its wonderfull view from this wonderfull and beautifully located house, beautifully and tastefully decorated and set up, with all the comfort and equipments and ... above all, a wonderfull land lady who is so helpfull and nice you will never forget about all she does to make your holiday as memorable as it could be. She knows all good restaurants and cafe's but also where and how you should walk or take a bus and everything helpfull you can imagine a hostess can do for you! Excellllent place! Viva CASA DE !

Room Tip: Depends on you but we enjoyed the garden room we had choosen.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Hello - and thank you for such a nice comment. We are happy that you liked it here in Sintra. Our winter is like your autumn, for sure! It is my pleasure to show the best of my home town to our guests, and as I do walk alot, I always find the new routes on the mountain. It does make a difference when you know which way to go.

Also it is always important that our guest-to-guest book is updated. That is truly the best way to see what restaurants are recommended and not!
Hope to see you again here with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Casa do Valle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 554 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here largely based on the positive TA reviews and were not disappointed. We had one of the rooms right off the main entrance, and it was large, with a nice garden view and very private. Bedding was comfortable so we got deep, much needed sleep after trekking around to the castles etc (by the way, Sintra is not to be missed for thoses coming to Portugal). The pool and the grounds seemed nice, but we had zero time to enjoy as were so busy exploring,so cannot comment about them as other guests have done. We enjoyed our stay in town, and in this property.

Now for the advice. Come with a good local map and study it carefully. We had a GPS during our trip, and despite that we had difficulty finding this hotel. I believe the hills might have been interfering with the GPS signal. In any case, the roads are very steep, very narrow, and very windy around the property, and there are no street names for the most part. We finally did find the Casa.

When we checked in, only the maid was there. We wanted to walk into town, but since the maid does not speak English, she could not really help us. She pointed in the direction, and armed with our hand held GPS, off we went. We walked up and down several steep hills for about 30 minutes before hitting the town. Later, when we spoke to the owner, she gave us clearer directions that made it a ver simple 5 minute uphill walk!! (Perhaps the owner can print out a simple map with walking directions to town that the maid can give to guests during he owner's absence?).

Anyway, if you come better prepared than us, you will thoroughly enjoy this charming town and charming B&B.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Hi there! Thank you for your review. One must indeed be prepared for Sintra's gorgeous but mountainous terrain. New hiking trails are being opened monthly and there is a lot to see both in nature and in monuments. The street names are usually on a non-traditional placards made of tiles - and many do not realize what they are.

We are a small B&B, with check-out until 11 am and check-in after 2 pm. During the 3 hours that are there in between the two, I the owner, go shopping, to the bank, city hall, tourism office... Unfortunately not all of our maids are fluent in English - so if you happen to arrive before the normal check-in time, during the time I am not here, it is unfortunate, but you may catch a non-English-speaking maid. We are working on it, and our maids do have English training. Just sorry that it caused you inconvenience. We do have printed Sintra maps available in various languages. I will make it a point that our maids offer one, with our localization marked on them, to every visitor, even if they don't have a common language. Thank you so much for your comment, it will help the next guests for sure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a lovely place .. beautiful Sintra filled with charming old streets lovely gardens and fairytale castles! I was made to feel so welcome at Casa do Valle, and having my delicious breakfast sitting on my balcony listening to the birds singing and watching the castles emerge from the morning mist was truly magical. Vipri was so kind and her big friendly dog was so sweet, it was one of the nicest experiences of my Portugal trip. I will certainly recommend this place to my friends and anyone visiting Portugal

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

I am glad that you felt welcomed! It is indeed important to us that our guests feel comfortable here. The morning mist that you mentioned is one of my favourite things about Sintra - it makes the mountain magical and unique when the mist rises and the colours get stronger - especially now in the autumn. Also glad you enjoyed your breakfast; most people do enjoy the freshly baked breads and freshly brewed coffee, fresh fruits and locally made jams. Pandora and I are sending you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were warmly greeted by the owner Virpi when we arrived. She told us where we could park our car and showed us to our rooms. We were traveling with family and the place was perfect. Our rooms all opened on to a large deck that we could all gather on. We filled all the rooms (3 rooms and the suite). We were there only one night. Some of the family were leaving the next day and Virpi was very helpful in getting the taxi and letting us know how long it would take to get to the airport. They were leaving on a Saturday so traffic was not bad it took just 30 minutes to get there. Traffic around Lisbon can be very bad. The location was perfect just a bit out of the center of town, a short walk to everything. We all enjoyed our one night in Sintra at Casa Da Vista and wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calliemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us! Casa da Vista is indeed privileged in its location! The parking is convenient and free of cost close to us, so it is nice to leave your car put and walk, as the parking in town is tough. We happily share the local information about the driving and taxis (and not only) with our visitors, makes it so much easier, plus you save time not having to look everything up or second guessing, especially if you only have that one day, like you did. Glad you chose us, and even happier that you enjoyed your stay! Greetings from Sintra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I highly recommend this really nice location! The hotel is located perfect. Short distance to the center but really quiet - the sleep is guaranteed.
The rooms are very clean, featured with everything you need (e.g. fridge) and the double bed is a dream to dream.
Me and my girlfriend really enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. We do try our best to provide what our guests need - for the sleep, many of our clients have indeed commented positively about our beds. What also contributes is the fact that the city center is 400 meters away; so we do hear the birds and the wind and the rain - all relaxing sounds! Maybe we will see you another time for a bit longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

As we where searching for a quiet place after visiting Lisboa, my Girlfriend and myself find, in a late may 2008 afternoon this magnific place “Casa de Valle”. A warm contact, a nice smile from Virpy was just the beginning of 3 fantastic days and night. Since that date, as we coming every year to visit our family in Portugal and got hypnotised by this dream Place !!! You will find peace, silence, rest, perfect attention from the staff/personnal. It is really one of the nicest places that we visit all over the WORLD

Room Tip: All !!! Just Magic
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikyju j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for such a nice review! You coming back time after time to stay with us is already a good review for us! We are happy that we can provide relaxation for you. Our staff is, like you suggest, more than 'just staff', we all feel like we are a part of a family and do enjoy working together. Glad you feel that, too! Hope to see you again and again in the next years, whenever you come back to visit Portugal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

As we where searching for a quiet place after visiting Lisboa, my Girlfriend and myself find, in a late may 2008 afternoon this magnific place “Casa de Valle”. A warm contact, a nice smile from Virpy was just the beginning of 3 fantastic days and night. Since that date, as we coming every year to visit our family in Portugal and got hypnotised by this dream Place !!! You will find peace, silence, rest, perfect attention from the staff/personnal who are more than employees…..but family. It is really one of the nicest places that we visit all over the WORLD

Room Tip: All !! This place is magic !!!!!! Really !!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikyju j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for such a nice review! You coming back time after time to stay with us is already a good review for us! We are happy that we can provide relaxation for you. Our staff is, like you suggest, more than 'just staff', we all feel like we are a part of a family and do enjoy working together. Glad you feel that, too! Hope to see you again and again in the next years, whenever you come back to visit Portugal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#5 of 15 in Sintra
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#4 of 15 in Sintra
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#7 of 42 in Sintra
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Address: Rua da Paderna N. 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range: $82 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing