We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely private balcony for breakfast”
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa do Valle
Ranked #3 of 42 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely private balcony for breakfast”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

A thoroughly pleasant hotel. The room was a bit on the small size, but the balcony was a real plus. The pool was was well taken care of, as were the grounds. The owner has a very large dog (great Dane I think). If you are leary of dogs, this one will have your heart beating faster, but she is really quite well trained. As with many b&b style hotels, there is at times no staff to be found, however, someone always eventually appears. The owner made several calls for us for reservations and taxis which were much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neamster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
You are right about B&Bs - though we try to be always helpful, there are times, especially between check-out and check-in times when we do go shopping and run errands, tend to the grounds and clients and are not in the reception area. This is one of the main differences between a hotel and a B&B, smaller place with less staff, office hours and more varied duties. Glad that we were able to help you out anyway, and sorry if we made you wait sometimes!

Regarding Pandora, the dog: yes, she is a Great Dane, and yes, she is quite well behaved, likes people and is still quite a puppy. That is why she is not freely out with the guests and does go her long morning walks and agility training to use up her energy. Yet she is a big dog and we are indeed careful to make sure she does not scare guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    109
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
115
302
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Once we arrived at Casa do Valle and were welcomed by Virpi, a charming lady from Finland, we felt right at home and relaxed. The view from the pool area is amazing from dawn to sunset and even at night it's wonderful to look at the lights of the castle on top of the hill. Casa do Valle is a great starting point for many things that you can do in the area. A hike to the castles, a walk into town, a visit to one of the beaches in the area, a visit to a great local restaurant. Virpi knows all the places where you see, taste and feel this unique part of Portugal at it's best. We look forward to come back and hope that many other guests will recognize the warmth and value of this place. A true paradise in the hills of Sintra. Norman - The Netherlands

Room Tip: tell Virpi and you get the room that suits you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman from Hol... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Wonderful pictures! Sintra is great for photography, as I am sure you also noticed. A good reason indeed to return with your family - or maybe friends this time as well? I am in fact using the slower season now, preparing walking routes and descriptions, adding blog entries of these places that you referred to. There is so much to discover, and for different tastes and timeframes. Glad you enjoyed your visit here - thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I had a pleasure to visit Casa do Valle in August with a friend of mine. We were flying in from different countries and it was easy to find our destination. We were just two girls but it felt very safe. Quickly we regretted it was only a weekend and not a longer stay. Casa do Valle is amazing, magical, and especially the owner is very welcoming. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Casa do Valle is indeed a great get-together place! There is lots to do, and a calm setting to do it in. Glad that you enjoyed your short holiday, maybe next year you can repeat and make it a bit longer? Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at 'Casa do Valle' the view was absolutely amazing with a peaceful surrounding and the rooms were stylish and clean. The Virpi was so helpful and made us feel very welcome. Whilst we were stayed, a Portuguese pastries theme week was running. We had 6 o'clock tea with different pastries. A really nice touch! It is a 10 minute walk to the town. I would definitely stay at 'casa do valle' angain!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleenSidhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you! Glad you enjoyed the rooms and the setting - the pastries and tea we will certainly repeat next season - it was a hit with our guests. In the winter now we are serving wallnuts and Port wine from the North of Portugal - a bit different, but also appreciated. Maybe we will see you again another time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked every room in Casa do Valle and Casa da Vista for 4 nights in July as the accommodation for my wedding and it couldn’t have been more perfect. We were completely looked after from start to finish by Vipri (the owner) and nothing was too much to ask. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a stunning setting, look no further. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Casa do Valle must have one of the most beautiful settings in the whole of Sintra. The view is breathtaking and every morning we would have breakfast looking over at it. There is no central dinning area which means you get to have your breakfast privately in your room or on your balcony which was just lovely. On the day of my wedding Vipri kindly arranged a buffet breakfast for all my guests around the swimming pool and she even made heart shaped melon pieces as a special treat!

The rooms in Casa do Valle are beautifully decorated, very spacious and will all the facilities that you would need. It’s really a place where you feel happy spending time both by the pool and in the rooms. It’s also unique in that it has a large garden space to play games or in my case to have a BBQ. Vipri helped organise for an external company to come to Casa do Valle so we could have a BBQ lunch the day after my wedding. Everyone absolutely loved the place and we would really like to book it out again next year!

Room Tip: The rooms in Casa da Vista are more modern and the largest room even has a small kitchenette if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy-Pike-Santos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We were happy to host your wedding! This was the first year we had weddings, and we had 4, each one very different from the other. Only one thing in common; we were able to transform our space to work well for all of them! Having the guests stay at the venue is brilliant, less hassle and more together-time, for sure. Glad you enjoyed it here - maybe next year your family could all vacation here together, and use Casa do Valle as a base for day tripping, too! Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed 6 nights with my 13 year old daughter and we were both reluctant to move on to our next stop. The setting of Casa do Valle is breathtaking, particularly from the small but extremely inviting pool from which you can see the Moorish castle, Pena Palace and Quinta Regaleira above you and green terraced hillside below. Although we went in August, once past the square in old Sintra and walking down the steep lane to the house there was no sense at all that it was peak holiday season. I was slightly concerned about choosing a place away from the coast with my teenage daughter, but, a couple of days into our stay she said she would quite happily forego the seaside in future. There is plenty to see in and around Sintra and most of it easily accessed by public transport. My daughter is not one for visiting cultural sights (her criteria for the holiday included "no cathedrals"!) but, by including an ice cream or pastry stop mid morning and a lounge by the pool late afternoon, we both enjoyed every minute of our stay. Virpi and her daughter were both charming and made us feel incredibly welcome but, in keeping with the whole ambience, were not at all intrusive. The only problem with Casa do Valle was that it made our second week's accommodation by the coast further north seem so very average!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
A 13 year old can be a bit tricky. Luckily Sintra has SO much to offer for all ages. Even museums have something for all ages. The castles, too. Lots to see AND do. Your comments about Casa do Valle were quite flattering, and it makes me happy that we were able to make you feel comfortable - that is our aim, after all. Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msk
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Remarkable small hotel. Fine territory. Everything around hotel is covered with greens, fruit trees. There is very beautiful look from room. Room is big, clear and comfortable. A bathroom has got the modern equipment. Everything is clean, convenient. Breakfast is very good. You can take breakfast in the room, or in front of the room, on the terrace. Personnel very friendly and helpful. Wonderful choice for discovery Sintra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4apa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hello,

And thank you for your review! What wonderful photos! Glad you enjoyed the breakfasts - we try to do our best without a restaurant. Maybe next time you can stay a bit longer!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#7 of 42 in Sintra
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Property: Casa do Valle
Address: Rua da Paderna N. 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing