We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa do Valle
Ranked #2 of 38 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

One night in the lovely B&B was hardly enough. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed, with plenty of space and great views of the surrounding area. The owners are fantastic, very welcoming, friendly and with plenty of helpful suggestions about restaurants, activities etc. Breakfast is optional and served in your room or out in the garden, which is a nice touch. Only a short stroll into the historical centre, which has many dining / shopping options. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaycee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    103
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
112
290
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Was only at the inn for one night, and it wasn't enough! Had the best night sleep I have had in a very long time. Easy walk to the historic center of Sintra, breakfast in bed, clean rooms, beautiful grounds and friendly dogs, beautiful views!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staryeh613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Virpi, the proprietor is fantastic, and has thought of everything needed to make your time in Sintra perfect. Her genuine gift for hospitality shines at Casa do Valle. She had wonderful restaurant recommendations, and arranged for a very convenient taxi to the Lisbon airport. The beds are incredibly comfy. The breakfast is wonderful; just what one needs to prepare for a day of touring castles! The property itself is stunning, with beautiful views of the coast, and of the hills. We would have stayed for ages if we could. Be sure to visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketScientist30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

I stayed at Quinta do Valle at the first weekend of December, for three nights and the place was fantastic. Very peacefull, good views , clean, comfortable, with liitle and delightfull details ljke candels in the rooms, a wood stove, fantastic breakfast in your own room ... it makes you feel as in your second home.
Hospitality of the owners (Virty and Manuel) was lovely.
I will always remember this weekend in the magical Sintra, and it could not have happen without Quinta do Valle.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iacobea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal - Norte
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Most positive aspects:
-Very cozy rooms
-Breakfast in the room at your wished hour
-Countryside familiar and romantic place
-Excellent price/quality relation

Most negative aspects:
-If you want TV at the room you have to ask for it

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

We are staying one more day than planned at Casa do Valle because my husband was ill. Vipri, the proprietor, helped greatly in arranging a tax to take us to a clinic. My husband will be fine, but he will rest today and we will go to our next destination tomorrow. It is a pleasure to stay one more day here (we've been here 6 days). The inn is lovely, the breakfasts are very good, and the staff is very friendly. This was definitely the right choice for a stay in Sintra!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

Sintra has always been regarded as one of the most beautiful towns in Europe - staying there has proved difficult with overpriced hotels being the most common solution. Casa Do Valle offers the perfect alternative - excellent value (e75.00 per night ) and facilities to dream of - excellent views -gazing out towards Quinta de Regaleria while having a dip in the pool, watching the clouds engulf the Moorish Castle at night with the moon providing ghostly light, drinking coffee in the morning and watching the sun rise above Pena Palace- there's no need to go anywhere else !
Virpi and her team work hard to make your stay everything you want it to be - we were there for 11 days and watched many other travellers begging to stay rather than move on to their next destination ! With Lisbon 40 mins aways by regular train and quiet beaches even closer Sintra offers not only it's huge charms but variety too ! We travelled everywhere we wanted by public transport without a problem, so why hire a car ??
Bedrooms are a good size with a reasonable size fridge to store your essentials. The cleaning is faultless and every day the room was so tidy for us coming back. As you may have seen elsewhere there is a lovely pool, cute little internet hut and beautiful, spacious gardens. Everything about our stay was faultless (although the gradients in Sintra are difficult, one of the things that make it so beautiful !?) and i would be happy to recommend Casa Do Valle to the world!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenpendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
0.4 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Property: Casa do Valle
Address: Rua da Paderna N. 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing