We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Saudade is charming, comfortable and near the sights of Sintra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Ranked #1 of 39 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Chalet Saudade is charming, comfortable and near the sights of Sintra”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

What a relief to reach the Chalet Saudade, located on the main street of Sintra, Portugal, a short distance from Lisbon and a UNESCO World Heritage Site, after a long drive from Porto.The proprietors were gracious hosts, and our comfortable and well-stocked sleeping room--the only one we found in Portugal that allowed guests to make coffee and tea in their room--overlooked the garden at the rear of the property. A lovely sitting room is available off the lobby. We easily walked to the Sintra-Cascais Nature park and beyond to the center of town, which featured a view of hilltop castles, as well as the Pena National Palace. The chalet was within a block of restaurants with prompt service and delicious food that were patronized by local diners. Parking is limited, but after we dropped off our luggage, the owner helped us find a parking space within easy walking distance and within a block of the local police station.

Room Tip: No access to an elevator in this chalet, which is several floors, but the employees are pleasant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    63
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
246
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at the Chalet Saudade, and whilst we would both agree that the standard of accommodation is both very comfortable and tasteful, I feel that I must write a review of the pitfalls waiting for the unsuspecting motorist. Firstly the address is very similar to another in the area, due to the names of the streets being almost the same. This saw us arriving at our destination in front of a block of modern flats, some 10.3 kilometers from our true destination. When we did eventually arrive at the property I was a little disconcerted to be told that the free public parking there was no need to book was a good 200 meters away behind the railway station. I was advised to take everything out of our car and to leave nothing on display, which I did. I could not find a free spot at first, so I paid to park on a meter by the hotel until later in the evening, when I did find an empty place behind the station. Unfortunately the hotel had not alerted me to the fact that some of these so-called "free" public parking spaces were not, in fact, for the public to park in, so I found my vehicle clamped by the police 2 days later, as I had chosen badly due to no fault of my own. Getting the clamp removed cost me 127 euros. I felt like I had been mugged. Motorists beware, a lovely hotel, but not motorist friendly, and free parking is a problem.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a lovely big room with a huge bed.😃
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice hotel but no where to park your car. We had to drop our things off and was told to park up the road by the railway station. We did this and had our car clamped by the police had to pay €127 to have clamp taken off. The hotel room was very nice. We had to walk up to the cafe bar they owned to have our breakfast which was OK but not a lot of choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a wonderful experience in Sintra and Chalet Saudade made our stay very special. All the staff were attentive. The accomodation was excellent and very close to all transport. Very recently renovated by lovely owners. A must.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evams01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just spent 3 nights in Chalet Saudade and I have to say this is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Great selection of pillows too. The complimentary drinks are a lovely touch. The staff and owners are extremely helpful and spent time with us to help us plan our next route, which was much appreciated. Breakfast in the cafe was a treat and kept us going to tea time, I loved the flexibility too. We had a room on floor -1 (room 4), a superior double and the room and the bed were huge, definitely worth the extra cost. Hopefully we will return to Sintra one day and if we do we would not consider staying anywhere else. The house is lovely and the owners should be very proud of what they have achieved. Thank you... I hope you make it to Scotland in September...

Room Tip: Room 4 was hugh and had wooden shutters and a beautiful view over the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLSuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Chalet Saudade is a unique place to stay, immersed in Sintra's magic atmosphere.

The Chalet is very well located, only two minutes walking from the bus and train stations. The historical center is a five minutes walk.

Chalet Saudade is a beautiful and completely restored old house, full of details that make it a whimsical and enchanting place. The rooms, decorated in a vintage style, are all different. Ours were spacious, very clean and bright, had big comfy beds and fluffy duvets. Electric kettle and assortment of teas was also available in both rooms.

There are a lot of beautiful and cosy nooks to explore in the Chalet. They are perfect to relax after a day strolling around Sintra. Don´t miss the living area and the winter veranda.

Breakfast is included and it's delicious, no matter if you chose the traditional or the urban menu… The downside is that after having one of the menus, you will be so full that you wont be able to try the delicious homemade cakes ;)

Chalet Saudade doesn't have an elevator. It was no problem for us but it can be if you have any mobility issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingridmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed for one night ... and will remain in our memory forever. Magical place, the house nuanced in detail. From every corner of the house for guests looking figures like Alice in Wonderland, because the whole area is like a land behind the mirror. Our room was on the second floor, but as the land in reverse, going down to. The window looked out on the garden and in the morning woke us rooster and forest birds. In the living room for the weary tourist expects a delicious bottle of Porto and Ginjinha (cherry brandy) for FREE. The owners and staff - a super friendly people treating their guests almost like family. We sincerely recommend this house and a traditional breakfast in the restaurant Saudade just around the corner.
Katarzyna i Krzysztof Wolynski

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarzyna i Krz... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.0 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#6 of 39 in Sintra
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House

Property: Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Address: Rua Doutor Alfredo da Costa N. 23, Sintra 2710-524, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2001 we drove by a quaint, beautiful, old rose colored chalet in Sintra with a <> sign hanging on a white door. Having searched for months for a home in Sintra, the locale of Luis' dream place to live, we thought - why not look at this charming "fixer upper"? It was nearly sundown when we entered the beautiful rooms with painted high ceilings and as the light flowed through the winter veranda overlooking the lush green gardens it was love at first sight. A dozen years later and having lived through rainy humid winters with old cracked windows and creaky floors, our home is completely restored and refurbished. It has taken four long years but the outcome is better than expected as we have stayed true to the style and essence of this peculiar type of architecture. The chalet style was imported at the end of the XIX century from the Alps and was used to build vacation homes throughout Portugal. Now our home and guesthouse is enjoying its second life and we hope to continue our mission that we have developed at our cafe - Cafe Saudade. This cafe is a few meters from the chalet and it is here where breakfast is served all day to our guests. Our mission is to provide, with the utmost quality, an authentic Portuguese experience to all of our visitors to Sintra. We hope this is what you experience when you stay with us. Cheers, and long life to the old-new Chalet Saudade! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing