We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect end to a day in Sintra!”

Restaurante O Lavrador
Ranked #4 of 260 Restaurants in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, Portuguese, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: SPECIALTY: LOAF IN STONE (STEAK IN STONE)The Lavrador, stands for simplicity and comfort, a friendly atmosphere but above all welcoming. Decor with traditional motifs to fields this is a space where you can enjoy the most typical dishes of Portuguese cuisine. With a taste of home, this is the perfect place to enjoy traditional tastes.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect end to a day in Sintra!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent the afternoon in Sintra, then hopped in a taxi for the short trip to "O Lavrador" (€6-7), having seen good reviews on Trip Advisor (better than most of the central Sintra offerings). Agree with previous reviews that from the outside you would not necessarily give it a second look, but it is great inside, and the number of locals enjoying a Saturday evening meal attested to this. We arrived prior to opening time (open from 1930 to 2200) so headed to the bar upstairs, and were welcomed by a multilingual local (Rodrigo?) who made us feel at home. We had 6 small beers and bar snacks for €3 (!), before Rodrigo showed us downstairs. We were well looked after by Mario, and we both had the restaurant's special 'steak on stone' (most of the other diners did too) - which was wonderful - flavoursome, well seasoned, and tender beef. The house wine went well, and was excellent value. After about 3 hours, and a bill for only €42 (including starter, dessert and 2 carafes of wine) we headed back to Lisbon more than satisfied. We have eaten in Lisbon's Belcanto during this trip, and although the experiences were very different, and both were great, I think we enjoyed this more!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blameyourelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLavradorRestaurante, Gerente at Restaurante O Lavrador, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Good Evenig,
Blameyourelf,

Hi,
Tanks for you coment,
Hope to have surpassed your expectations, and next time you´ll come to another Trip to visit our magnificent Sintra , come visit us again.
( Hugs from Rodrigo )

hope see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    97
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
“Nice place and good food”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Place was a bit tricky to find, but it was worth the searching. Delicious and tender meet and super good desert. Traditional restaurant with kind service. Dinner included bread, cheese & olives, main course (meet) + dessert and wine was only 18€/person. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Benita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLavradorRestaurante, Gerente at Restaurante O Lavrador, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Good Evening
Benita T.

Tanks for your remark,
In fact the Restaurant it´s a bit tricky to find without any help, but with news technologies, Smartphones, GPS or if you´ll come by Taxi from Sintra, ask to the Taxi driver, they know where´s the restaurant O LAVRADOR is.
Hope see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkcaldy fife
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Make the effort to find O Lavrador - it's worth it!!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This small restaurant, coloured yellow and not especially prepossessing on the outside, is on the corner at the roundabout in Cabriz, north west of Sintra. BUT inside is a beautifully traditional restaurant with the most delicious steak we have ever tasted. My entrecôte with mushrooms was tender, mouthwatering and a steal at 7.50€. My husband was in heaven with his steak on a stone. The portions were more than generous and accompanied with herb rice, salad, yummy homemade French fries, gorgeous bread and an array of tasty sauces. This is a family run concern and the father's special knowledge of beef means top class quality at all times. The service was warm, friendly and personal. We wish this family well and highly recommend O Lavrador. An unforgettable lunch experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirkcaldyFifeJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLavradorRestaurante, Gerente at Restaurante O Lavrador, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Tanks for Reporting your experience in our restaurant !
We will try to expose more details in our site to make easier to find us!
Tanky you!

We Hope see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best meat around Lisbon”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to eat..family run..meat is excellent and desserts are to die for.....Look for Mario Lavrador

Helpful?
Thank Firman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLavradorRestaurante, Gerente at Restaurante O Lavrador, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Tanks for reporting your experience in our restaurant !
Hope see you again
Tanks,
Mario Lavrador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Lavrador also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Restaurante O Lavrador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing