We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but a bit overrated”
Review of Dom Lopo - Clube de Cha - CLOSED

Dom Lopo - Clube de Cha
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: European, French, Mediterranean, Portuguese, Central European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tea Room with amazing views over the National Sintra Palace and with belvedere. Located in an historical building (XIXth century) with original frescoes on the walls.Serves light meals and traditional afternoon tea.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place, but a bit overrated”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice building, interior and view. A rather small menu, but that is usually a good sign. An absolutely delicious soup for starters (pumpkin soup). The mains were however a disappointment after the soup. They start the party, but don't finish it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbirkenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, price a bit over the standard in Portugal”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Limited variety of dishes, good quality overall but not too elaborated. The place is quite nice and the paintings of the walls are impressive, that is what you pay for. Romantic atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winchester5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must Do!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, very nice food, nice housewine, very friendly people en very good value for money. It is a short but steep climb fram the historic city centre, but worth very well. Not only for tea (that's how thet started 1 year ago), but also for lunch and diner. We had a perfect 3 course lunch lunch for 4 with 2 bottles of housewine on the terrace outside with a beautifull view om the national palace. We had to pay 100 euro's. We had a perfect afternoon! Please go on like this. Maybe an own website would be smart.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You have to eat here!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

You have to stay at Villa Mira Longa and you have to eat here!! Despite the big choice of restaurants, we liked Dom Lopo so much that we ate there twice during our week. The food is absolutely delicious. The setting is stunning, tucked away in a back street high over and above Sintra's main boulevard so you look down over the conical towers and rooftops as you eat your food with the setting sun.
Delicious food, yummy wine. Much to like!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“best experience!!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband were enjoying a trip for his 50th bday/30th wedding anniversary that took us to Cascais Portugal for part of our journey. We made the trip to Sintra since it was very recommended ( for good reason ) and while waiting for another restaurant to open at 7Pm we just happened to stumble across Dom Lopo. The location was PERFECT. There were small tables set up outside under a fabric gazebo which gave incredible views over Sintra and out to the sea. Since we were early, we asked if we could sit outside to have dinner (since we wanted to see the sunset) and the woman who served us was very agreeable and quite charming. We had no idea that the food would be so AMAZING. We shared the carrot soup which came in a huge bowl and I followed that with some of the best rack of lamb chops I've ever had. My husband had the steak and we finished with a decadent chocolate cake and coffee. Our bill all together was about $56 euros or about $90 / which was pretty darn good considering we had a bottle of house wine, appetizer, entrees, dessert and coffee. We would expect to pay more the same meal at home. The server was obviously very proud of her heritage and invited us inside to see the glorious handpainted murals inside which were done, I believe?, by the arichitect who worked on the Quinta da Regaleira ( which is a MUST SEE for the grounds alone..) She also gave very helpful information on places to see and eat in Lisbon. So, just a chance happening turned out to be our most romantic and memorable meal during our entire 12 day trip abroad. Don't miss it!

PS If you came to Sintra by Taxi, you'll wait forever to get one back at night, so stop in an open shop and ask someone to call one for you

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kurtnkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dom Lopo - Clube de Cha also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing