We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST & most EXPENSIVE ”
Review of Hockey caffee - CLOSED

Hockey caffee
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WORST & most EXPENSIVE ”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

3.5 EUR for just a coffee
I've never seen such a silly price in Portugal

Helpful?
2 Thank wanakaramea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    67
    70
    76
    188
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Mix of good and bad impressions”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Let's strt with bright side: there was a place to sit down in pretty normal conditions, not like in other cafes where everything is so tight.... Great chocolate for drinking, very tasty olives and stinking, strong cheese for prestarter, very good chicken salad with fruits.
On the other hand - ripping off prices for unclear and not very helpful service looking at you as you were a cash machine... Not nice. And dishes with tomatos were awful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krzysztof R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
908 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 889 helpful votes
“Somewhere pleasant to sit - ok it's pricey BUT far more tourist friendly than snobby little backstreet cafes”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Like I suspect many people we visited Sintra as a day trip on the train from Lisbon. Usual Portugese standard train service (Chaotic queues at Lisbon ticket booths and totally inadequate automated exit gates at Sintra station !). Having strolled around the town for an hour or so we looked for somewhere for a coffee.

We went into 3 or 4 small backstreet cafes - the sort of local place we usually visit - they were either so cramped by virtue of cramming so many seats in or had some odd ordering system with only Portugese to explain it that we gave up and were going to just go back to Lisbon when we saw this place

Loads of seats - English menu and very very friendly staff. Some excellent hot chocolate and deserts.

OK it was pricey but it was a life saver.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, Québec
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Convenient, good choice in the center of Sintra”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you are looking for a place to have a quick, healthy lunch in Sintra, this is an excellent choice. Actually, we enjoyed it so much that we returned on our second day in town. On the first day, it was pouring rain so we ate inside, in their large dining room. We had wonderful gazpacho, and a fairly good pizza. On the second day, we ate a lovely salad on the terrace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ttoronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Rip off and a scam”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stay away! The place is a trap which overcharges unwary tourists. Be sure you know EXACTLY what they charge for their coffee and bread with butter. You will be surprised and shocked. This place is a black eye on Sintra. Very disappointed. Only place in Portugal I have experienced this sort of rip off.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trevortoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hockey caffee also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing