We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of OH Casa Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
OH Casa Sintra
Ranked #7 of 38 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Charming home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

There was a small gathering of kids clustered around the dining table working on a business plan and as some of them were new to Sintra, they were not very helpful in recommending restaurants, etc. Our room was narrow, the bath tiny and the lighting in the room was inadequate to use our laptops or read street maps. We had to prop the small lamps on the bed next to what we were trying to read and lay on our tummy to see. Not really the most comfortable posture for a mature couple. The B&B was convenient to the train station and within walking distance to the old town and good restaurants. Breakfast was good. Parking was free. No TV.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmy232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    44
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
18
141
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We've stayed in Sintra just overnight on our way from Porto to Lisboa, but we would love to stay in this charming hotel for more days. The staff was great - helpful and polite. Kali (a manager, I'am afraid I spell it wrong, sorry for that) was just sooo helpfull and naturally fitting into overall atmosphere of the house. The room was great, the breakfast was delicious - we loved our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina_October
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel with lovely rooms and friendly staff! Everything was perfectly clean and full of beautiful details. Julia (the manager) helped us a lot and gave pf very useful tips fpr visiting Sintra. The breakfast was delicious, you will feel like home. 100% recomended, would come back anytime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tatovarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We came to Sintra from Lisbon for one day and couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Oh Casa is a beautiful old house that's been turned into a lovely bed and breakfast. The house is so charming and has so many quirky details--old chandeliers, a sitting room adjacent to the bedroom, and each room has an IPad as well!
Valentin was so helpful with recommending sightseeing, restaurants and the fresh daily breakfast they give is wonderful. They offer free parking as well which is always a plus.
Oh Casa is located about a ten minute walk into the center of Sintra, away from all of the heavy touristy restaurants and shops. I can't recommend this place enough--it's very cozy and romantic and the only downside was that we only stayed one night.
A wonderful place for the cost and value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetalentedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were blown away by the space—very modern and clean with a bit of humor in there too. Every public space was very inviting and refreshing, and the our room was just the same. Very nice quirky little details. It was nice that an iPad was provided, though with so much to see in Sintra, we weren't about to watch movies or surf the net endlessly. Breakfast is service in the garden and it was a terrific way to start the day. The location is nice because it is a short walk into the more touristy part of town, but you are kind of tucked away from all of the hubbub.

So, Valentin —we thought he was the owner, because of the thoughtful care and attention he provided. He is a very sweet person who makes you feel welcome from the second you arrive. He really makes you feel spoiled and that everything is taken care of and if you were to want for anything he would make it happen. When he found out we were on our honeymoon he brought us a very nice wine to toast with as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Majel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and i stay one night at the suite, lot of place in the room, very good decorate, uusuel place. it had great facilities. Also, it is a short walk to the main part of Sintra which is nice. The breakfast was great, fresh and receive what you want- Valentien treat you excellent.
Seat at night in the living room, drink tea near the hest, again "spoil" by valantien, wonderfull man.
Just what you need for staying at Sintra. Also have parking spot (by request). Defetlu stay again there. It also have private Ipad in the room, with Skype you can use.
There is no TV if you look for it, very good place to releax and read a good book.

Room Tip: Choose the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danigin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I came to Sintra for a few days before I flew to London from Lisboa. The bakcpackers/hostel part is in a smaller seperate building. It was not overcrowded when I was there and it had great facilities. Also, it is a short walk to the main part of Sintra which is nice. You also get breakfast with the stay which was very nice too!
I would give it 5 stars but the internest was not the strongest reception but it was still useable though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
0.5 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OH Casa Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OH Casa Sintra

Property: OH Casa Sintra
Address: Rua Gago Coutinho 2, Sintra 2710-566, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — OH Casa Sintra 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our PhilosophyWe believe a hotel really needs to be open and flexible, which doesn't place any restrictions on its guest. In fact, it should do just the opposite, offering up new possibilities every day.When thinking about Oh Casa, we wanted to create a hotel that wasn't quite a hotel. We still wanted it to be a place where you could get a great nights sleep but also wanted it to have a little something extra. A place which put no pressure on it's clients, but instead offered up opportunities.We combined the best features of a hotel with the hospitality of a friend's house. A place where travelers could feel comfortable enough to make their own drinks, eat breakfast in their room, kitchen, or garden. A place where guests could play their own music, light their own fire in the fireplace. A place where you could enjoy the quiet solitude of your room or mingle over homemade dinners with other guests.Oh Casa is unpretentious and unassuming and yet there is something about it that just makes you smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your OH Casa Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing