We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sintra”
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nova Sintra
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“sintra”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

our host was very helpful in prioritizing our choices given the weather and what we had seen thus far in Portugal. we were shown two rooms and chose our favorite. the breakfast was ample and had healthy choices.

Room Tip: it is a bit of a walk into town...and driving/parking our car not fun--but the town was great. we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmorr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    91
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
209
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a terrific choice for me. The location was fantastic, close to the train station to drop off my stuff and a beautiful walk up to Quinta Regaleira. I rented an ebike for my second day which easily took me to all the sights in the area. The room was simple, but clean, and I thoroughly enjoyed the terrace with beautiful view up to the Moorish castle. Also, the staff was so helpful and friendly! For the price, I do not think you can do better. Highly recommended

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank chrissysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel and were really impressed. The accommodation is good, and the location is excellent for sightseeing in Sintra, as well as being very convenient for trains to Lisbon. What really makes the hotel is the owner, Rui, who looks after all your needs from the minute you walk through the door. You do not need to go anywhere else in the town for information, Rui is there with a smile and info at his fingertips. Do not stay anywhere else in Sintra.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, lovely and clean, friendly & helpful staff. The breakfast was excellent. Our room overlooked the mountains and Royal palace. Good location for train and short walk to centre. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Room 11, fabulous view and plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

What we remember best about Nova Sintra is the care and attention to detail that the manager gave us. My wife is "gluten free" and though we hadn't warned them, they came up with some gluten-free bread, the second morning. The heating also became an issue (our fault) but this, too, was cleared up promptly. Beds were comfortable...often a problem in Portugal, the breakfast very nice, and the hotel has a large sun deck for enjoying a beverage any time. The only small flaw was the heating system, which was one of those "on-off" fan affairs: tough to sleep through when the fan continually is turning off and on all night. There was some traffic noise, too, the hotel being on a main street (and Benfica having just won the national soccer title!) Another point is the location, which is a bit of a walk from the main, old town. All in all, we'd recommend this place.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up and on the back side, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riderfan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This beautiful property is so comfortable, warm and welcoming you will never want to leave! The General Manager and his staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating. The space is very clean, the beds are excellent and the pillows are exceptional. The veranda is full of gorgeous plants with an incredible view over the city and up to the Moore Castle. A great place to relax and enjoy the view!

The breakfast (included) was tasty and fresh and served in a beautiful dining area with cloth table cover and napkins. Very decadent!

Centrally located and within walking distance of the train station, cafes, restaurants, gift shops, parks and monuments the Hotel Nova Sintra is definitely the place to put on your list!

Room Tip: Room 10 has the very best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was very impressed by the service in this hotel. Very friendly, kind, helpful management and staff. I felt like I was visiting my family members. The location is perfect,very close to the city center and 4 min away from the railway station. Big beautiful veranda. Breakfast was very good too. Strongly recommend this place for a relaxing stay in Sintra.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy77Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.6 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
330 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Property: Hotel Nova Sintra
Address: Largo Afonso de Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing