We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Alternative to Staying in Lisboa”
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nova Sintra
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hotel Nova Sintra is beautifully located to take advantage of the view into the old town and the structures up on the hill. Our host Rui Bernardo was genial and guided us through some wine selection on the terrace on a beautiful sunny day. The hotel is only a gentle walk from the Sintra railway station but still close to the main part of the historic town. Breakfast was excellent including hot food items not typically found at small hotels such as Nova Sintra.

Room Tip: We followed advice and took one attic room (always nice to be above possible plumbing noise), though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 374 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was a great value for the price, and included a nice breakfast (though we had to rush out to catch a train). The host at the desk advised us to go up the mountain first and then come back down into town, which worked out just perfectly. Room was small (bathroom was very tiny), but everything was clean and functional and we had a nice view from room 10 of the castle at night (Pena Palace was behind something and not visible). Very tiny size of the bathroom made it hard for two people to be in there at the same time, for example, one person getting out of the shower and another brushing teeth. We arrived early in the day (around 10am maybe), and they happily stored our luggage all day until we returned from sight-seeing. They even offered us a couple of other rooms if we wanted to go ahead and check into one, but since we didn't need to get in it just then, we opted to wait for the one with the view. It was too cool to hang out on the patio while we were there. Narrow walk-up stairs to second floor, but we travel light, so this wasn't a problem for us. I didn't see an elevator. Quiet. A short walk from the train station away from the historic part of town, which was maybe 1-2 km away.

Room Tip: Room 10 overlooked the patio, so could be noisier when the weather is nicer and people are hanging o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am so glad that we chose to spend a couple of nights in Sintra. We were going to stay at a hotel "Sintra Bliss," but it was full. We did not regret staying at Nova Sintra, on the contrary. We really enjoyed the little town the magnificent sightseeing opportunities. The owner/manager, I think his name was Bernardo?, was cordial and very helpful. He had a couple of suggestions for dinner at 2 local restaurants, just by the train tracks, obviously where the locals eat and they both were excellent. We had a room with 2 twins (we had asked for a double room; the beds were pushed together, but this wasn't a problem for us) with an perfect view of the Castle of the Moors ruins. The bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. There is a lovely terrace, which looked very enticing as a place to sit and relax while enjoying the awesome views of the surrounding hills, the town, and the ruins. We weren't able to sit out there, as we didn't have time! We wished we could have added another full day in Sintra, but we got to see a lot while we were there. It was very easy to take the bus close to the hotel to the seaside towns of Cascais and Estoril; we did a round-trip side trip. Also, Bernardo showed us which bus to take from the town to go up to Pena Palace and the castle ruins. The hotel is perfectly well situated, although it is a bit of a hike to the center of town. There are buses that will take you there if you do not want to walk. We loved Portugal, especially this area of the country. Before I forget, the breakfast was included and it was very adequate, with a choice of cereals, juices, breads, fruits, yogurt, cheeses and hams. There was coffee and tea choices as well. If we go back to Sintra again, we would definitely stay at Nova Sintra.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived very tired after 24 hours of travel from the US. Domingo greeted us and was attentive to our every need as we got settled. We stayed two nights and wish we could have stayed another before moving on to other places in Portugal. The hotel is lovely and extremely well-run. It is just as all the excellent reviews state. Comfortable, clean, quiet, attractive setting, good location, great breakfast, lovely terrace. Rui Bernardo and all the staff are so kind and helpful at every juncture. If there is a problem, they take care of it right away. They had many good suggestions for visiting the Sintra area. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. And it was reasonably priced as well. Sintra itself turned out to be one of our favorite places in Portugal and if you go there, by all means, stay at Hotel Nova Sintra.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thriftymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Among the things that we remember with pleasure after our departure from Sintra is the stay
in Nova Sintra. We found Nova Sintra to be a very cozy hotel with helpful and friendly staff, which keeps the hotel in perfect order. We would like to thank the whole staff, and especially the manager, Rui Bernardo, from whom we could any moment seek help concerning
stay in the hotel, planning Sintra sightseeing, flight registration etc.

If we appear in Sintra once more we would like to stay in Nova Sintra again.

Maria, Sergei

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We loved Sintra because of beauty and we loved Hotel Nova Sintra because hospitality of hotel owner and perfect location. We just have one day for Sintra. The hotel owner gave his advice on route and even reached out to help us obtain certificate of Coba da Roca after office hour of tourist office. The room is spacious and lovely. The breakfast is terrific. The small negative is no elevator. It is challenging job with heavy luggages, but hotel staff is also willing to help with luggages.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BYQZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We echo all praising preceding comments. We will just add a few extras (that will seem negative possibly but the idea is to give a full picture). The Nescafe coffee machine at breakfast has to be learned if you don't want automatic sugar. We eventually chose 'long coffee' and then hot water and added cold milk. The owner offered immediately to provide hot milk, when learning our requirements (just a tip as we found these machines in other hotels).

The breakfast choice is very good.

The staff are all immensely helpful.

The steps up to the hotel are steep but again, if you ring the hotel on arrival at the street entrance, they will help you by carrying the cases. So make a note of the telephone number if you are in such a category (perhaps email beforehand).

Just to stress everything is not too much trouble so we thoroughly recommend this delightful hotel. It is so convenient for public transport so leave the car behind and save the planet.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SWRural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,641 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Address: Largo Afonso de Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
Price Range: $76 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing