We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sintra”
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nova Sintra
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wonderful hotel that makes it convienent to everything in the area. Rui Bernardo and his staff were as helpful as anyone could ask. It is easy to get to and close to the train station for trips to Lisbon. Restaurants in the area are close and all have great food. The only down fall is the steps up to the hotel. There are a lot of them and for someone who is elderly it makes it a little tougher, but still well worth the stay

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nova Sintra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 364 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. The owners were super helpful and friendly. The room was very cheery and had a with a nice view. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean.
The breakfast buffet was generous and well presented.
We would be happy to recommend Hotel Nova Sintra.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddlelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a wonderful spot to stay in Sintra. You could walk to the old historic area and local restaurants were very close to the hotel. The staff was wonderful and helped us with tours, directions and great restaurants that were local cuisine. The manager I was there for every question and made great recommendations.

Room Tip: Understand the parking in Sintra. The parking is zoned so you should know before parking and heading...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diablo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This lovely oasis with its relaxing roof terrace is an oasis compared with the mass tourism that essentially goes with the centre of Sintra. But we were within walking distance of Sintra's many attractions. On street parking is available - our host showed us where we could find free parking. He also advised on some excellent local restaurants, across the railway footbridge and away from the bustle and inflated prices of the central old town.

Sintra is gorgeous. Of course it is. But out of season (in October) the streets are still crowded (mostly with day-trippers from Lisbon). All the attractions were open for business. So was the Turismo - sort of! Its grand vestibule and hoards of leaflets (non in English because they had run out of every one for every attraction). And, as for making an enquiry at the desk forget it. Staff at this so-called tourist office clearly had no time to answer queries from us or any other foreign tourists that we observed - not the most recent graduates from charm school!

The climb up to the Moors Castle is well worth the effort (you can get a bus part of the way we eventually discovered for ourselves). The views from the top are extraordinary and the results of the work undertaken by archaeologists is fascinating. If you fancy tea and a piece of cake back down at a hotel's sunny roadside terrace on the left hand corner of the Central Palacia (where the tourist tram and the police cars park up) you will be well entertained with all the bustle and activity - but prepared to pay the sort of price which would otherwise buy you tea at the London Ritz!

Summing up: mass tourism is to be expected in Sintra but it really is a 'must see' for its history and the beauty of the gardens. Just bring your own guidebook and stay at this charming oasis that is Hotel Nova Sintra where the owner/manager will tell you all you need to know.

Room Tip: Ask for the double room with the beautiful Portuguese tiled bed-head.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2twigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were made very welcome at this unpretentious hotel. The situation is very convenient for the railway station, and only a short walk to the historic old town with buses and trams to the coast and the castles and palaces. The accommodation is simple but comfortable and the breakfast good. Lovely views from the terrace. The service is excellent. Mr Rua and his staff go out of their way to be helpful and give good tips for local restaurants, bus times etc.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lynne403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel in a great location. Service was excellent - they obviously know what customer service means.
Not in the historic centre, but only a short walk away, with a couple of very good local restaurants, recommended by the manager, nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restaurantreviewguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Lovely little hotel with lots of character, complemented by a friendly owner and staff. The terrace offers great views of the surrounding hills so it is a great place to relax. Although pre-booked I was able to choose from a couple of rooms on arrival. I chose the one with most personality. It was a little bit tired around the edges but that was part of the charm and the hotel is better than its official 2 star status. Water and biscuits provided in the room when I first arrived.

The hotel is extremely well located a few minutes’ walk from the train station. Just up some steps from a main road but very quiet as it is set back and there was little traffic at night anyway. The historic centre is walkable and circular buses run to the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace from near the train station.

Overall a great hotel at a good price, not really worth looking anywhere else if staying in Sintra!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CritoLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.7 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,605 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Address: Largo Afonso de Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
Price Range: $79 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing