We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Character, but beware...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta de Sao Thiago
Ranked #18 of 43 Sintra B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2005

After passing the picture perfect old-town of Sintra along the winding roads down to the lower slopes at night, we certainly felt transported back in time. The house is absolutely beautiful, filled with art and antique furniture, and set in a nice, mature garden atmosphere. Even the parts of the house that were remodeled, modernized and expanded in 1970s have an authentic feel to them, featuring amazing craftsmanship (such as a hand carved winding stone staircase) and attention to detail. BUT: Upon arrival, our 70 EUR Double room was inexplicably unavailable, despite the fact that nobody else was staying at the house. The owner put on a hard-sell for us to upgrade to a suite at twice the price. We resisted, but the rooms offered to us at the same price as our reservation did not have a double bed (just twins), so we settled on an 80 EUR/night room. Though it had a great view, it also turned out to have a strong sewer smell. Too late to make a move, we had to sleep with our balcony door open to avoid the stench. The staff were all very nice, but the owner's hardsell for an upgrade, and the plumbing problems were completely unacceptable. A shame, because the property itself is really amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mads1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Javier_Orellana349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuintaSaoThiago, Gerente geral at Quinta de Sao Thiago, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bernardheijdeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuintaSaoThiago, Gerente at Quinta de Sao Thiago, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Por Siempre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuintaSaoThiago S, Gerente geral at Quinta de Sao Thiago, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuintaSaoThiago S, Gerente geral at Quinta de Sao Thiago, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arantxa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Santiago H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
2.9 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
286 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
301 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
4.7 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
692 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#7 of 43 in Sintra
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta de Sao Thiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta de Sao Thiago

Address: Estrada Monserrate | Rua Do Regueirinho, Sintra 2710-405, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range: $73 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta de Sao Thiago 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quinta de Sao Thiago is a private house and gardens in a very quiet environment on Sintra hills. The family who owns it, and specially Mrs. Braddell, are happy to welcome guests who are invited to enjoy the place as if they were in there own house. On the grounds, a large and sunny swimming pool invite to swim and relax. Nearby there are sand beaches, golf courses and ancient palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quinta de Sao Thiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta De Sao Thiago Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing