We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must love this kind of places - We left it the same evening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta de Sao Thiago
Ranked #17 of 43 Sintra B&B and Inns
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Must love this kind of places - We left it the same evening”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We are really surprised to see that many nice reviews... I guess it is a matter of opinion. The graden, pool and view are really nice. The house it very old, not in the best shape, has rather scary decor - very dark with closed windows, heads broken of older statures, huge artificial flowers which seem to be covered with dust, very heavy humidity smelling air, old bed matrasses, old cots, and very little privicy. The owner and receptionist were nice, but we decided to move to a different hotel loosing on money for the 1st night. We found the atmosphere is the house so gloomy and heavy and beds so unpromissing in terms of comfort, that going to another hotels to all 4 of us seemed like much better options. Unless you like these kind of places, I would not recommend it at all. We trided on something new, but I guess would not try it again for some time now.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicDjuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    25
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We booked ourselves in to Quinta de Sao Thiago for three nights and we liked it so much we ended up staying six. If you want all the mod-cons then this is not the place for you. However if you are looking for accommodation that is full of history, beauty and friendly service then I can highly recommend this place.

The family is lovely, highly accommodating and full of good recommendations of things to see and do.

This place is great if you feel you want to have a truly portuguese experience.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TranquilityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Staying here really gives a taste of the real Portugal in an amazing location - lovely owner

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marquefave
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This was one of the best B&B's we ever visited.
A mansion with an ambiance, that unveiles the devotion and love of the family ,that owns it.
We had an unforgettable staying and enjoyed the paradise like gardens of the house.
Great hospitality (we were served soup and snacks at night by candlelight in a private dining room)
We cannot understand that some write critical comments on the tripadvisor page
This place we recommend to all people who can appreciate class, hospitality and culture, in the middle of a wonderful nature.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joophaselhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Theresa and her family were very good hosts. The B&B is a lovely place - charming rooms, a great pool, and a fantastic view. Also, the price represents very good value. It isn't right in Sintra so be prepared to drive a bit back and forth (on narrow roads), but other than that it was a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

From the moment we arrived at the two lane highway in Sintra to walking through the front door into the courtyard of Quinta de Sao Thiago we felt as though we were in a land that time had forgotten. This wonderful, warm, home is made even better by the famiy that runs it. We arrived late on a cool November afternoon and were offered tea and cake - our room had a lovely view of the grounds and at night we could see the glowing towers of the Palace at Montserrat. Our complimentary breakfast was served in a fabulous dining room at a long wooden table, making my fiance and I feel like Sir Lancelot and Guinevere. We highly recommend these accommodations for those who appreciate the 'old world' and the comfort of a magical family home. Not only were we given ideas and directions on visiting the many palaces and castles in the area, but also were made to feel incredibly comfortable in this mystical place.
Liz Patterson & Ron Henry
Big Cypress Preserve, FL

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSagittarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed at the Quinta as part of a tour of northern Portugal. I liked the Quinta - the grounds and the pool are lovely - but have some reservations about the property.
The road to the Quinta is down a very steep dirt track and could be dangerous at night. The property is quite isolated and not convenient for getting an evening meal if you don't want to drive.
I also feel that the standard of the accommodation is not worth 100 euros a night. We paid for a 'superior 'room but don't feel that the accommodation could be defined as that. The 4 star hotel which we had just come from charged 90 euros a night and the facilities were far superior to the Quinta. If the charge was around 50-60 euros a night I think that would be a more reasonable rate for the standard of the accommodation.
Overall, I felt quite disappointed as far as value for money was concerned.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
2.7 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
4.7 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
651 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#5 of 15 in Sintra
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,521 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
270 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#7 of 43 in Sintra
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta de Sao Thiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta de Sao Thiago

Property: Quinta de Sao Thiago
Address: Estrada Monserrate | Rua Do Regueirinho, Sintra 2710-405, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta de Sao Thiago 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quinta de Sao Thiago is a private house and gardens in a very quiet environment on Sintra hills. The family who owns it, and specially Mrs. Braddell, are happy to welcome guests who are invited to enjoy the place as if they were in there own house. On the grounds, a large and sunny swimming pool invite to swim and relax. Nearby there are sand beaches, golf courses and ancient palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Quinta de Sao Thiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta De Sao Thiago Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing