We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
186
151
34
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
151
34
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool old house wing mirrors san pedro french doors gorgeous location nice garden rooms are large moor castle step back in time great pool a real gem charming house railway station a special place the ground floor free parking
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 375 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We arrived late in the afternoon to Sintra to find our original choice overbooked. We found the Pensao in our GPS and after a short drive on crazy narrow roads we got there to find to our delight a roomy parking and a wonderful pool with chaise-longs in the shade and fresh made lemonade-what else can you ask for ! Later we walked to the center for dinner (I would recommend flashlights for the walk back, it was a bit dark). Great location for a hike up to the Castelo dos Mouros and Palacio da Pena. Breakfast was a bit too simple for my taste.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We spent two nights here with friends and it was a total chill-out experience. We had rooms overlooking a terrace which in turn looked out over the pool set among grass, trees and flowering shrubs. Hot snacks and drinks are provided in situ (but not meals as such) and we didn't feel we wanted to stir from the place it was so relaxing. Beautiful gardens, lovely staff, a real "old world" feel to the place, a moorish castle up on the skyline... who could want more!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed in the Residencial Sintra for 3 nights. My mother and daughter were put in a small room overlooking the parking lot and so got everybody coming and going. It's a small hotel but still no fun to be woken up. Avoid this room if you are a light sleeper.
My wife and I were down the hall and our room was much quieter. We never heard a sound from the parking lot and the other guests were very quiet. Our room was much larger and had a short entry way past the bathroom with another door to the bedroom. This provided for a very quiet room. The only noise we had were barking dogs and the occasional coming and going of the owners who park in the back and have an elevated walkway to the top floor. The entry way had a place for our luggage and to hang our clothes. The bedroom was comfortable and large with nice french windows which we left open to cool the rooms. There's no AC and Portugal was having unseasonably hot weather.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. They provided information on sites and a map with restaurant suggestions. The bar downstairs is well stocked and a comfortable place to hang out. There's a sitting room with a large TV which we were able to connect our camera to and enjoy a day in review before retiring. The breakfast was continental. Each day we had a different type of ham. There were different kinds of bread, all delicious.
The grounds are well kept with trimmed hedges and plenty of flowers. We didn't swim but the pool was beautiful and relaxing. You can see the moorish castle from the pool as well. If you think of it, check out the small fountain in the parking lot. There's a medium sized turtle living there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tradIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

This hotel is really beautiful. It has a lovely pool area and beautiful grounds. The rooms were simple but clean and nice.

The location is fine if you like walking, or if you have a car, but is about a 15 minute walk into Sintra Village and about the same to Sao Pedro. This area is quite hilly, so not ideal for everyone. Sintra is really lovely and it is definitely worth making you way up to the castle and palace at the top of the hill.

There ar only around 10 rooms here so there are never too many people and most of the time when we sat on the terrace or by the pool we were alone.

The only thing I would say about Sintra as a warning is that in the evenings, it does tend to get quite cold, so make sure you pack a jumper!! It can also be a little cloudy as it is up in the hills.

The restaurant that is owned by the people who own this B&B in Sao Pedro is also great - much better value for money than the expensive and not very good places in Sintra Village.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolves83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights in July. Great spot about 10min walk to historic centre of Sintra. Rooms very clean & spacious. Beautiful house & common areas. Landscaping and flowers are just lovely here. Staff exceptionally helpful & friendly, especially Susanna & her Mom. Will definitely stay here if I ever return to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotthetravelbug1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews