We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very cute place, great service, and a cool pool to beat the afternoon heat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very cute place, great service, and a cool pool to beat the afternoon heat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

We arrived late in the afternoon to Sintra to find our original choice overbooked. We found the Pensao in our GPS and after a short drive on crazy narrow roads we got there to find to our delight a roomy parking and a wonderful pool with chaise-longs in the shade and fresh made lemonade-what else can you ask for ! Later we walked to the center for dinner (I would recommend flashlights for the walk back, it was a bit dark). Great location for a hike up to the Castelo dos Mouros and Palacio da Pena. Breakfast was a bit too simple for my taste.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    123
    28
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
180
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Hants
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

We spent two nights here with friends and it was a total chill-out experience. We had rooms overlooking a terrace which in turn looked out over the pool set among grass, trees and flowering shrubs. Hot snacks and drinks are provided in situ (but not meals as such) and we didn't feel we wanted to stir from the place it was so relaxing. Beautiful gardens, lovely staff, a real "old world" feel to the place, a moorish castle up on the skyline... who could want more!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indy
Level Contributor
867 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed in the Residencial Sintra for 3 nights. My mother and daughter were put in a small room overlooking the parking lot and so got everybody coming and going. It's a small hotel but still no fun to be woken up. Avoid this room if you are a light sleeper.
My wife and I were down the hall and our room was much quieter. We never heard a sound from the parking lot and the other guests were very quiet. Our room was much larger and had a short entry way past the bathroom with another door to the bedroom. This provided for a very quiet room. The only noise we had were barking dogs and the occasional coming and going of the owners who park in the back and have an elevated walkway to the top floor. The entry way had a place for our luggage and to hang our clothes. The bedroom was comfortable and large with nice french windows which we left open to cool the rooms. There's no AC and Portugal was having unseasonably hot weather.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. They provided information on sites and a map with restaurant suggestions. The bar downstairs is well stocked and a comfortable place to hang out. There's a sitting room with a large TV which we were able to connect our camera to and enjoy a day in review before retiring. The breakfast was continental. Each day we had a different type of ham. There were different kinds of bread, all delicious.
The grounds are well kept with trimmed hedges and plenty of flowers. We didn't swim but the pool was beautiful and relaxing. You can see the moorish castle from the pool as well. If you think of it, check out the small fountain in the parking lot. There's a medium sized turtle living there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tradIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

This hotel is really beautiful. It has a lovely pool area and beautiful grounds. The rooms were simple but clean and nice.

The location is fine if you like walking, or if you have a car, but is about a 15 minute walk into Sintra Village and about the same to Sao Pedro. This area is quite hilly, so not ideal for everyone. Sintra is really lovely and it is definitely worth making you way up to the castle and palace at the top of the hill.

There ar only around 10 rooms here so there are never too many people and most of the time when we sat on the terrace or by the pool we were alone.

The only thing I would say about Sintra as a warning is that in the evenings, it does tend to get quite cold, so make sure you pack a jumper!! It can also be a little cloudy as it is up in the hills.

The restaurant that is owned by the people who own this B&B in Sao Pedro is also great - much better value for money than the expensive and not very good places in Sintra Village.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolves83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsdale, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights in July. Great spot about 10min walk to historic centre of Sintra. Rooms very clean & spacious. Beautiful house & common areas. Landscaping and flowers are just lovely here. Staff exceptionally helpful & friendly, especially Susanna & her Mom. Will definitely stay here if I ever return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotthetravelbug1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Sintra. It is in a quiet location, away from the touristy center of town, but a pleasant, charming walk to any of the attractions, including the Moorish Castle, Pena Park and Palace, Palacio Nacional, and Quinta da Regaleira. (If you are unwilling or unable to walk the hilly terrain of Sintra, you can take advantage of bus service that stops near the hotel.) The front desk provided a detailed map of the area, and we greatly enjoyed exploring on foot, both hiking in the hills and walking into Sao Pedro for dinner. The hotel is a family-run affair, with spacious rooms and charming shared spaces, such as the breakfast room, swimming pool, gardens, and even a glass pavilion with ping pong and foosball. There is plenty of space for kids to run around and unwind. Breakfast was tasty and ample (cereal, toast, bread, ham and cheese, along with coffee, juice or hot chocolate); while there is no restaurant, sandwiches and other light snacks may be ordered throughout the day. The emphasis is on charm and location, not luxury, but the friendly, helpful staff and idyllic setting more than compensate for some deferred maintenance.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedTurtle91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

My partner and I were backpacking around Portugal. Sintra and Lisbon were our last stops, after struggling for a decent hotel in Lisbon, we decided to travel to Sintra and try our luck. We found Pensao Residencial Sintra and didn't go back to Lisbon.

Staff were very friendly, rooms impecable, bathroom clean and airy. Situated in a lovely sight sorrounded by woods. Excellent pool and outdoor terraces for reading and relaxing.

Don't stay in Lisbon, go to Sintra and stay there. The train to Lisbon is only 1.50 euro and about 30 minutes or so. Definitely worth it. Food in Sintra, as in all of Portugal, is fantastic and a couple of bars for the night too.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sintra Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sintra Jardim

Property: Hotel Sintra Jardim
Address: Travessa dos Avelares 12 | Sao Pedro de Sintra, Sintra 2710 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sintra Jardim 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sintra Jardim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Sintra Hotel Sintra Municipality
Pensao Residencial Sintra Sao Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing