We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful building with nice garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The rooms were basic but clean. Breakfast was good and parking space for our rental car was available. The gardens are beautiful with a new swimming pool. The city center is only a 10-15 min stroll away (which is also ok to reach with a stroller). The staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonSenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 348 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

It is an amazingly beautiful place, with really helpful staff who takes care of all detail. We felt welcome and respected throughout our stay.
My only critical comment is that the towel set needs to be revamped

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We wouldn't want everyone coming here and spoiling it. Elegant, stylish, an absolute gem. I think this is my first 5 star review. Its a former residence of a Portugese viscount built in the 1880's and in the ownership of the current family since the 1950's. Some reviewers have spoken about "old fashioned" and "faded glory". Well, yes, the furniture is "proper furniture" ie lovely solid wood period pieces rather than veneered, (the bed-heads were gorgeous) but there was absolutely nothing faded in the fabrics anywhere (but we only saw our own room of course). Room was very generously sized. The outside has been repainted very recently, and a lot of the inside too I think. The front door shines. It all feels like a very "real" house, like you were a guest of the viscount who used to live here. There is a lovely little fountain at the back of the courtyard lit up at night. No restaurant, but great sandwiches/drinks available any time at very reasonable prices, as is the room rate. Very freindly helpful staff. And a 25m (unheated) pool - with a wonderful valley view (also from our room at the back) - what a treat! You can avoid most of the busy road walk into Sintra if you are prepared to ascend/descend an extra 30m or so - take the quiet side road that forks left off the main road just opposite the entrance, and walk uphill to the church, and beyond that you will be rewarded with a panoramic view. But you can also turn left out the gates and walk up to Sao Pedro (10 mins) where there is a good choice of restaurants as an alternative to Sintra. Breakfast was decent but not lavish ( too much chicory filler in the coffee), with fresh orange juice. The only oddity was the bath - half size! So you could either have your legs in the water or your trunk, but not both. So not quite perfect, but considering the very reasonable price, I have no hesitation in giving Sintra Jardim top marks. One of the best and most delightful stays we have ever had anywhere at any price.

Room Tip: Best views at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tricouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

All the people were nice and helpful for our visit - the friendly and inexpensive manor house was perfect of our two nights in Sintra. Internet was abit slow so they gave us a booster and it was fine. They had a pool which was quiet and the gardens were lush and well designed. Breakfast was simple and plentiful and in the early evening they had a quiet terrace to play one of the nice selection of board games available. If I was rich Id buy it for my own.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke_Toddfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very homely and warm place.. Its an old building and the rooms are old fashioned... But thats the charm.. The pool is beautiful nd the location in the middle of the hills is gorgeous... The bfast is standard continental.. And the hosts very hospitable..Very relaxing trip overall!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahulNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a lovely old family manor house with a beautiful garden estate. It is tucked in a hill, extremely quiet and away from all the hectic touristy activity, yet only a short walk from town. The morning mist is magical. You will feel like you are back in time in an aristocratic country home. Breakfast is divine, and the owner is on site to tell you history and provide loving care. The rooms are large, with big windows and floor to ceiling shutters. I agree with the other reviewers on most things, but I did not find it the least bit dowdy or dated. It is perfectly charming and authentic. I would love to return in weather warm enough for the pool, and extend into a long, restful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryPaige L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

It's a lovely place indeed. True - it's a little bit dated, but that only adds some old-fashioned charm. The furniture was like that my grandmother had once... what a feeling! All other good things said about it are also true. The property is 10 min walk away from the center, though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
375 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,652 reviews
1 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sintra Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sintra Jardim

Address: Travessa dos Avelares 12 | Sao Pedro de Sintra, Sintra 2710, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range: $70 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sintra Jardim 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sintra Jardim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Sintra Hotel Sintra Municipality
Pensao Residencial Sintra Sao Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing