We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hotel, extra special service”
Review of Casa Miradouro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Miradouro
Ranked #7 of 42 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hotel, extra special service”
Reviewed September 23, 2008

After our exhausting 3 hour drive (should take only 45min) from the Lisbon airport (call/email the hotel to find out about any possible detours on the weekends!) arriving at the hotel was easy.
We had requested the "room with the view" and it was incredible. Sun shining through, beautiful views of the palace and comfortable.
The owner, Charlotte went out of her way to help us with a missing piece of luggage. (even offered to meet us in Lisbon in a week with the bag if it showed up after we left Sintra)!
The only downside would be that you have to enjoy walking and be in ok condition to walk up the hill to town.
Breakfast was one of the best also, we enjoyed the fact that there were different tables in the dining area versus one large table in many inns. (so we didn't have to make small talk with the others.)
This hotel and the 4 star hotel in Lisbon, Hotel Britania, were the best of our 10 day trip.

  • Liked — Views, comfort & service
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    52
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
32
207
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We can only echo the more positive reviews shown here. It was a super place to spend a honey moon with great views to wake up to each morning.

We woke every morning to great views toward the coast and really could not think of a better place to have stayed.

Yes the hill is steep but then this is well spelt out in each and every tourist guide we read about Sintra - it is, after all, built on a hill. Lack of pavements (sidewalks) is in fact quite normal in rural areas throughout Europe.

Note: Casa Miradouro changed hands a few months before our visit but we would not have known as the new owners clearly intend to maintain the similar high standards mentioned elsewhere.


Bernard and Linda - UK

  • Liked — The welcome from the owner and staff alike.
  • Disliked — Would have preferred a bath not just a shower - but we knew what to expect.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lindbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

This B&B is generally highly rated and the owner is gracious and wecoming. We stayed two nights and unfortunately the weather was quite rainy the first day we were there and cloudy with drizzle and fog with (very) occasional bright spots the second day. Since one of the highlights of Sintra is to go up the mountain to the palace and the Moorish Castle, the weather was an issue.The big drawback of this B&B is the very steep walk into town which is, of course, much worse in the rain. The road is narrow and walled with no sidewalk and a fair amount of traffic. Fortunately it is one way. We did not have a car so we had to walk into town for lunch and dinner and it wasn't fun. Also, there is no bellman and no elevator so if you have heavy bags be prepared to carry them up two long flights as we did to our third floor room, and down again when you leave. In hindsight, we would have stayed up in the village had we known what we were getting, notwithstanding the pleasant enough atmosphere of this place. If you are handicapped physically, forget it!

  • Liked — Gracious host
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterkant
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Ideal place to unwind, the rooms were spacious and lovely decorated, nice breakfast buffet, very nice host. Steps away from old Sintra palace. 2nd stay and we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank carpediem1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Wasn't sure about staying in a B&B because we like to be autonomous, but Casa Miradouro was highly recommended in the Rick Steves book so we gave it try and it worked out well - large airy room, own bathroom, bottled water in the room, great view over the valley, etc. (Miradouro means viewpoint). Large house a 5-minute walk down the hill from central Sintra and the National Palace, easy to walk out the door and go find dinner, etc. Nice way to experience "residential life" in town, and much quieter away from the traffic noise in the plaza. Owner Frederic and the staff are very pleasant and helpful with local directions, but not intrusive. Breakfast was nice, usual array of bread, cereals, yogurt, sliced meat, cheese, etc.

  • Liked — Friendly, quiet
  • Disliked — Hard bed (typical of Portugal we found)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kermitthefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2007

We spent three nights in this beautiful setting: perfectly appointed rooms, beautiful gardens, lovely views out to the Atlantic one way and up to the castles the other. Within walking distance to restaurants and center of town. Gracious and helpful Frederic who took care of our every need. An ideal way to spend time in Sintra. Recommended by Rick Steves and we totally agree.

  • Liked — High quality, neat, helpful
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GailandJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,558 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Miradouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Miradouro

Property: Casa Miradouro
Address: Rua Soto Maior 55, Sintra 2710-628, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Miradouro 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Miradouro has 8 rooms, all with private bathrooms and balcony. Double-glazed windows and central heating make the rooms comfortable even in the Portuguese winter. All rooms are kept in bright colours and dispose of large windows so you can enjoy the magnificent views. Some rooms have beautiful stucco ceilings. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Miradouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing