We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Casa Miradouro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Miradouro
Ranked #7 of 42 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Give it a miss. Huge rip off! Used to be lovely few years ago but tired with an an owner who visits occasionally and uses place as personal crèche. Breakfasts poor and rooms gloomy and smell damp.many better places in Sintra!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Casa Miradouro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 323 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

This charming 3 stories house is located a bit out of town, in a quiet location. We enjoyed a warm welcome, but not so much the stairs up to our room on the top floor. The room was of a good size and nicely furnished with an excellent view to the castles up the hill. Downstairs there were several nice rooms where we could retire after a long day of sightseeing, reading a book or newspaper provided. And for the sweettooth there was candy everywhere. We were able to park our car in the street in front of the property and it was a short drive to the center of town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GogTOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My partner and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Casa Miradouro in Sintra. Charlotte was a great host, and gave us great advice when doing local sightseeing. Nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed 4 nights in a very clean and well appointed room. Great comfortable 4 poster bed, modern designer bathroom, and french doors that opened up over a view to the valley below.

Breakfast was great with eggs cooked to order, and it has a great garden to take coffee in. Lovely foyer and reception rooms to sit in. Coffee pod machines and little cakes available on our level, and in the reception rooms were a nice touch.

Quiet place a small distance from the touristic part of town. Probably easier if you have a car to get around.

Great for a romantic couples weekend away!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRBSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Staff are very helpful and provide a good friendly service. Breakfast is good.
However, for a premium price hotel the rooms are a bit tired and need refurbishing/refreshing (experienced 2 rooms) - e.g. bathroom tiles are cracked , mould in shower, broken shower hose connector, no sink plug, torn towel, slightly soiled chairs in room, no light duvets for the summer and duvet covers had small holes. Mattress was comfortable so slept well (very important!).
Communal areas are nice and big and smart in a traditional/characterful way.
You need to be fit to walk from the basement (where breakfast is served) to the top floor as the stairs seem endless and there is no lift.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickyMint2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We only spent one night at the Casa Miradouro and we found that the place was charming, although the price -compared to other B&B across Portugal- is expensive. We have spent 10 days in Portugal, travelling all over the country and this is most expensive place where we slept (but not the best).

Positive points: the house is very charming, we loved the lounge and the way it is furnished and decorated. It looked comfortable and welcoming, with classical music playing and free wifi. Our room (n. 6, second floor) was beautifully furnished, with a lot of space and a sitting corner (with a sofa and a small table). The bathroom was ok: not very spacious but big enough for us (and, as Italians, we really appreciated the presence of a bidet). A small cabinet was fully furnished with shampooing, body cream (excellent quality!), cotton pads and a proper hair dryer, option that I really appreciated. Our room had a small balcony (lovely!) with a view over the hills and an abandoned building right next door that… we have found quite interesting. I know that some people could find it unattractive but we honestly appreciated not having peeping neighbours on the other side of the garden. The air con was working perfectly, nothing to say about it.
The owner speaks English and she is really nice. We asked some suggestions for a restaurant (for dinner) and she gave us a wonderful address.
On the positive sides I have to add that 2 Nepresso machines are available in the common areas and guests can make their own coffee for 1€

Negative points: I would have given 4 stars to this B&B but, as I’ve said, I have found it too expensive (95€ without breakfast!) and, besides, breakfast at 10€ per person when, in the village, you can have it at half the price is really too much in Portugal (we had dinner in a restaurant in Sintra for 15€ pp, so proposing a breakfast for 10€pp is too much). The rooms are located upstairs, so if your luggage is heavy (like ours) it’s a big effort, as the house doesn’t have a lift. I have would appreciated wifi in the room as it is said in the website when you book it, but this is a minor disadvantage.
The house is located 15 min walking from the centre of the village, down to a steep hill. It was not a problem for my husband and I, we liked walking and enjoyed the stroll, but I personally hated doing it on a street without pavement. During the night (after dinner) I’ve really felt insecure walking almost in the gutter of this street, with cars parking on the side and vehicles running quite frequently.

On the overall: it's a lovely place but for this price I would have included -at least- breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston-le-chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in July. Because of a mistake I made in booking the room, we ended up in a room with 2 twin beds which is the cheapest room. At first I was not overly impressed because the room was a bit small and did not seem anything special. The inn is at the bottom of a long steep hill and is not really that close to any of the sights, restaurants, or stores. That being said, if you do not mind walking a bit, you can walk to many restaurants, even those off the beaten track, with a 10 - 25 minute walk, especially if you go over a street and take the back roads.

The employees speak English. The breakfast is nice and they will cook up eggs for you. There is a nice lounge with international newspapers and a honor bar. They had an espresso machine and sweets in the hallways.

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice. The whole inn was very clean. There is no AC so you have to open your windows to cool off and there was a fair amount of traffic noise of cars driving down the road outside our window.

Do not try to park on the street that is the formal address. Park in the less busy/more spacious road behind the inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zautman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Casa Miradouro is well-named as it is situated at the bottom of the hill on which the Cintro Historico of SIntra is situated, overlooking the countryside to the north and west. From our room we could see the tops of the buildings of the Quinta de Regeleira, a fantastic garden that is a must-see for any visitor. The hotel is a family business run by your hostess, Charlotte and a capable staff. Charlotte is very accommodating and has a great sense of humour, as well as a very cheerful young baby whom we met a couple of times. She -Charlotte, not the baby- speaks English, French and Portuguese that we heard. She may speak more, but that was all we needed. The rooms are located on the top two of the four floors of the building. Despite Portugal's reputation for unrelenting sunshine and the fact that most of Europe seemed to be sweltering, we found our room very cool and comfortable with good ventilation. The ensuite bathroom was spacious and very convenient.

The breakfasts at Casa Midouro are wonderful! Running from 8:30 to 9:30am, they cater to a range of tastes from muesli and milk to smoked salmon and cheese, all fresh and delicious. Speaking of fresh, our eggs were really tasty and cooked up to order. They set us up each morning for a day of hiking, sight-seeing, swimming or shopping. The coffee is served in a french press and will give you all the energy you need to get you started. It may have been the best coffee I have ever tasted!

Computer users should note that the Wi-Fi reception on the top floor is somewhat unreliable. This can be easily remedied by moving down to the lounge area where reception is much stronger- four bars at all times- plus there is a serve-yourself bar with a range of drinks and a coffee machine if you need an additional lift. All in all a great place to stay when you are in the Sintra area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north and east sides overlook the countryside; fields and beautiful red tiled roofs. On...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_B1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#5 of 15 in Sintra
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
2.6 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Miradouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Miradouro

Address: Rua Soto Maior 55, Sintra 2710-628, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range: $91 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Miradouro 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Miradouro has 8 rooms, all with private bathrooms and balcony. Double-glazed windows and central heating make the rooms comfortable even in the Portuguese winter. All rooms are kept in bright colours and dispose of large windows so you can enjoy the magnificent views. Some rooms have beautiful stucco ceilings. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Miradouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing