We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Miradouro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Miradouro
Ranked #6 of 38 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

When you make your way to this lovely manor home, you will be greeting by your lovely host Charlotte. You are offered a wonderful glass of port to enjoy while she tells you about all the beautiful sites to see in Sintra. The home is beautifully restored with lovely spacious rooms where the beds are made with fine linens and private baths. The breakfast is very ample to start your day of touring. As it sits at the bottom of the hill from the National Palace, the views are spectacular. I highly recommend this B & B when stopping over in Sintra. Thank you Charlotte for

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvmcnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    50
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
204
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We would like to live here. Very tasteful decor and fittings in a stylishly modernised old house. Master suite 4 not really a suite but a decent sized high-ceilinged room with large bed, antique wardrobe plus 2 comfy chairs & table by the balcony. Working shutters a nice touch. Sun in the evening and long distance views. Bathroom modern -shower only. Three types of pillow.
Free communal Nespresso but espresso cups & caffeinated can run out at busy times - tea lovers can get large cups and use kettle in the kitchen. Hotel provides small water daily and a communal bottle of water in the honesty bar. Not bad prices - Coke €2, port €2-3, bottles of wine available €12 upwards.
Beautiful large lounges better than those of many grander hotels - useful as too cold for the garden in mid-April. Cold breakfast buffet plus eggs cooked to order- all very high quality products. Kindest and most helpful staff in Portugal.
Location 8-10 minutes up very steephill to Palacio Real and buses for other palaces - quite a distance from the part of the town by the train station but taxi €5-6 to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimlicoperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The drive from the station down to the Casa Miradouro was a short one but offering a nice taste of what Sintra and the surroundings has to offer... arriving at Casa Miradouro itself was like a homecoming. The friendlyness of the the staff... the warm welcome as well as the amazing views... somehow it felt as coming home even for a first time (business) visitor...

The place (and I dont want to refer to it as hotel because it doesnt feel as I was a guest but I rather felt like part of the whole setting..) is amazing... I enjoyed a comfortable room, exquisite bathroom with (5* amenities).... I slept late but the staff was more than ready to accomodate to my late wake-up to provide me with breakfast and a good strong coffee...

I had the chance to stay their also for the night and Charlotte arranged a space at a very nice restaurant answerring exactly to my likings.... some people should stay away from the hospitality business and rare few are simply born for it... Charlotte and her staff definitely belong to the latter!

I stayed there after missing my connecting flight and Charlotte and her husband went out of their ways to get me the next best option to fly out again...only wished they hadn't done their best that much because I felt I was leaving Casa Miradouro too early... surely I will come back here!!

Thanks again!

Geoffrey

Room Tip: I unfortunately was offered the choice of rooms... couldnt quite choose myself so it did take me a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the Casa Miradouro for 2 nights in February 2013. It is a short and cheap taxi journey from the train station in Sintra.

The whole of Sintra is easy on the eye, but this place is just beautiful from the outside and only improves when you enter it. The furnishings are classy and comfortable, a very relaxing environment, the room we had was very comfortable clean and very well decorated.

Plenty to eat at breakfast all freshly made and tasty, though not the supply of pastries on show that you get in Lisbon.

The staff were very helpful, their English was excellent and helped save us plenty of time and money in Sintra with their advice.

If you are considering going to Sintra do not just do a day visit, it is simply amazing stay overninght at this place it will not dissapoint.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our wedding was in Sintra. All our guests are housed in the Casa Miradouro. The atmosphere was really at home. Large villa with all our friends. Beautiful furniture in the spirit of fairy Sintra, great view from any window! The staff is very helpful and responsive.
Charlotte even recommended me hairdresser for the bridal hairstyle.
The only remark - in winter in a damp Sintra the house should be heated better. Guests can easily catch a cold in a cold damp home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaAS03022013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quirnbach, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Absolutely charming. No TV and that is what you want in a place like this... It allows you to focus on the beautiful scenery that you can enjoy from the nice terrasse...We were welcomed with a glass of Porto and the Bar in the living room of the Casa is open and operates on the "honour system"... This to me is a simple example of trust and good manners. Breakfast was served later than my morning engagements (combining work and pleasure), but the staff adjusted to my schedule... and the food was perfect. PP Beland, Canada

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre-Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My family and I spent three nights here over New Year's Eve. What a wonderful, charming, friendly place to stay (the hosts even invited us to celebrate New Year's Eve with them)! Comfortable rooms, honor wine/booze bar, Nespresso pot for coffee in the lounge area, computer for guest use, plus a used book exchange, all combined for a welcoming stay. And we all agreed the breakfast was the best we found on our 10 day trip. Yes, it's quite a steep hike into town so it is not suitable for the infirm but we enjoyed the exercise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Miradouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Miradouro

Property: Casa Miradouro
Address: Rua Soto Maior 55, Sintra 2710-628, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Miradouro 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Miradouro has 8 rooms, all with private bathrooms and balcony. Double-glazed windows and central heating make the rooms comfortable even in the Portuguese winter. All rooms are kept in bright colours and dispose of large windows so you can enjoy the magnificent views. Some rooms have beautiful stucco ceilings. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Miradouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing