We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local food”

Restaurante Apeadeiro
Ranked #20 of 258 Restaurants in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Restaurant Apeadeiro Sintra is a prestigious venue for your meal. Whether alone, on a business or family lunch or dinner, we know we are the right place. Our space was thought especially in the comfort and well-being of our clients. All of our staff has the best training, and will do everything to give you the best meal. The philosophy of our work is to serve the customer well, dedicating the time that each one needs. We know that no two clients are the same, which is why our service is customized. You will not regret visiting us, quite the contrary, you will only think about when to come back. We are waiting for you!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Recommended by our hotel, this place served good local food... and provided great, friendly service given how busy they were - it was a Saturday night and there was a 50th birthday going on! Barely spoke any english (and us no portuguese) but not a barrier at all to a good meal and helpful staff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KazS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    317
    88
    31
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
555 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Local cusine, value for money in a tourist area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were visiting sintra and wanted to eat portuguese food but not a rip off prices. We were told to eat near the station in sintra away from the tourist area. Parked the car at the station and started to walk. Went into a lovely cafe, but asked where could we eat the typical cusine of the area and he told us to go to the o apeadeiro restaurante. We were not disappointed. From outside it looks like a small cafe but how deceptive. It goes on 2 floors. very busy and full of locals. You can have a plata da dia for 10 euro.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Traditional restaurant, first class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This place was recommended by the hotel and Rick Steve’s guidebook. It is a comfortable restaurant full of locals. The food is authentic, very reasonably priced and the service could not have been better. The salted cod and potatoes is a huge portion for one person, and I had quite a bit leftover. The owner was so concerned that I was unhappy that he found another guest who could translate his questions from Portuguese to English to make sure I was satisfied. He offered to make me another meal if I wanted (I did not). Come to this restaurant when you’re in Sintra, I can’t imagine anyone being disappointed with the food or the service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meremo_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Affordable Traditional Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our tour guide recommended this restaurant, so we entered with trepidation, but it was really really good. Good service, hearty tasty food. What you would expect from your grandmother if she was Portuguese.

Unlike the rip-off "traditional" places in Lisbon where you get charged by head for the bread, olives, butter, pate, etc. whether you asked for it or not, this place gave us all of that, and didn't even charge for it. We ordered two mains, which we could barely finish. We knew that we would not soon again find food this good for this price.

If you want to experience the real Portuguese deal, go here. You will not be sorry.

Enjoy

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoleseyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly traditional restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had lunch here - very busy and quick turnover.
My partner had pork in cream sauce with fries and I had the monkfish and prawns risotto. Both dishes were divine and was washed down with the local beer and wine.
We were recommended the nato de ceo - it was surprisingly light. We were ready to leave after paying our bill the waiter stopped us and asked us not to go until we had a glass of port. What a nice finish.
I would recommend the food and the efficient attentive staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank travel168southern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Apeadeiro also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Restaurante Apeadeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing