We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Guildford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“what a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was a lovely hotel, despite the modern 60's concrete look from the outside. Our room was comfortable, spacious with an amazing view overlooking the valley and up to the Moorish castle. Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay there one we won't forget. The position is great, right in the centre of old Sintra, with plenty of restaurants around, yet quiet and peaceful. We had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the valley. Excellant value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley facing room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cybermum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    620
    347
    139
    67
See reviews for
342
693
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel on 9th. September. Could not be bettered for location. Difficult to see why you would stay anywhere else if visiting Sintra. A very welcoming reception. We had a superior room with Valley View. This was exactly what we got. Had a package which included dinner. We had a three course meal with a complementary appetiser. More than we could eat. Wait staff were very professional and attentive. Hotel is of 1970's era and in that regard is a bit quaint. very good breakfast also included for a more than fair price.

Room Tip: Choose Valley View if possible. This is why you visit Sintra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AusTravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this review, February 1, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel claims to be four-star. It is not. Perhaps in 1987 when it was (presumably) last renovated it would have qualified as four stars, but in 2012 it is dated, tired and depressing. The reception staff are surly and unhelpful to the point of rude, and the reception has a distinctly musty air. On enquiring about internet access we were offered one hour of wifi for €4 (no free wifi even in the lobby) or use of the "computer room". The computer room consisted of a single ancient machine in a closet (no joke). When I did try to use it I had to wait whilst one of the hotel staff finished printing something out. The room was ok - again dated, but clean and tidy, and the aircon worked. The blanket on the bed was like a potato sack. I was woken at 9am by what sounded like the cleaning staff hosting an impromptu comedy club outside my door - shrieking and laughing as if Ricky Gervais was trying out new material in the laundry cupboard. The breakfast was horrible - scrambled egg that smelt of sulphur, and I'm pretty sure sliced pineapple shouldn't be brown. Overall, the levels of service might be considered acceptable from a backpacker's hostel, but from a supposed four-star hotel charging upwards of €100 per night it was atrocious. That said, the views were nice and Sintra is beautiful, and I can only assume this is what keeps the place going.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_ozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sintra hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was over for a friends wedding in August and stayed 4nights in the Tivoli Hotel. It's right in the centre of sintra town, and within 1min walk of all the old towns resturants and bars. We walked to the new town, which was a pleasurly 15minute walk. Hotel is old style, but lovely clean room with fresh towels everyday and full room cleaned every morning. Balcony at the bar has fantastic views over the hills out to the sea, which was lovely place to meet every evening and enjoy a beer before heading out for dinner. The only thing was there is no sunbathing area or pool, but if you ask for a room on floor 1 you get a big terrace balcony with sunbeds so perfect for lounging in the sun!! Perfect hotel for the price!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhonaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this review, February 1, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you must stay in Sintra and you like to have a nice comfortable time, I believe the Hotel Tivoli Seteais is the only place to stay. This Hotel Tivoli on the other hand, is in centre Sintra, has an interesting 70ies look, and has a friendly staff. And that's about it. The rooms have great views. All is nice, except that the rooms are a bit wore down, the channels on the tv fade in and out, and worst of all the airconditioning made the room warmer- and yes we had it on "cool". A malfunctioning airconditioning is unforgiveable, especially when we were made sure it worked when we arrived. Made it impossible to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The staff are very pleasant and helpful, nothing is a problem.
The valley views and balconies are superb.
Yes maybe some things are faded but very clean. The bathrooms seem new and well stocked.
Everything is available at breakfast that you could want and although maybe it is more fun to eat out in the evening the selection in the hotel is good and staff attentive.
A really good experience.

Room Tip: valley facing are quiet and spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great location in the middle of everything, great view of the countryside. But it definitely needs some updating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vgeorge19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Property: Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Address: Praca da Republica, Sintra 2710-616, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tivoli Sintra 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of the town of Sintra, this is a discreet 4-star Sintra Portugal hotel with private parking which gives you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the surrounding scenery, history and leisure facilities. Sintra is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Breakfast in the Monserrate restaurant at Tivoli Sintra allows you to enjoy the quality food at this welcoming and friendly Central Sintra hotel. The view from the panoramic bar reveals its stunning location: between the Serra de Sintra and the Palacio da Vila, where the sea can just be seen on the horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing