We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice spacious rooms. Well situated in the heart of the historic centre, with many reastaurants within walking distance. There is a limited parking in front of the hotel but we were always lucky enough to get a space. We got an excellent rate by booking through the Easyjet website.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    624
    350
    141
    70
See reviews for
346
703
47
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I spent some days on a conference, that took place at the hotel. The rooms are quite large, with a small balcony. Huge windows give an amazing view over the valley. The bathroom is fresh and clean with a lot of towels. When it comes to the restaurant, I had breakfast and lunch there. I really liked the breakfast, the lunch was ok. The hotel is in the middle of Sintra centre, with restaurants and small touristshops nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegian060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

The Tivoli in Sintra is perfectly located in the centre of this historic town next to the palace. Whoever in the local council sanctioned the design of this monstrosity in the middle of such a beautiful area must have been bonkers! Nevertheless as hotels go the staff were friendly and helpful and the location ideal. Despite the ill-fitting architecture, the hotel is very dated inside and out and is in need of a complete refurb. Worth staying if you need something average and the location is more important than the room - look for a good deal.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SherpaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

The place is a bit older looking on the outside because the exterior walls could use some pressure washing and some of the decor is a bit dated but so what? You aren't staying in Sintra to admire the hotel and the rooms and interior are very clean, bathrooms look new, staff are cordial and it is located very close to the Turismo (tourist centre) where bus transit depart for various sight seeing locations. There is nothing seedy about the Tivoli Sintra as its located in a good, safe and quiet part of town. As for noise - if you leave the window open then you may hear cars from the street below but it wasn't a problem for us.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Hotel Tivoli looks quite seedy from the outside, but inside the lobby is huge and very nice, rooms are large, each w/a good sized deck (w/a table and chairs for sitting out), and a fridge. The furniture & bed covers need updating, but the rooms are very clean (ours looked freshly painted) and perfectly adequate. The location is fantastic, right across from the National Palace in the historic district, in walking distance to everything in that area. A nice bonus is the business center, which has a computer and printer, and internet is free. They have a very nice looking restaurant w/wonderful views, but we didn't eat there.You can get a room price that includes breakfast, but we got a cheaper price that did not, through hotels.com (able to walk across the street and have a ham & cheese pastry for just over a euro [full buffet breakfast at the hotel was 10euros/ea]). We've stayed in Sintra many times in various places, and I feel it's the best value you're going to find for a hotel in the historic center.

Room Tip: I recommend getting a room on the valley side on an upper floor facing the landscape, rather than on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We staied here for one weekend in room 504 (twin room with Valley View! Amazing view!!!).

The exterior of the Hotel is a little bit disappointing, but once inside, the reception area is very nice and charming with nice views to the Valley.

The rooms are not very modern but the furniture is nice and elegant, they are spacious, clean and they have Cable TV (~15 Channels), a desk, two arm chairs and a big closet with a safe-deposit box, bathroom with good area. They also have a small balcony with a great valley view. At night the Hotel was calm and peaceful, nice to rest after a tired day of walking.

Location is great! Very central and close to the main tourist attractions and a few steps of the village. You only have to cross the street to go to Sintra National Palace (Free on Sundays; 7€ Adult Admission in other days); Toy Museum is a 3 minutes walk (4€ Entrance).
Regaleira Palace and Gardens ~ 10-15min walk (6€ Entrance) and you can enjoy there a good afternoon. If you want to go to Pena Palace (4Kms away / 9€ Admission) you can go by bus 434 (~4€ round trip).
They have lots of coffees, restaurants and Pastry houses around. Go to "Periquita Pastry" and eat there, the famous cake "Travesseiro" (1,25€/one).

If you arrive Sintra by train, you can go by taxi/bus to the Hotel or just walk uphill (~15 minutes walk). If you are by car, they got Free Parking for your vehicle.

if you don´t have laptop, they have a desktop for guests in the entrance that you can use for free (with Internet). If you have Laptop, i had free internet wireless signal from "Gil Vicente" (a street near by).

Hotel Breakfast is good with variety of Continental choices, not amazing, but good! (7H00 - 10h30).

Staff is great and helpful, they give me a map of Sintra and explain me everything that I wish.

TIP:
If you go to stay in a Tivoli Hotel, go to the site of Global Hotel Alliance and request a GHA Card Member for free (become a member, it's free!). With this card you have some benefits in Tivoli hotels (or you can request a card in the reception desk at the Hotel):
- Free Wi-Fi
- Free Bottle of Water in the room
- Free Newspaper

Room Tip: Enjoy Global Hotel Alliance Card for Free and ask for a Valley View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent two nights here in March - loved our stay here! This ranks as one of my favorite hotel stays anywhere. The service was fantastic from the moment we arrived. The staff was accommodating and very helpful with great recommendations on things to do in the area, restaurants, etc.
The room was extremely well appointed, and we really enjoyed the extras – including local pastries and a little port. Our rate included breakfast – which was also fantastic. We did not have dinner or lunch in the restaurant, but did enjoy some cocktails in the bar when we returned from dinner in town – lovely bar staff, and great piano playing.
If you are considering staying somewhere else in Sintra – don’t  Stay at the palace and feel like royalty!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
2.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Property: Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Address: Praca da Republica, Sintra 2710-616, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tivoli Sintra 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of the town of Sintra, this is a discreet 4-star Sintra Portugal hotel with private parking which gives you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the surrounding scenery, history and leisure facilities. Sintra is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Breakfast in the Monserrate restaurant at Tivoli Sintra allows you to enjoy the quality food at this welcoming and friendly Central Sintra hotel. The view from the panoramic bar reveals its stunning location: between the Serra de Sintra and the Palacio da Vila, where the sea can just be seen on the horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing