We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Nearby Hotels
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Lisboa Sintra(Sintra)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pestana Sintra Golf(Sintra)(Great Value!)
$112
$101
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Nova Sintra(Sintra)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$329
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveler rating
881
244
65
24
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
881
244
65
24
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelreal palacetennis courtsold palaceluxury hotellike royaltypublic roomsold worldport winethe atlantic oceanpastriesfairy talea wonderful staymoorish castlepalaciotivoliportugal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
688 - 693 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2008

My husband took me to Sintra for my 30th birthday. So he could treat me like a princess, he took me to stay in a palace.
We loved the Palacio de Seteais. The staff were fabulous, with great email communication before we arrived (according to MrMo) resulting in flowers, champagne and pastries arriving in the room just after we checked-in.

Breakfast was lovely - a really wide selection served in the beautiful dining room.

Dinner was even better - by far the best meal we had in Portugal (also the most expensive but 100% worth it) There were only 3 or 4 tables dining when we ate there which was a shame - I guess most people don't make the journey up the hill unless they are staying there. The service was attentive but discrete and the pianist really added to the romantic mood. We got dressed up and felt it was the perfect place to share a special occasion.

I loved the room, no sign of mould or dirt as mentioned by some other reviewers. We wanted to upgrade to a suite but were advised that these rooms only came with twin beds (which might explain why some other reviewers were disappointed) this seemed to be a bit of a theme in the hotels we stayed in in Portugal which was a shame. The bed was fit for a princess - I did consider putting a pea under the mattress to test the theory!

Sintra is charming, and the hotel's near neighbour Quinta da Regaleira is a must - take the tour (we had a charming tour guide to ourselves as it was low season) and then spend time exploring on your own. You won't have seen anything quite like it.

Its only a 10 or 15 minute walk into town and its not particularly taxing as its downhill all the way (nobody would notice if you got a taxi back I'm sure). Also, the tourist bus is great, it goes to all of the out of town places and you buy one ticket for the whole day and then jump on and off as it suits you.

Also, take time after breakfast to explore the gardens. Once out of the formal gardens you enter a magical woodland area that must have once been more formally mapped out but has surrendered back to nature - discover amazing views if you find the way to the other side of the hill.

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and Sintra as an amazing place to stay - its deserves so much more time than just a day trip from Lisbon.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MrsMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Sintra is a must go city in Portugal. The hotel is a bit far from the center, but I do recommend to stay here. The top attractions are far from each other, and a car is necessary (al least during winter season). The room is comfortable, clean and very good sheets. The bathroom could be better... They have the best Portugal breakfast and restaurant service.
We were informed that the hotel will be renovated in Jan/08.
I visited some other hotels in Sintra, but Palacio de Seteais is the best option!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Review_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2007

Just like they say - a palace with modern amenities, including free internet! A neat place to stay after a day of visiting other palaces in Cintra. The restaurant at the hotel offers excellent food, great service and live piano. Yes the hotel is old with squeaky floors in some places and a tiny elevator, but after all it is a 5 star palace, not a 5 sat hotel. We had a wonderful stay and making plans to coma back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

It looks impressive. Is IS not that impressive. Beds from 1800 do not sleep that well. Impressive was the bowl of raspberries at breakfast!

Stayed: May 2003
4  Thank EHTB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Follow the signs to the hotel and be prepared for narrow scary roads. The hotel is tired and looks terrible. It needs paint and mold removal from the bath area. We requested a double bed, got twin beds instead. The staff were helpful and spoke English. It was a disappointment from what we expected. We were excited about staying in a 5 star hotel for our birthdays, but the crumbling down appearance of the place really surprised us. I'm sure the cost of maintaining a place like that is enormous but when you pay 135-155 euros a night during off season, you expect perfection.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuppetExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews