We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be a king for one night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Be a king for one night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is an exceptional building in an exceptional place! The price was really fair. The breakfast is a must and the service is very friendly! The rooms are really good and comfortable. Only one small negative comment: if you looked closer to the skirting boards, you could see that the painting had been done quickly and without care, what is a pity for such a place.This is definitely a place to consider if you want to visit and stay in Sintra.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge_Karlsruhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    231
    62
    23
    5
See reviews for
200
685
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a beautiful old palace converted into a reasonably priced hotel. Yes, it has got some peeling paint and needs refurbishment, but its a piece of history, with lovely antiques and stunning views. The restaurant is very good and you can also book for the 2 Michelin stars for EU165 per person (excluding wine). The rooms are well appointed and the linens are classic, with crisp cotton sheets and hand embroidered white duvets. Parking is free. I'm so glad I got to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nwmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais in November 2013 and I paid 160 euros for a single room.

As you can see from any of the travelers' photos, the hotel is gorgeous and the property big. By any standard this is a 5-star facility. However there are still a couple things that got on my nerves.

First of all, the room is nothing like the pictures posted on the major hotel booking websites. Don't get me wrong, the room is nice and comfortable, but much smaller and just not as fancy. It was so different that I had to ask the bell boy if this is the room that I had booked online. "Yes, ma'am, this is the Collection single room." Later I checked the website again and found out they were using the same round of photos for single, double or whatever rooms. Nobody likes to be misled. I definitely don't.

Then they have to charge 15 euros for wi-fi. I believe free wi-fi is pretty much the norm for hotels and B&Bs these days. On this trip to Portugal, I stayed at 8 different hotels between Porto, Lisbon and Sintra, and Tivoli Palacio de Seteais was the only one that asked for a surcharge on wi-fi. Luckily I purchased a sim card upon arriving Portugal at the airport's Vodafone counter. I just bought the cheapest data plan for 15 euros and I still haven't run out at the end of my 9-day trip. I would recommend any out-of-the-country travelers to do the same. Sintra, as beautiful as it is, is quite rural. Sites and shops close early and after dinner, you would be sitting idly in your room and have this sudden urge to check emails or surf the net.

Now that I got the bad things off my system, I should mention what impressed me. I really appreciate the tray of food and drinks they had put in my room when I checked in. I wasn't hungry or anything but It's the thought that counts. I got a feeling that maybe some big shots at the far away headquarter have a strict policy on wi-fi surcharge or what-not, but the people managing the hotel on location are working hard to please the customers and don't mind taking the extra steps. A small tray of food and drink with a welcome note awaiting the arriving guests is a really nice touch.

Then the breakfast buffet was amazing. Not just the quality, quantity and variety of food, but the fruit juices, the bakery, even the condiments were impressive. The dining room was beautiful, the service was great, just love everything about the breakfast experience.

I also wandered around the hotel and took a lot of pictures. This is an old building so the layout is a little unexpected. Exploring the hotel inside and out was a joy.

Room Tip: Buy a local sim card to avoid the hotel's wi-fi surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TivoliHotelsResorts, Gerente geral at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for sharing your experience at Tivoli Palácio de Seteais. Your opinion is very important to us.
Your room was a Collection Room, with a very nice view over the Sintra Mountains and to the sea. In the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais, all rooms are different. The hotel is a XVIII palace, which used to be a private home. Because of that, the room sizes can vary from 16m2 to 24m2, but have equal facilities, such as: Double or Twin T/Beds, LCD television, Tivoli Collection toiletries and bathrobes and coffee making facilities in the room. Please accept our apologies if the room did not live up to your expectation. Unfortunately, we weren't unable to switch to a different one, because the hotel was fully booked.
About wi-fi internet, we would like to invite you to sign up to our free loyalty programme - GHA Discovery - you have free high speed WIFI internet in every Tivoli Hotel & Resort and, indeed, in over 350 GHA Discovery hotels around the world. The programme also offers perks such as a newspaper of your choice during your stay, and mineral water on arrival. Sign up now and enjoy these benefits on your next stay.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and appreciated the VIP tray of food that we put, in your room, on arrival. In the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais, we like to provide our guests an unique experience, and introduce the Portuguese typical flavors and traditions .
For any other questions please contact me by email joao.cortereal@tivolihotels.com
Best regards
João Corte Real
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This year I wanted to have a new year’s eve dinner at special place and due to family circumstances I need a calm and quiet place located in a Palace. I chose this hotel and I am very pleased with my choice. The location within the Sintra forest and Palaces region was perfect, even one of the rooms had a view to Pena Palace. To be in this hotel is like to be in a Palace of the old days. The furniture is antique and the felling was authentic.

Dinner was very good and the service was excellent. My family and I enjoyed very much. The new year party was at the hotel bar with live music.

Breakfast was excellent and served on the dining room. Staff was attentive and cared for our needs.

I stayed for two nights and had the pleasure of exploring the Sintra region.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, January 27, 2016
Dear Armando,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel, making a stopover on the way to Algarve, wanting to see some of Sintra (for which you would need at least two full days, or rather three, we could not manage to see all the sights we had planned to). The Tivoli was not easy to find, in my GPS I tried the address Avenida Barbosa do Bocage 10 (as given by the hotel), but only too late did I learn that the GPS had it as Rua Barbosa do Bocage 10 (as correctly stated on the TA). I also made a mistake in entering the GPS coordinates (which the hotel had provided correctly when confirming the booking) – so it took generous help from a local to lead us to the hotel. It is really nice, we were greeted with some chocolates and an excellent Porto wine (Messias Tawny). The room was really luxurious with beautiful bathroom en suite, but it may just not be comfortable enough for longer stays – for the two nights it was perfect. The bed is somewhat softer than I prefer, but comfortable enough. Breakfast was fantastic with a selection of fresh tropical fruits (mango, papaya, pineapple), freshly squeezed orange juice, cheese and cold cuts. The almond cake was delicious, espresso coffee excellent. The scrambled eggs were the usual hotel quality.
It’s worth while walking around not only in the palace itself but also in the gardens. Our room overlooked the pool and the surrounding countryside, beautiful and peaceful. Although not cheap by any means, for this level it is justified.
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple.

Room Tip: Pool view is beautiful and in October it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robicsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, January 27, 2016
Dear Robicsek,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Palace of Seteais is a very special place located in beautiful surroundings with a very nice garden which as you enter it and approach the main building feels truly palatial. The grand entrance and various rooms in the main floor are exquisite, tastefully furnished and full of light. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The atmosphere can be described as relaxed and elegant. There is a lovely dining room where a pianist is playing as you enter it, putting you in a good mood for a nice dinner. Breakfast is served buffet style, with a nice selection of dishes.
Don't miss the back porch where tea or a drink can be enjoyed in a lovely surrounding.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and quiet because of the extensive gardens surrounding the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ines Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, January 27, 2016
Dear Ines,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is incerted in the old part of Sintra and you can actually fell that you turned back in time... You can fell like a member of the royal family and live in this Palace with all the comoditiesof a modern hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilipeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
Dear Filipe,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Palacio de Seteais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Property: Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Address: Rua Barbosa du Bocage, 8, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sintra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Palacio de Seteais 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a five-star Sintra hotel, a luxurious and romantic palace which takes us back to the days of the elegance and architecture of the XVIII century. On the mountainside of Sintra, a town classified as world heritage by UNESCO, and with spectacular views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace, enjoy the magnificent surroundings of lush gardens and spectacular scenery. The beautifully decorated rooms with furnishings of extraordinary wealth and the ballrooms with their rich tapestries and incredible frescos make this hotel something quite unique and every event or stay becomes an unforgettable experience. Spend idle hours wandering the mazes or enjoy them from a distance in the comfort of our Seteais Restaurant while you sample the traditional Portuguese cuisine of our master Chef. Rediscover this incredible Sintra castle hotel, now remodelled to surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Palacio de Seteais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Palacio De Seteais Hotel
Palacio De Seteais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing