We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were there for only one night, but we had a terrific time. The room was huge and very well decorated,the restaurant and breakfast were both good, and we were within walking distance from Sintra's city centre. I guess the only criticism is that we were giving a room facing the frontside of the hotel, and there was a bit of noise. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay. There is a place called Quinta da Regaleira nearby that is definitely worth going, just overall beautiful and it's usually impossible to park over there. So take that opportunity to walk there if you stay in this hotel and see the sights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brunapgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, January 28, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    234
    63
    23
    5
See reviews for
208
704
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our first hotel during a two week vacation. The property is nice and has free parking, but it is very hard to find. Too far away from "downtown" Sintra to walk (and it would probably be too dangerous after dark - very narrow roads). The booking we had made was apparently only for one - and they didn't want to give us the room we had reserved, but tried to "up sell" us to two much more expensive rooms. Given that we had been traveling for a long period at this point, the original room was fine, especially since they were already changing E200 for it. However, given that there were two of us, suddenly the price jumped to E240.

The one good thing was that the breakfast buffet was included in the rate, which we hadn't expected. The breakfast was extensive and delicious - definitely the best part of the visit. Lots of meats, cheese, good bread selections, fresh local yogurt, and lots of fruit - including ripe mango.

Even with the breakfast, would not recommend. Too expensive for what you get. And there certainly are nicer properties elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Fantastic hotel, comparable to Le Meurice in Paris.
We arrived late at night, so did not try the restaurant. The room was charming ans very spacious. We slept like babies in the fantastic beds. In the morning, when openning the windows we found out a breathtaking view. Breakfest was great and everything was really well presented. We were sorry we had to leave that morning. The hotel is great for couples, because it's really romantic. I hope we will come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranciscaVermelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, January 27, 2016
Dear Francisca,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The room was lovely but we traveled in low season and took the less expensive room in the newer area. When going to our room in the evening the hallway was dark! Reception took a very long time to pick up but they did promptly come to fix the light situation. WIFI was not free despite very high room rates. If you joined their frequent flyer program Global Hotel alliance then you could have a free 24 pass usable by only one device. But you must provide your phone number in addition to address and email address or you will be charged $ 20 euro for that days access.. I would much rather have stayed in the historical center and been able to walk around more easily after dark. I would not recommend staying here at any price. Also sparkling water was 6.50 euro at the restaurant which seems outrageous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Great location, you can walk to the city center which is very crowded and not easy to park.
Rooms are huge, very well decorated with an amzing view. Service is also great, the team gave us precious tips on best restaurants, stores, etc. We got there on a Sunday after a long trip and had their brunch which was pretty good but not as good as their daily breakfast which is to die for! Selection of breads, teas and fruits are spectacular.
A real palace! We will definitely go back to this hotel!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Prag2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, January 27, 2016


Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Palacios de Seteais was a fantastic place to stay! The hotel was gorgeous and very comfortable. The hotel felt like a palace with beautiful common areas,restaurant and grounds. Rooms were great and they even gave us Port and pastries on our arrival. The staff was extremely helpful. The location made it very easy to walk into Sintra, take the train into Lisbon or drive to the coast. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms would be great. Where else can you have a castle view from your room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashuaSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, January 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town..
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Initial welcome from staff was very warm and informative.
The room was lovely; interesting furnishings, sumptious bed and sunny balcony with extensive countryside views. The building itself was impressive and entirely understandable as a wedding or film location.
After booking in, contact with staff was minimal. Only one staff member covered breakfast with no interaction other than offering tea or coffee, and refills not forthcoming.
We felt unwelcomed and were uninformed during an apparent wedding event with areas closed off (for wedding guests or those staying ?) without explanation. We clearly could have found someone to ask but then ...
We had a 07:30 departure for the airport and only after asking were we offered a "breakfast box" containg an apple, small juice and white sandwich with ham and cheese at 21:00 the previous evening. A friendly member of staff did make a meatless sandwich when asked, but nothing else was forthcoming or apparently possible.

Room Tip: the newer wing has rooms with balconies, still on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BubsandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
658 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Palacio de Seteais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Property: Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Address: Rua Barbosa Du Bocage 10, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#2 Family Hotel in Sintra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Palacio de Seteais 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a five-star Sintra hotel, a luxurious and romantic palace which takes us back to the days of the elegance and architecture of the XVIII century. On the mountainside of Sintra, a town classified as world heritage by UNESCO, and with spectacular views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace, enjoy the magnificent surroundings of lush gardens and spectacular scenery. The beautifully decorated rooms with furnishings of extraordinary wealth and the ballrooms with their rich tapestries and incredible frescos make this hotel something quite unique and every event or stay becomes an unforgettable experience. Spend idle hours wandering the mazes or enjoy them from a distance in the comfort of our Seteais Restaurant while you sample the traditional Portuguese cuisine of our master Chef. Rediscover this incredible Sintra castle hotel, now remodelled to surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Palacio de Seteais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Palacio De Seteais Hotel
Palacio De Seteais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing