We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace by name and palace by nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is how a true luxury hotel should be. Beautiful from the outside and magnificent on the inside. Once we had sorted out the little mix up over the original room we were allocated we found the antique furnished Room 15 an absolute delight. Two luxurious double beds, side by side with lovely linen and gorgeous pillows. Bathroom with separate shower and nice towels and robes. Pastries and complimentary port was a nice touch. Parking is easy in the hotel grounds and we were right outside the front door. Sintra and its main attractions are within walking distance as you'll find parking in the town is a near impossibility. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, good and reasonable wine list and impeccable service. Breakfast is outstanding. A really enjoyable and delightful stay and highly recommended. Pre-book on the hotel's website for substantial savings on their rack rate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016


Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

A historical luxury close to the adorable Sintra town center.

This hotel is gorgeous - the interior lobby and common area rooms were amazing impeccable in 19th century furniture and design with classical piano music playing throughout the hotel in the background. It's truly luxurious.

The grounds are amazing dawned with beautiful grass, shubbery and wonderful flowers.

This place is truly special and a nice luxurious stay during your visit to Sintra. It is not located right downtown, but about a quick .5 mile walk which is a lovely one if you have some time on your hands.

The rooms are lovely, clean and highly recommended. Treat yourself and this hotel will make your Sintra stay extra special.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank DavisEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Davis,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The location is wonderful, it is even a landmark !
In the building you can feel the atmosphere of the past.
Very well appointed room and high, confy bed.Nice touch in the room as a welcome: Porto wine and typical pastry.
Top class breakfast with classical music in the air and lovely service.
The hotel has free parking and it is 10 minutes walking from the Palacio National and all the restaurants.
It is pricey so we underline as a negative point you have to pay 10 euros per day for the wifi connection.
Also, there is a Nespresso machine in the room but you have to pay 2 euros for each capsule. Never appened in the others hotels.
Overall a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny-Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Jenny,
Thank you for sharing your Experience at Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, and our breakfast at Seteais Restaurant.
I would just like to mention that if you sign up to our free loyalty program - Discovery- you will have free WIFI internet as well as other benefits such as a free bottle of mineral water in your room on arrival and a free daily newspaper of your choice during your stay. Sign up on your next visit and you'll also have access to a unique portfolio of local experiences.
I hope we have the chance to receive you again during your next stay in Sintra.
Best Regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

For a 5 star level with perfect service do not hesitate. 5+ rating seen the attractive price you can get sometimes.Parking ( a must in Sintra) . Walking distance to centre. I should have stayed longer here to make my visits in the surroundings. Perfect room with all what you need and very good beds.Photo's tell more then words.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Philip,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is beautiful and romantic. We were upgraded to a suite with a beautiful terrace. We had a water view and a view of the near by castles. When we got to our room there was port wine and egg tarts set up for us... yum! The grounds are amazing with a nice pool and restaurant. This hotel and the town of Sintra were the highlight of our trip to Portugal. I did not want to leave after two nights!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirl319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My friend and I visited Sintra on a day trip from Lisbon. After touring the Pena Palace, we took a taxi to the hotel of the Seven Sighs for lunch. While we were the only ones in their dining room (perhaps 2pm was at the end of the luncheon service?), we had a delicious meal starting with sparkling wine and ending with dessert. Service was great - we were never rushed. Definitely a special dining experience!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ready2travel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here on a whim and a great review on Trip Advisor, and it ended up being the highlight of my 20-day stay in Europe. The service, location and property were great! Food and food service were just ok. But the walk into town (downhill) is just 10 minutes. The staff take pride in making it a great stay. I recommend this place a thousand times over. The environment is well-cared for, clean and upscale. The price is very accessible if you're accustomed to four- or five-star but want a three-star price deal.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were great. I stayed in the one on the first floor facing the pool. There's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerilan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
342 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Palacio de Seteais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Address: Rua Barbosa Du Bocage 10, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sintra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range: $348 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Palacio de Seteais 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a five-star Sintra hotel, a luxurious and romantic palace which takes us back to the days of the elegance and architecture of the XVIII century. On the mountainside of Sintra, a town classified as world heritage by UNESCO, and with spectacular views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace, enjoy the magnificent surroundings of lush gardens and spectacular scenery. The beautifully decorated rooms with furnishings of extraordinary wealth and the ballrooms with their rich tapestries and incredible frescos make this hotel something quite unique and every event or stay becomes an unforgettable experience. Spend idle hours wandering the mazes or enjoy them from a distance in the comfort of our Seteais Restaurant while you sample the traditional Portuguese cuisine of our master Chef. Rediscover this incredible Sintra castle hotel, now remodelled to surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Palacio de Seteais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Palacio De Seteais Hotel
Palacio De Seteais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing