We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cafe in a beautiful building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saudade

Saudade
Ranked #2 of 252 Restaurants in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Portuguese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Where Cafe Saudade now stands, there used to be housed the historical Queijadas da Mathilde cheesecake factory from 1888 to 1974.These queijadas de Sintra (cheesecakes) were a favorite of King Ferdinand II (who restored the Pena Palace). During the 3rd quarter of the 19th century, the king gave the factory founder a stamp marked Mathilde, to brand the cheesecakes bound for the royal family.The Cafe Saudade was restored and preserved over a year long renovation in 2008 and opened in the summer of 2009. Recycled and regional materials and resources were used to create an environment that authentic. We pride ourselves for this and and for the fact that our team offers the best service they can.The spaces of the old cheesecake factory are today a cultural reference in Sintra's recent historical background. Its preservation allows us a glimpse into the ancient manufacturing process of the typical queijada de Sintra.Wander through the "Saudade Labyrinth" and fall in love with Sintra. Visit our Art Gallery and explore the various rooms with pieces of furniture that we restored with love and care, and in which we have handcrafts for sale. We host literary gatherings, jazz and fado concerts and other cultural activities.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe in a beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This cafe / gallery / former cheescake factory (or cheese factory? I forget) is in a charming, quirky building close to the station, so great for fuelling or refuelling en route to/from exploring Sintra. The staff are great and the food really good, with lots of different cakes, hot drinks, and light meals, including a good number of vegetarian options. I stopped here on arrival for morning coffee and cake and was sufficient impressed that I was back a few hours later for lunch. The centre of Sintra, whilst otherwise being worth a visit, has the usual tourist tat in terms of restaurants and gift shops - Saudade is definitely a much better option.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BemusedAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,286
    424
    54
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This café was such a find in our one day visit to Sintra! We discovered it right after our getting off the train coming in from Lisbon. Had a delicious cup of coffee and marvelous chocolate cupcake! Yummy. We even went back again after our hikes through beautiful Sintra. So cozy and welcoming. Free wifi and traditional handicrafts and a wonderful room with a small art gallery! Wow, we absolutely loved it! A beautiful place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BettyinEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Definitely child-friendly, cosy and delightful for a wee break in Sintra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Since we only had a day trip at Sintra, we only wanted a quick lunch meal stop but of course making sure we don't miss out on local cuisine.

We went to Sintra on the last day of 2012 accompanied by our very friendly local guide Pedro of Lisbon Taxis. He recommended to us Saudade... based on TA reviews as well.

Saudade is a small cafe that was formerly a bread 'factory' (?). With its large open windows facing the main street, it felt so airy and welcoming. The chairs and tables were wooden and the cafe did not have a traditional high chair. Instead, it had one of those sit 'n sack children's harness to keep a baby/toddler seated on a normal chair. That worked well for us!

The menu is delightful to read: hearty cilantro soup, different kinds of mini quiche, pan de Madeira, thick dark chocolate, freshly squeezed lemonade and of course lots of breads made in their ovens.

My 5-year old and my 1-year old daughters (and I) loved the toys and books that the littlest clients can use while in the premises.

In some of the little nooks of the cafe, there were homemade and artisanal crafts for sale that just add colour to the place. One cannot ignore the ever present symbolic rooster of Portugal - yup all sorts of them for sale. Surely, one can't help but wander around the cafe while waiting for food to arrive --- service was very fast by the way.

While juggling feeding a 1-year old and making sure that the 5-year old would eat, my thick hot chocolate turned cold and the waiting staff happily asked if I wanted it heated up :0). Sweet.

Definitely, a delightful experience. So Pedro, if you are reading this... Look - I am gladly paying it forward!

Enjoy!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Need to stop at this place before you take the train back home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We missed the train and walked back to this restaurant.
The place was full but waiter kindly ask us to wait for a few min.
We had a great panini with salmon:)
And the house thee "SAUDADE" is recommended.

To finish I had the apple cake

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank overmark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is my absolute favourite spot in Sintra.
Come for the free wi-fi, stay for the huge delicious paninis, fluffly homemade cakes and the service with a smile, the beautiful handicrafts for sale, the art exhibits and other cultural events they promote...
Best - paninis, scones, tea, hot chocolate, chocolate pie. Everything is top notch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E_M_D_Sintra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saudade also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Saudade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing