We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive, peaceful, inspiring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Almaa Sintra Hostel
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vila do Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Positive, peaceful, inspiring”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

A wonderful place to stay. I opted to have a room to myself (still much cheaper than a hotel) and had a beautiful room with 3 windows and a spacious bathroom, all overlooking the garden. The staff are really friendly, helpful and considerate. I was drawn to stay here because of its ecological credentials and general ethos. If you are visiting Lisbon, consider staying here - it's easy to access the city and Sintra is magical. This is where I will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mbrinkleyyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    41
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
61
63
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed 3 days at Almaa Hostel in Sintra and enjoyed every bit of it. Warm, smiling and friendly people working there, nice people staying there, a wonderful big garden where you could spend all day without leaving the hostel, a cool and shady place on hot days, wonderful nature around and many things to visit in the surroundings also at walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Everytime I stay at Almaa, my soul is nourished with peace and love. Absolutely wonderful! Great for meeting nice and interesting people and have a very relaxed vacation. I live 30 minutes from Sintra and I go to Almaa especially to relax and enjoy life. Joana Dias

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Perfect for a retreat-like stay: o read, reflect, stroll around the grounds which have many types of gardens and scapes, cook your own food, sit by the fire on a cold winters day, or wet autumn night. The staff and guests are all in sinc with the spirit of the space and will respect you privacy if that is you which.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sandramrpereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

It really feels and breathes an air of serenity and peace in the Almaa Sintra Hostel.
The whole structure is eco-friendly and they use recycling materials for a lot of furnishings.
It was a nice experience to stay here! Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was an incredible few days. The atmosphere is perfect - incredibly relaxing and just what I needed to recharge. Clean, amazing breakfast, beautiful grounds and friendly staff. A real retreat! Gorgeous old building that has been lovingly renovated. Definitely recommend for those wanting some time out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

If you are looking for a place where you can be yourself, find your peace, meet people. This is a good place. If you are going for mass tourism with full breakfast buffets, not-personal, go somewhere else. It was a relieve being there, and also the very friendly restaurant Sao Pedro was very good. A good cook, creative, friendly: you really feel a guest at home....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HvAchteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
2.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nice Way Sintra
Nice Way Sintra
#6 of 31 in Sintra
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almaa Sintra Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almaa Sintra Hostel

Property: Almaa Sintra Hostel
Address: Caminho dos Frades | Quinta dos Lobos, Sintra 2710-560, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almáa Sintra Hostel is a retreat center and an Eco Hostel located in the heart of the Sintra Mountain Range which cultural landscape is classified by Unesco as a World Heritage Site. Our house is sited in a property considered the oldest in Sintra, dated back to the 12st century, with 3,5 ha of luxurious gardens. We offer private and shared rooms in a heavenly environment. The Hostel was named Almáa, which means "The Water" in Arabic, due to the influence of the moors in this region and the fantastic natural spring water that supplies the house, and waters the gardens. "Alma" also means soul in some Latin languages. Our beliefs in sustainability and in helping one another, made us manufacture our furniture with recycled materials done by local artists with the help of third sector entities (charities, voluntary organizations and social enterprises) that are also our main suppliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Almaa Sintra Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing